We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local restaurant in a long while”
Review of Tate's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tate's
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NewYork and Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best local restaurant in a long while”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Let me preface this with, I don't like chain restaurants. AND we don't go out to dinner often because my husband and I both love to cook. This was a most relaxing and delicious neighborhood restaurant. The menu was small yet diverse. I could live on their sweet potato salad with walnuts and goat cheese. Presentation can rival any 5 star establishment. The owners are warm and friendly, service is crisp and courteous. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malta2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great neighborhood find”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I have been looking for this kind of restaurant that offers quality food, not the run of the mill choices and close to home......I don't know of another restaurant like this in the area.....A real chef makes the food and desserts are made on the premisis...Very cute atmosphere and welcoming staff.....looking forward to going back again and trying something else off the menu...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“New tasting menu!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We found out that they have a new tasting menu plus a new wine menu! Both reasonably priced and both very much enjoyable!!! Chef will accommodate if you don't eat seafood! Everything was wonderful! Will go back again soon. Small place, need reservations!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Tate's since it opened. The wait staff is always so warm and friendly (especially Karen!). The food is delicious. Our favorites are the duck and linguine fini. Even the bread is delicious..everything is homemade. And of course BYOB (now with a corking fee) is so worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcar1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Good food , service and very clean ! We were very surprised because never ate at Tate's before or knew anyone who had .We are very happy we did and will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank longislandkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tate's also viewed

Nesconset, Long Island
 
Nesconset, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing