We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic...makes you feel good just to be there.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Ghost Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The quiet atmosphere of the woods is enough to relax the most stressful of souls. Petra, the innkeeper is a true delight harboring a wealth of information concerning local cuisine and activities. Not only will the vegan breakfast fill your belly, but it will nourish your soul and put guests in the kind of positive frame of mind that makes for a great start to the day. Highly reccomend to anyone that not only wants peace but also peace of mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

thanks for your review. I am so happy that you had a nice visit. I know htat you came a long way to be here and that New Paltz holds a special place in your memories. Please visit next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just can't stop raving about our weekend at the Hungry Ghost Guest House! It was everything we hoped for and more! Petra has truly created an environment of peace and tranquility that at the same time supports a feeling of invigoration and inspiration.

Our stay was more like being a guest in Petra and Michael's home than anything else I could compare it to!

Here's what you'll find at Hungry Ghost:

- Gorgeous home, beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained
- Three comfortable bedrooms with luxury linens
- Peaceful, tranquil setting
- Delicious and nutritious breakfasts
- Hot tub on the deck with deer browsing in the background
- Shady porch with wicker furniture and comfy cushions
- Restful hammock overlooking the pond
- Crickets and cicadas to sing you to sleep at night

Hungry Ghost Guest House seems to attract bright, active, health-conscious people who are interested in sharing information. Although we're not usually very gregarious, we found ourselves engaged in fascinating conversations throughout the weekend, with Petra and Michael as well as the other guests. For example, one breakfast conversation revolved around nutrition, yoga, sports (including running and swimming), five-finger running shoes and the activities that everyone had planned for the day. Of course, conversations will vary based upon who comes to breakfast!

Petra is a compendium of information about the local area, including restaurants (where to get gluten-free and/or vegan food) and interesting activities (such as hiking or biking opportunities nearby). Based upon Petra's recommendations, we enjoyed the Walkway over the Hudson and hiked up to Skytop overlooking the Mohonk Mountain House. There's so much to do, we have to go back!

Thanks so much, Petra and Michael!
Catherine and Oscar

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Hungry Ghost. We selected the location due to its close proximity to great hiking and New Paltz town (which is very vegan-friendly). As vegans, we enjoyed Petra's delicious and creative breakfasts. Her meals are also gluten-free, and the fresh produce was mostly local and organic. The house is beautiful and equipped with everything to make you feel comfortable during your stay. The hosts, Petra and Mike, were friendly and extremely helpful. The atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful, allowing guests privacy. Petra provided us with maps and suggestions for hiking trails and places to eat. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars one evening, and it was soothing after a long day of hiking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room....perfect for a couple. However, the hallway bathroom is shared with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Petra and Mike were lovely hosts and have an amazing house that they open up to guests. The shared bathroom was not a problem and there was an enclosed outdoor shower that was amazing! Every morning Petra served a delicious breakfast (and I also ordered packed lunches that were delicious!) I would have loved to stay here longer, definately planning a return trip.
They also teaches Total Immersion swimming at the house downstairs in an endless pool.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the bathroom, Room 2 is a little further away, Room 3 is upstairs and you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I brought my partner here for a brief stay to celebrate her birthday, and was not sure what to expect. We were seeking a getaway that was vegan-friendly and far away from NYC both in distance and spirit. Set 500 feet back from the road in the woods, this beautiful home was exactly what we were looking for, and exceeded our expectations. The house is impeccably clean and comfortable, and the back deck overlooks a pond and the woods beyond. There's a hot tub and an outdoor shower, and the rooms are well-kept and cozy, with bathrobes and flip-flops available for each guest. The owners were warm and welcoming and made sure we were comfortable at all times, and together they have built (and maintain) a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere in the home. I could not have been any more pleased with the level of comfort and care, and I hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hungry ghost with good friends and had a wonderful, relaxing and delightful time. The house, hosts, view and ambiance were fabulous. Photos do not do justice of the lovely gardens and exterior of the house, nor the beautifully decorated interior. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 757suzannejj757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I met up with old friends at this beautiful bed and breakfast just outside of downtown New Paltz and had a wonderful weekend hiking, biking, and swimming around Mohonk Lake, but most importantly, getting away from the hustle and bustle of our crazy work lives. The winter photos simply do not do justice to this beautiful property which is nestled within woods - the only sound at night are the crickets and bullfrogs and it's very quiet during the day. Petra is a lovely host and Michael, her husband, is there when needed (I broke a glass and he whisked it away with neither acting as if I'd done anything wrong). They open their home, the back porch, the hot tub, the back yard with a hammock and relaxing chairs by the lovely pond. The beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are healthy and delicious - although if you expect eggs, sausages and tons of bread, this is not the place for you. Petra suggested a great restaurant for dinner (Main Street) and a wine store as it was BYOB. We all agreed that we'll try to stay there again the next time we're in the area - we may even try the winter with some cross country skiing!

Room Tip: Upstairs is the largest with an air condition but the downstairs rooms, while smaller, are next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesSheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
6.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
334 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
8.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Ghost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Ghost Guest House

Address: 35 Cragswood Rd, New Paltz, NY 12561-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three room rustic contemporary bed and breakfast, located on a secluded peaceful property 4 miles from the Village. All rooms come with a full breakfast served at your relative convenience, coffee, unlimited hot tea, chemical free hot tub, seasonal outdoor shower, seasonal wood fireplace, robes and flip flops provided in all rooms. Concierge service, maps and local discounts are available. Food is vegan and gluten free, local and organic when possible. Special accomodations gladly made for food allergies. Chemical free cleaners. Shared bathroom. Free parking, free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing