We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Tournament Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hockey Tournament Weekend”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent a weekend in this lovely hotel. Everything is very fresh and new and the staff was very friendly for the most part. This hotel was chosen by the team for it's proximity to the ice rink and having a pool for the kids downtime. It was a very quick trip to the rink and to a variety of restaurant and food/shopping options which was great.

Free hot breakfast buffet was very convenient, although it's buffet food so not the greatest when it comes to eggs. The "continental" part was great and the waffle maker was fabulous!

Room was fine, clean, fresh. We were on the first floor though so the hallway was not carpeted and every rolling suitcase and hockey bag could be heard loudly. We were right across from the meeting room which was a bit loud when in use by another team, but luckily they didn't stay up too late. The only real problem was there was a staff door across the hall as well and between 10pm and midnight the first night someone kept going through this door every few minutes. These doors close loudly and it just kept slamming shut over and over again. Impossible to fall asleep through this and a loud heater a/c unit.

Overall it was a good choice and a nice stay and even with 4 or more hockey teams staying in the hotel, it was not too bad, although most were on the other floors so I don't know if the slamming door was the better option. Our team was well behaved and spend most of their free time in the pool. Other teams were playing hall hockey and causing disruptions, but we didn't see any of it from our first floor location.

Room Tip: Rooms further down the hall on 1st floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babisbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    100
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
256
97
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queens, N.y.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Although I stayed at this hotel for business purposes, the staff's personal touch made it very relaxing. The check in was conducted by Nikki and it was both smooth and flawless. And after a harrowing 4 hour drive through a winter storm, it was a welcome relief. She is a tremendous asset to this organization and I hope to pass that along to corporate when I get a chance. The room was extremely clean and well appointed. The wifi hook up was simple and the signal strength was strong. Breakfast was simple and very hearty with a wonderful amount of choices. The dining area was extremely clean. As I sat there eating the staffmember was cleaning the tables and serving areas immediately after anyone left. My overall stay was both excellent and perfect. I plan on staying here in the future when necessary and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Nice job!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I decided at the beginning of December that we wanted to go to the Turning Stone Casino to check out its music scene for New Years Eve. By that time, all rooms on the premisces had been longed booked. Although the casino was a disappointment ( smoky and over crowded environment), the Hampton Inn we selected 20 minutes from the casino was a real treat. We stayed in a accessible room because of ambulatory issues I have and the room was huge and spectacular. Very tastefully/richly decorated, this room had a large flat screen tv, internet access, a large bathroom with walk in shower and the most comfortable beds that we have got accustomed to staying at this chain of hotels. The living room was so large we could have host our own New Years mini dance party! We had booked online at a huge discount and found that the quality of the amenities were an incredible value for the budget oriented travelers that we are. We arrived around 8pm and were greeted with coffee and fresh cookies. There were several restaurants in the direct vicinity of the restaurant and its short driving distance from the casino made it a great find! The only regret is that we woke up to late for the complimentary breakfast. Expanding the breakfast window until 11 am on week ends would be a great plus!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I recently had a chance to spend a week in this hotel and I have to say that it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It is very well kept, the breakfast is wonderful and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. While we were there a snowstorm dumped more than a foot of snow on the area. When we woke up in the morning we found that employees were clearing off our car as well as the other cars in the parking lot and they were shoveling around our car so that we would be able to get out. Wow! Talk about customer service! One afternoon we were enjoying the indoor pool and it wasn't warm enough...it was ok, but not as warm as we would have liked it. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance who turned the water temperature up 5 degrees, making it perfect. At one point I wanted to use the fitness room at 5:45am but it did not open until 6. The woman at the front desk opened the door for me and I was able to start my workout early. This place really knows how to treat their guests and make the stay more than enjoyable.

The room we stayed in was large and clean, although it did have a few quirks, but I thought that gave it character. The bathroom light was is the outside of the room, so while one person is using the toilet or shower, someone else can turn the light off and there is nothing you can do about it! My son thought that was most amusing. Also, the sink is outside the bathroom but there is no place to hang a towel for drying your hands near the sink. We ended up just hanging the towel on the handle for the bathroom door.

If you are staying in the Utica area, I highly suggest you check out this Hampton Inn! I'd love to stay there in the summer....they have a wonderful patio with a firepit that I was unable to use since it was covered in a foot of snow, but I imagine it is beautiful. Also, the indoor pool, I have been told, has doors that open to the patio, making it an indoor/outdoor pool when it is warm enough. Nice. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitCatSnoweyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and I stay only at Hampton Inns when we travel. We really had an enjoyable experience overall. I was disappointed in the quality of the breakfast and I did not like that the pool was freezing....the doors to the outside have a gap underneath them which meant a cool breeze was blowing in the whole time. Also, I know that they are not responsible for lost or stolen goods but I forgot my boots and a camera in the room. I called to ask about the boots and was never called back. Where would those items have gone....I called soon after I realized I had forgotten them. It was also priced higher than other Hampton Inns that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I stayed there a few weeks ago, The hotel was BEAUTIFUL.... I was greeted at the door by the friendliest staff. The girl at the desk was very helpful w. directions. To make a long story short, I came to the desk to request a wake up call. I know it was set because I watched her do it. The next morning... NO WAKE UP CALL!!!. Zit was no big deal. I was upset but the girls at the desk as well as housekeeping were VERY apologetic.. HOWEVER.. I asked to speak to the GENERAL MANAGER to complimemt her staff... I overheard her tell one of the girls "well what do they want??.. Tell them I'm busy." which I thought was EXTREMELY RUDE. I sat in the lobby to wait for the car and she walks out w. a tray of cookies. REALLY?? busy huh??

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileyface37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further and have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I travel to Utica NY several times a year and had previously stayed at the Hampton Inn Utica. My client recommended this location after it opened up in September 2012 and it's the same distance from the company, so I decided to give it a try.

Everything is of course brand new, which is always nice. They have a well-equipped workout room, with 2 elliptical machines, 2 recumbent bikes and 2 or 3 treadmills, plus weights and other strength equipment. A big plus for me! There is a shopping mall with a number of restaurants (Outback, Red Lobster, a sushi place, etc) just off the road to the hotel, and the hotel also has a little convenience store with frozen dinners, ice cream, and various snacks- I love this option for times I just don't feel like going out to eat or trying to find a place that delivers.

My only complaint is that the shower in my room was only a shower stall, with no bathtub. Not that I would necessarily take a bath, but the shower head was extremely high and as a 5' tall woman, I could barely reach it to change the water settings. If there was a bathtub, I could stand on that to reach the shower head. I don't know if all the rooms are like this, but I've stayed there twice and both rooms had this type of shower.

Also, the one thing the Hampton Inn Utica has that this one doesn't is a nightly reception, where they put out soup or chili, cheese and crackers, or other little snacks. This location has cookies in th evening, and there are apples, but nothing else.

Overall, the convenience store, excellent workout room and proximity to decent restaurants are a big plus, so I have to give this Hampton the edge over other area hotels. I've stayed at a few and this is definitely the best!

Room Tip: Rooms may not have a tub- ask if any are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hartford
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton New Hartford Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Address: 201 Woods Park Dr, New Hartford, NY 13323-0280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true hospitality at the Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford. From our incredible staff to the remarkable orchard setting, we have focused on every detail to insure you’ll enjoy your stay and look forward to your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing