We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carriage Loop”
Review of Mohonk Preserve

Mohonk Preserve
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mohonk Preserve is the largest private nature preserve in New York. The Preserve protects 8,000 acres of the Shawangunk Ridge and inspires people to care for, enjoy, and explore the natural world. Preserve lands are open sunrise to sunset every day for hiking, climbing, biking, skiing, horseback riding, and nature study. A current membership or day pass is required to access the lands. Admission to the Visitor Center is always free.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carriage Loop”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had gone on the Carriage Loop a few years ago, with one of my sons. Recently I went up for a night with another son, whom I wanted to see this area. Walking past the gigantic rocks and seeing the rock climbers and rock climbing school was fascinating. I was disappointed though with advice from a desk agent at our hotel, because I asked her what trail to take to view the giant rocks and cliffs. Because of that, we did not know which way to go, and missed seeing them, although we did have a pleasant five mile walk on the inside and outside rim. Its worth seeing, but not as spectacular as actually walking among the giant cliffs and overhanging rocks. Also, the cost was $12.00 per person, which I thought was very expensive. Bathrooms along the way were filthy. Try to limit your water drinking if you can as you don't want to have to use those portable or infrequent way stations. That was the only really unpleasant experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aim2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    48
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Climb, bike and hike!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a great place to climb. A variety of grades with excellent exposure! If you climb, you absolutely must experience the Gunks. It gets crowded, however it doesn't feel jam-packed because the area is so big. You may have to wait in line for some of the classic routes (especially on a weekend).

I don't mind paying the pass fee, as it keeps the area clean, maintained and safe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank c415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mohonk Preserve”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the natural wonders of the Hudson Valley, which is full of lovely places to walk, hike, climb, swim, bike, ski (cross country in season). A ten minute drive from New Paltz, the Mohonk Peserve provides many trails and carriage roads, some perfectly suitable for children to walk on, others only available to truly seasoned rock climbers, who can scale the vertical cliffs. With beautiful views from many vantage points, and at times special experiences of mountain laurel and rhodies, or blueberry bushes by the thousands.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank trocc0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Naturally Beautiful”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hiking, biking, climbing or just picnicking it's lovely here with gorgeous views and perhaps the best rock-climbing on the East Coast. Been coming here for years and it always gives a refreshing thrill...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkHappyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Trails, Best Rocks on East Coast, Beautiful Gardens - Don't Miss The Lemon Squeeze!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We live in New Paltz, so we have an annual family pass which allows us access year round with out Day-Use fees. Is you live close enough to visit only a few times a year, this is convenient and makes a great tax deduction to boot!

We like especially like the Getrude Nose Trail and Over-Cliff/Undercliff trails. The Mohonk Mountain House Hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and worth a hike in just to view them. Hiking into the Mountain House Grounds from the Undercliff trail is a good day hike and costs nothing more than a day pass fee.
If you don't have a whole day, or can't do a long hike in + out, you may park at the Mountain House entrance gate and hike in about 1.5 miles - but parking and admittance from there is pricey (call ahead to check price, it seems to change frequently. The grounds feature exotic gardens, an Elizabethan Hedge Maz, a Picnic Logde where day trippers can buy lunch and, the highlight of at least one hike each year, the Labyrinth Trail to The Lemon Squeeze rock scramble. This boulder scramble is easy enough for an agile 8 year old and challenging enough for an adult - climbing under-over-and around huge boulders makes the kids feel like Indiana Jones. The final climb through the Lemon Squeeze leads you up a series of wooden ladders through a narrow crevasse which spits you out into bright sunlight on the top of the ridge with amazing views in all directions and easy access to the Fire Tower at the very top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mpardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mohonk Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing