We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian classics in a friendly environment”

Ragazzi Italian Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ragazzi Italian Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Nesconset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Across from Smithhaven Mall
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good Italian classics in a friendly environment”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On a recent trip to Ragazzis, our party of 6 all thoroughly enjoyed our selections, which included Ravioli, meat and seafood dishes. Portions are large, food is always good, prices are average but the wait, even with a reservation can be long. One way to beat the crowd and wait time, is to eat at the bar, which serves the full menu. On Saturday nights, they offer a unique dinner and theater package which includes a special menu where you can select an appetizer, entree and dessert. You get a movie ticket as a complimentary gift when you order from this menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauljc4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Much better this time around”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had not been here for quite some time but a gift card brought us back. The dining room is very pretty but a little loud. Service was excellent with water glasses and bread basket constantly refilled. The Ragazzi Calamari for an appetizer was excellent. The calamari was soft with a great sauce.

I had the seafood over pasta (mussels, shrimp, calamari, clams) and it was very good. A little too watery in the bottom of the bowl and it could have used some more mussels. My wife had a chicken dish with ham and cheese which she also liked.

Overall a good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medic_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“After the Storm”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went after this last snow storm. What I like about the place is the the owner is always around and a very nice guy. The food is getting better. I feel that they hould ahve more choices on the menu and better specials. We live close and will go here more. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Service is poor, food is a step below an Olive Garden type of food. Long wait for food only to have the wrong order , the manager acted like it was our fault when we asked when the correct dinner would be served? The owner Roger is a creepy little man that made us uncomfortable the way he watched our table. Not one friendly person in the place.Our experience was awful, I had my dinner wrapped since it took for ever, when I got home it looked like they scraped it off the floor. I threw it in the garbage.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ACCEPTABLE FOOD BUT OVERPRICED”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well appointed interior and very extensive Italian menu but that's about all. Service was spotty and a bit surley, food was variable - 2 of 6 members of our party thought their food was good to excellent, 2 thought it was average and 2 were quite unhappy - we ordered 6 different entrees. My pasta was cold and dry; had to ask for some extra tomato sauce to make it edible. A veal dish was way overcooked and tough; a salad ordered without onions came with extra onions; the garlic rolls were tasty but too oily and cold.
For the price I expected a bit better food and service---if I wanted cold, overcooked food I can always go to the Olive Garden !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAYBIRD1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragazzi Italian Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Saint James, Long Island
Lake Grove, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Saint James, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Ragazzi Italian Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing