We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service were EXCELLENT!”
Review of Tavern 18

Tavern 18
Ranked #10 of 101 Restaurants in New Hyde Park
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food and service were EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went for a early Christmas Eve celebration. I can not say enough positive things about this place, Our waiter was so pleasant and accomandating to our wants. The manager was superb. The food what more can I say but EXCELLENT... This was my first visit but my husband has been there before and highly recommendated it. We were not disappointed thats for sure. It was great.. One thing maybe a little seasonally music and more decorations would have made it so much more. Not that atmosphere would change anything but needed a little holiday spirit for myself. Cant wait to go back again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
532 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Very busy...very noisy”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There is decent food here....but the noise level is out if control IF they are busy (which they usually are).... The steaks are particularly good and the burgers are to die for!!! Drinks are good and service usually very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyouk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the very best”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food is to die for. Been there 3 times and there is not one thing that wasn't great. We had filet mignonette, hanger,porterhouse and rack of lamb.and yes I had a bite of all four and I can not tell you which was the best because they were all great and the shrimp tempura all I can say I can not wait to go back.and the service was nice .but the best is the sauce for the steaks served on the side I asked what was in it but they told me they would have to kill me if I knew their secret. Ha Ha

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice brunch menu - super busy”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We did a brunch there for 16 people. The waitstaff was pleasant and tried to be as solicitous as possible but they were clearly overwhelmed. The place was mobbed. Lots of people in a small space. Nice group of people, and three deep at the bar on a blustery afternoon on a Sunday. Food wasn't great but it wasn't bad, either. Drinks (mimosa, bloody mary) were very strong. Prices were terrific. Bread basket was excellent. My group said they'd be happy to go back again, which says a lot. I'd go back, too. See you there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

There are not too many great restaurants in the area and once we discovered Tavern 18 we were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere is nice and the service is always good. Have been here a few times when in the mood for a burger and beer. The bread they give to you at the table is so good - tastes like a freshly baked NYC pretzel. The food is always tasty and we always leave feeling full - a sign of a good restaurant. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 18 also viewed

New Hyde Park, Long Island
New Hyde Park, Long Island
 
Floral Park, Long Island
Floral Park, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Floral Park, Long Island
 

Been to Tavern 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing