We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better then the rest in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
lake george ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better then the rest in town”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

i have stayed in several of the other hotels in New Paltz before and by far this one is the cleanest, and i would defiantly return to it.
the room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable, they even gave me and extra pillow in the closet which i really didn't need but it was cool to have it.
my complaints about the hotel are minor the furniture they have while beautiful the handles all have sharp edges and while working at the desk i hurt my hand several times on it. the tv its self has this annoying blue light which glows all night long when its off, finally used that spare pillow to block it off. the breakfast was sparse, not really what i was looking for actually ended up going hungry because the food was not what i looking for. my only really major complaint is that there is no safes in the room. that is a big negative in my book, everything else can be dealt with but i travel with a lot of electronics so being able to protect them when i am not in the room is necessary for me.
i work in a hotel so i have an idea what i want to see, the check in process seemed a little ancient, but i suppose it works. the girl at the desk seemed really unfriendly too, the one i got later though was super friendly. the room layout is wonderful and so is the shower.
all in all this is my first hotel experience really on my own, and i have to say it was extremely pleasurable to stay here and if i come up this way again i think i would most likely stay in this hotel again. the negatives i listed before are not major ones, and there are more pluses in my book then negatives. if your looking for a place to stay at town pick this one, trust me it is much better then your other choices.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank night61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    111
    87
    28
    33
See reviews for
100
89
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

It's a budget motel, for sure, but if you are looking to stay one night in New Paltz for some reason, a budget motel is what you want. The desk clerk, who was friendly and straightforward, told me this one has been run by the same family for more than 25 years, which might explain why they seem to know what they're doing. "There's a fridge in the room, inside the cupboard, but some people don't know that and don't find it," she told me. I found it and it worked. The Internet also worked, the guest laundry (right off the lobby) worked and was clean, the plumbing worked, and so on. I admit I didn't think much of the complimentary breakfast -- it was there, but mostly it was English muffins. The most difficult thing about this motel is finding the place: you get off the Thruway, make a rather difficult left turn, and then have to turn left again IMMEDIATELY onto an almost invisible little laneway. But I'd say it was worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights, we had a King size bed in a non-smoking room. It was clean, it was quiet. Shower was hot, good pressure, no complaints about the room. I agree furniture didn't match, but if you worry about that then you better look at more $$$$ hotel more in the Poughkeepsie area or the mountain lodges.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmomstou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSchaller, Quality Assurance Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Thank you for your review! Its always a pleasure to recieve a customers feedback. We always take it into serious consideration. As stated in another review, please be aware that all case goods in our guest rooms will be renovated and modernized by the end of April 09'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed at the Super 8 to be close to the SUNY campus. There are not that many hotel options in the area so we picked the super 8 for convenience. Upon entering our room there was a strong smell of smoke. I called the front desk because we had requested a non-smoking room. They apologized and said they could move us to the other side of the motel. We declined cause it was midnight and we were exhausted, so we just opened the window to air out the room. There was only one extra pillow in the closet. The beds were ok and the flat screen TV on the wall was nice, but was out of place with the non descript motel decor. I wish there were more hotels near the college to stay in. I am not eager to return here and will look for other options in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSchaller, Quality Assurance Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz, responded to this review, March 12, 2009
Thank you for your review! All comments are always appreciated and accepted. We take them all very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your lodging establishment of choice in New Paltz. Please take note that by the end of April 09', case goods in all of our guest rooms will be completly renovated and modernized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Paltz hotels

Wilkes-Barre, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The room was more like a college dorm room than a hotel room. The bathroom tiles were dirty. The toilet was not working properly. I killed at least 2 bugs in the room. There are signs clearly posted indicating that the hotel is not responsible for any car vandalism.

  • Liked — breakfast was included and was adequate
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSchaller, Quality Assurance Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz, responded to this review, March 12, 2009
Thank you for your review! All comments are always appreciated and accepted. We take them all very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your lodging establishment of choice in New Paltz. Please take note that by the end of April 09', case goods in all of our guest rooms will be completly renovated and modernized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Clean motel, friendly staff, clean bathroom and room. Bed was a bit hard. Free breakfast is handy but not spectacular but for $79/night what do you expect?

This was our second stay and we will return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSchaller, Rob Schaller Jr. Sales and Quality Assurance Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
Thank you for your review! It is always a pleasure to recieve nice reviews such as yours! We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

If you can't afford to stay at Mohonk Mountain House (and who can?) this is your best choice for the New Paltz area. Modern, clean and convenient to Rt. 87, and minutes from the shops and restaurants of New Paltz. The lobby includes a pool table and computer for guest use, a small fitness room, and laundry facilities as well as breakfast area. A large wall-mounted flat screen tv in the room was a pleasant addition. The room and bath were both clean and well appointed.
Highly recommended!

  • Liked — CLEAN, modern, flat screen tv in room
  • Disliked — Breakfast was cold cereal or english muffins/toast - no waffle maker like some hotels now have
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Equestrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSchaller, Sales & Quality Assurance Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thank you for your feedback. Great compliments are always appreciated! We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
5.4 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#3 of 5 in Highland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Address: 7 Terwilliger Ln, New Paltz, NY 12561-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn-New Paltz offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include microwaves, mini-fridges, hairdryers, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, and alarm clock radios. Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz is your best choice within the southeast region of New York. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for hiking, sightseeing, annual festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Albany or New York City. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel New Paltz Hotel New Paltz
Super 8 New Paltz
Super Eight New Paltz
New Paltz Super 8
New Paltz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing