We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
PORT ALLEGANY
Level Contributor
459 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This Super 8 surpassed my expectations as one of the better examples of the chain. My room featured crisp contemporary decor, a recliner chair, and a fridge. A guest laundry and printed directions to area attractions are available. The breakfast was minimal - cereal, English muffins, but nice danishes, full bodied orange juice, and 24 hour coffee and tea in the company of a print of Van Gogh's chair made up for that. Some might be uncomfortable with the hotels credit card preauthorization policy - perhaps instituted because of its college town location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    112
    87
    28
    33
See reviews for
100
89
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I would have given the hotel a higher rating but the hallway of my non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Why the heck would they put smoking rooms on the same floor as non-smoking rooms? You had to walk down the smoking hallway to get to the lobby, the main exit doors, and the ice machine. Actually, in this era with everything we know about how tobacco destroys health, why does Super 8 allow any smoking??

Also annoying was the siren-like squealing of the HVAC unit, which kept us awake.

As others have mentioned, the “breakfast” is practically non-existent. White bread, English muffins, and a few fatty pastries; that’s it, not even any peanut butter to add some protein. No fruit, yogurt, or bagels. There were no knives one day, so no way to cut the muffin, spread the jelly and hard pat of butter. No one at the front desk cared.

The only cardio machine in the "fitness room" was broken.

On the plus side, the place is safe and clean; had hot water, adequate A/C, a comfortable bed, and a working TV; and is in a convenient location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The staff was friendly and accomodating (no pun intended). The room was clean and surprisingly quiet being so close to the freeway. Bed was good, pillows small. Lots of hot water and a great shower head. Breakfast was the basic continental, no fruit, but there was cappicino. Plenty of parking. A single was near $100 but a busy time of year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great location right off exit 18 of N.Y. Thruway in town of New Paltz. About 15 minutes to mohonk Preserve or beautiful Lake Minnewaska.. Especially worth it when you find a coupon from Hotel coupons.com. The place is no frills, but very clean and accommodating. Breakfast is adequate if you like dry cereals, toast and very weak coffee. Someone there has to learn how to make a strong cup of coffee. You can walk into the charming town of New Paltz with it`s quaint shops and restaurants. There`s a great old railroad path to walk or bike on that takes you to the towns of Gardiner or Rosendale. In about ten minutes you are in Highland N.Y.whereyou can walk over the new Mid_Hudson Bridge. You can also access the many wineries on the wine trail, and the Kedem Winery.It is a great place to spend an evening or an extended stay.

Room Tip: I like a room on the upper level facing the back. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here quite a long while ago. we chose this strictly due to cost/vs. other locations and proximity to trails and climbing. The room was average, but it was a place to lay our heads. Beds were comfortable. At this point I don't remember the staff, but it was not a bad experience. Skipped the breakfast and went out to a local cafe' in the morning and that splurge was worth every penny, but it didn't look bad.

The sheets and linens were clean and the Bathroom was fresh and clean. I would recommend this for people looking to stay close to the New Paltz interest points, but not if you are looking for super fancy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Super 8 in my opinion is over priced. The location is great with relation to New Paltz and local hiking/climbing. The hotel itself is a bit dated looking, the carpet is clearly worn out, and the linens/pillows need to be replaced. We stayed here for two nights and after not getting a good nights sleep due to horrible pillows (they are flat and provide no support) we called to the front desk to ask for additonal pillow and were told there were no additional pillows anywhere in the hotel. We actually went to a local Walmart and purchased our own pillows to use. Also, be aware of the hold fee's they place on your account, there were actually above the actual cost of the entire stay and stayed on my account for 5 days. I am not sure if would stay here again, if I did it is only because of the lack of options in the area. This place is not horrible but still charging more than they are worth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed72oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had re-confirmed my reservation with this hotel 6 months earlier and was given a 4-character confirmation code. After a 6-hour drive, we arrived and I was told they had no reservation for us. I gave them my confirmation code and was told it was not a room confirmation code – it is a code they give out to confirm your reservation information was received. Ok, then, so where was the reservation? My only choice was a smoking room, which would not work out for us. They did have a room with a king bed but would not give it to us, their policy was no more than two people in that room. All other hotels in the area were booked due to a local event – an event I had to be at as all three of us were judges for the event. Having no choice we had to drive home.

Room Tip: Ask for a manager when re-confirming reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Address: 7 Terwilliger Ln, New Paltz, NY 12561-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn-New Paltz offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include microwaves, mini-fridges, hairdryers, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, and alarm clock radios. Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz is your best choice within the southeast region of New York. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for hiking, sightseeing, annual festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Albany or New York City. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel New Paltz Hotel New Paltz
Super 8 New Paltz
Super Eight New Paltz
New Paltz Super 8
New Paltz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing