We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Night Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmella's Cafe

Carmella's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmella's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in New Hartford
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central New Yorker
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friday Night Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been gathering as a family for many years at Carmella's for Friday dinner. Our three boys have very different taste's and their menu allows each of them to order their favorite dinner.
The service is fast...the wait staff is friendly and the food is good. The Lobster Bisque is available only on Friday night and is my favorite! This is a family tradition which we intend to continue for many years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillylax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Service!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I took my mom out for her birthday about 2 years ago. It was AWFUL! The waitress was more concerned with her friends at another table and the food took an hour to get to our table (it was 3 in the afternoon and they were dead) It was cold and disgusting. When I asked to speak to a manager all he would do was apologize and say it woldnt happen again. He wouldnt even take anything off of our bill. It was terrible and I havent been back sincw.

Helpful?
Thank Lacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not just for the evening crowd.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Carmella's Cafe had a varied menu, friendly wait staff and pleasant surroundings. Their lunches are varied, with a good selection of soups, sandwiches and salads. The same holds true for dinner items. The presentation is fine and the prices are reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bnbmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4.0”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

best wings in Utica area
fish frys among the best
great service/price/quality

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ClintonCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Carmella's is a must stop when shopping in Utica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

. You are always met with a warm greeting at Carmellas. Our waitress was prompt and courteous. My wife and I both ordered the Haddock Florentine. Broiled Haddock topped with mozzarella cheese and marinara sauce over Utica greens. Utica greens are cooked greens with bread crumbs and hot peppers. This is something unique of Utica. I always find Carmellas a great value for the money spent. It's a nice place to have a casual sit down meal with family and friends. The restaurant is decorated with allot of antique type decorations. It has a lot of plants and you just feel at home there. It’s a great place to have a long lunch or dinner. Don’t miss out on a nice Italian meal at Carmellas.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmella's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carmella's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing