We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip”
Review of Grimes Glen

Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best part of our trip”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wear water shoes and have a blast. The best place for every age group. The waterfalls were beautiful. We liked it better than Watkins Glen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWARNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Hidden Gems of the Finger Lakes!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Took our two kids (ages 7 and 5) and had a blast! Definitely wear water shoes, and bring an extra set of clothes for the kids to change into once you return to your car! The walk to and from the falls is a bit challenging simply because there is not a dedicated path the entire way...there are times that you will have to walk in the water, but only up to your ankles at most. Great way to spend a few hours with your kids, ages 5+!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinpoint55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hike Along a Meandering Creek to Waterfalls”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wear sandals or water shoes and walk in the creek to pass one beautiful waterfall on your left to your final destination of a waterfall at the end. Beautiful scenery and a pretty nice little waterhole to swim in at the end under the falls. You will see picnickers, kids and dogs ... all enjoying the hike.

Take your time. Easy hike (but slippery in parts and certainly you will get wet to get to the end) wear shoes with treads that you know will get wet. Worth bringing some water (don't bring glass) and sandwiches and a dog if you have one! Good for families, friends, couples and solo trips. Free parking. Look for sign for Grimes Glens along Main Street in Naples on right side going South.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Found about this on tripadvisor. What a great little find!! Went on a beautiful day and walked the path and in the creek. Just amazing scenery along the walk, the height of the walls and the layers in them, the woods, the water, just a fun relaxing walk. And a great water falls to find during the walk!! Can't wait to take my grandson, he'll love it!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short Walk to Great Waterfall !”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We decided to visit this site with our 3 children (ages 2, 4 and 7) and were so happy we did.
First of all, entrance to the site is off beaten path (street is between the Firehouse and the Theatre and has a little old wooden sign stating "Grime Glen") - drive up this street to park at the park entrance itself.

When you enter the walk you cross a nice foot bridge (safe and sturdy) with cute painted scene on it's side - good place for family pic!

Recommended footwear: water shoes with sturdy soles for hiking as creek's bed can be slippery and rocky. Just wear your bathing suit and plan to get wet.

We walked maybe 15 minutes to the falls (could have been faster, but we had the 2 year old).
It's shaded all the way - still, wear sunscreen :-) and bug spray (although we didn't find it buggy at all, and that was even after a very rainy few days).

Most of the walk was along the dirt embankment - sometimes you had to go through the creek to avoid steeper sides - no problems.

It's really beautiful. Falls did not disappoint. You can even climb up them part way, as they have flat "shelves" of rock and the kids can touch the fall, wet their hair and take great family pics!

Very refreshing road trip and break from the hot summer heat.

When we left, the posted sign said this was the site of the oldest fossil tree ever found, now situated in Albany NY. I kept looking for fossils but didn't find any - you never know what you'll discover in this Finger Lake topography.

I also took time to enjoy river rocks, smooth and polished and moss and ferns. Very cool mushrooms growing from fallen trees.

Photographer's dilema: I missed having my Nikon D90 for some great pics, but decided to leave it in the car (esp. with kids). Serious photographers - bring your cameras - and water proof case.

May try coordinating the hike with some sightseeing in Naples - we did not but we know there's lots to do in Naples, NY. We passed a winery and little shops/restaurants in the town - even a supermarket on Main St Naples called Rennoldson's Market which got great reviews online.

Summary: Nice nature walk. Difficulty level 2/5. Even our 2 year old did it. Worth the trip. Nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimes Glen also viewed

 

Been to Grimes Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing