We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Ghost Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. The hosts are gracious, the place is gorgeous and the food is scrumptious. We checked in late one night as we can down from Mohonk, and the host was very kind about letting us come in as we could.

There is literally everything you could ask for at this place, even a hot tub.

I highly recommend this to anyone, and I plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan123W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
thank you for staying with us. only trouble is trying to find a date that works for both of us to get you back here! We'll just keep on trying. All the best for a quick return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a short getaway in New Paltz at the Hungry Ghost Guest House this past weekend. Petra is a wonderful host and a wonderful cook! We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every bit of it! The property is beautiful and it was fun to see some wildlife around the house. We stayed in room three, up the spiral stairs and it was extremely cozy. The view of the woods was lovely and the bed comfortable. Everything was very clean including the linens, towels and bathrobes. The shared bathroom almost didn't feel shared as it was cleaned daily. We really enjoyed using the outdoor shower - we highly recommend this experience! Additionally, the breakfast each morning was delicious, healthy and beautifully presented. It's obvious Petra enjoys cooking for the guests and it shows in the tasty food! Petra and her husband Mike provided some great restaurant and activity suggestions which we took full advantage of. The rail trail is a short ten minute walk from the house as well which was enjoyable. All in all it was a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. You certainly took full advantage of the area. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this magical place for the first time in April 2013 (see my original review). I recently had to good fortune to be back twice in a short period. The Hungry Ghost can be anything you want it to be. There is beautiful scenery, cozy rooms and great conversation just waiting. In addition, there is a whole lot going on just minutes away. You can hike the rail trail, visit Mohonk or shop & dine in town. Or you could just stay on the premises and soak in the hot tub, read a book or talk with your wonderful hosts. Petra and Michael are special. The best part is that it seems to be effortless. They are-simply put-very special. I love staying with them and I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
getting ready for another season of GoT! hope you will be here again to usher in the season with us. It is always a treat to have you stay with us. See you in a couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hungry Ghost in the fall of 2013. Petra was very helpful with suggestions of what to see and do in the area as well as places to eat, based on our tastes. Petra and Mike had just the right balance of being available for questions and leaving you privacy, so you didn't feel you had to make conversation if you didn't want to. The breakfasts were both delicious and unique. They were cooked fresh, with healthy ingredients. It was probably a good thing Petra didn't offer us bigger portions, but we had the feeling that it was just enough, rather than abundant (breakfast is our favorite meal of the day). The outside shower was a fun experience. Perhaps a couple cobwebs could have been brushed away, but I guess it's hard to keep track of that since it is outside and therefore exposed to nature. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with flip flops and bathrobes for the outside shower (or hot tub, had we chosen to use it). One of the face flannels, although it was obviously clean, had some stains on it, which was not very appealing. (To be fair, I could have mentioned this to Petra and I am sure she would have replaced it immediately.) We enjoyed one of the trails near the house, but didn't get the feeling there was as much choice of trails right near the house as we had thought from the reviews. It was, however, very special to arrive back in the late afternoon/evening and see deer in the wooded yard around the house! Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: The room at the top was very nice, but I found it disconcerting not having any curtains; it means yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloraRotherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I am happy that you still remember your visit with us last year so fondly.

You are certainly spot on with a few of your concerns. Yes, there are sometimes cobwebs in the amazing outdoor shower. The little creatures here are extremely industrious critters, especially due to the fact that we refuse to use pesticides - unless an extreme measure were to arise.(I am not even certain what that would be.) I do sweep down the shower and changing room regularly, as I also love to use it, but webs can be created literally in a couple of hours. The far reaching ones can be quite beautiful with water droplets on them with the sun shining through. Some guests have asked that we NOT touch them!

In respect to finding a stain on a face cloth, I deeply apologize, and you are right. I would have loved to have been made aware, and given the opportunity to replace it for you. We do work very hard to keep all of our linens stain free. We use eco-friendly products and specific spot cleaners, but makeups can be tough. In an effort to preserve all of our terry and bedding, and to keep it all clean and white for guests, we provide make up remover and cloths in the bathroom. Frequently, the cloths are necessarily replaced.

We easily access the rail trail which travels 14 miles north and 10 miles south reaching 4 different towns, Accessing the nearly 100 miles of trails of Mohonk Preserve and beyond can be done directly from the house as well; however, you need to be particularly good with maps, directions and be ready for some pretty aggressive uphill hiking.... if someone mentioned a lot of trails in their review, they may have taken on this challenge.

We will also take into consideration your mention of the windows. They are west facing and do not get early light, but day does eventually break... a view into the room would come only from an owl, hawk or squirrel, but for typically non-woodland dwellers it may be a bit of a new experience :-).

Most importantly, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you are recommending us to other travelers. We hope that if you decide to make the cross country journey again, we will get to see you.

P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Hungry Ghost Guest House is our home away from home! The owners, Petra and Mike are extremely friendly and welcoming. It is nestled on a road a short way off of the main strip of town. Their yard is beautifully manicured and has plenty of seating and an amazing hot tub. Any given evening, you can see millions of stars back there and any warm morning, coffee is great on the fluffy outdoor furniture! The rooms (there are three to choose from) are so comfy and clean and the shared bathroom is beautiful! Petra is an amazing chef as well. Even though my boyfriend and I are not vegan, every single thing we have eaten there (breakfast and dessert) has been delicious and revitalizing. Petra and Mike are so happy great for a conversation about anything including fun things to do in the area and nutrition! The town of New Paltz has a lot of restaurants, little shops, and hikes and walking trails to enjoy and the Hungry Ghost is a cozy, relaxing place to hang your hat and crack a bottle of local wine at the end of your fun-filled day. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast! We just love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks again for staying with us last summer, it was great having you and A. stay with us again. I hope your cooking is going well; I remember that you were very interested in food ;-). and lots of new exercise at the time! in the meantime, I will think about all the beautiful music you make. hope to see and hear you soon. p.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Called and they had availibility so was able to stay on short notice. arrived in the AM, Petra mapped out for us exactly where we wanted to go and gave land marks. We enjoyed the hottub late at night, it was beutiful. The town has alot to offer, shops with different things in each, Mohonk, and some of the best sushi I have ever had. Overall had a great experience.

Room Tip: we had the tree house-room number 3- if you prefer not to climb a spiral stair case then choose room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
thanks for staying with us. Always nice to know that the maps and suggestions hit the mark! looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed just one night here on our way through the area, but enjoyed our visit so much. Petra and Mike have the right mix of welcoming and allowing you to make the inn feel like your own home. Others have mentioned the shared-bath, which was a non-issue for us, and Petra was clear about it when we reserved the room. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing, and the inn is very close to the rail trail, so we enjoyed a great walk before hitting the road. We hope to return for a visit one day, perhaps for a swim and stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Your stay was just too brief! of course, you'll let us know when you are passing through the area again, even if just to say hi. p.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
131 reviews
6.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
3.8 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
162 reviews
11.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Ghost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Ghost Guest House

Property: Hungry Ghost Guest House
Address: 35 Cragswood Rd, New Paltz, NY 12561-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three room rustic contemporary bed and breakfast, located on a secluded peaceful property 4 miles from the Village. All rooms come with a full breakfast served at your relative convenience, coffee, unlimited hot tea, chemical free hot tub, seasonal outdoor shower, seasonal wood fireplace, robes and flip flops provided in all rooms. Concierge service, maps and local discounts are available. Food is vegan and gluten free, local and organic when possible. Special accomodations gladly made for food allergies. Chemical free cleaners. Shared bathroom. Free parking, free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing