We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff, awful service, and unclean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Nanuet
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nanuet
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful staff, awful service, and unclean.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Positives: location, large room with kitchen amenities.

Negatives: disorganized and unhelpful staff. House cleaning service is nonexistent. I had to switch rooms twice because of cleanliness. The furniture in both rooms (chairs & couches) were falling apart They are in desperate need of a renovation!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambo448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services Representative at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello Lambo448,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of our rooms and our overall location.

We are sorry that the furnishings in your room were not up to par. We are aware that some of our chairs are starting to show signs of wear and tear and we've already begun process of replacing them.

Our staff works hard to provide a top notch experience for all guests and we apologize that this expectation was not met while you were with us.

I have reached out to you via private message to hopefully have the opportunity to discuss your stay further.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Dave M
Guest Services Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    16
    15
    7
See reviews for
31
20
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a reservation at Marriott around the corner for Saturday night..arrived around 10 PM and there was a huge party in progress there. Drove around and discovered Candlewood; decided to walk in and very friendly,helpful desk staff had a room available (and it was less expensive- and MUCH nicer than the Marriott.) Hallway rugs were a little shabby and only one elevator might cause delays at another time of day. Suite was very comfortable and bed really comfy. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Drove into city around 9 Sunday AM and arrived at son's apt. in 30 mins. via Palisades Pkway and Geo. Wash. bridge!! a great find..would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello Runner880,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.

We are thrilled to hear about you discovering us and that you were " pleasantly surprised" during your stay. It means the world to us to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and our staff helpful.

We appreciate the kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dave M
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood while visiting our son who lives nearby. We stayed for a total of 3 nights. The suites are clean and comfortable. Each suite has a kitchenette with microwave, 2 element hot plates, a dishwasher and full sized fridge.
There are laundry facilities with washer and dryers which are free, which in my experience is unusual, but very welcome.
There is a small self service shop operating on the honesty system, where you can purchase soap powder, milk, frozen meals, drinks, basic toiletries, drinks etc.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
Wifi is free and available in your room.
An I room safe is the only improvement I would like to see. There are small deposit boxes available at reception.
If you have a car there are large shopping centers nearby.
Wood berry Outlets are about half an hour away.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its facilities and reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KesFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello KesFrequentTraveller,

Please allow me to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you found our rooms "clean and comfortable." Our housekeeping staff works hard to make sure that each room is perfect for our guests. We also are happy to hear that you found our free laundry facilities as being "very welcome" and our Candlewood Cupboard® to be convenient.

We strive for our staff to provide outstanding service so to hear that you found them "helpful and friendly" means the world to us.

Again, thank you for your kind words and for your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave M
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I was in the area for work, moving between Rockland County, NY and Bergen County, NJ and this was an ideal location. My suite as comfortable and the staff was friendly. The room was comfortable (particularly the mattress). Room was well-priced. The one knock on the place? They need to inspect the furniture more carefully. My desk chair was pretty nasty, with huge swaths of peeling vinyl (see photo). Te club chair was also starting to peel. Time for a cha page there...however, because of location and price, this would not stop me from returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Majorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello Majorgal,

Please allow me to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy to hear that you found our suites comfortable and our staff friendly. We work very hard to provide outstanding quality across our property and we love to hear when this standard was met.

We are sincerely sorry for the appearance of the chair in your room. We are aware that some of our furniture has started to show signs of wear and tear damage and we are currently in the process of replacing them.

We are glad to hear that you would consider us again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Dave M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Room was ok location was the best thing here ,queen beds are glorified fulls ,went down to desk to ask for towels ,nobody was there three times ,called finally got thur ,was told towels are locked up in closet ,had to wait for key from manager

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyerjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear flyerjon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanuet hotels

Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent one night at the Candlewood. Due to a mistake on my part I was put in a smoking room. Actually the room was not that bad for me as a non-smoker. We were only spending one night, so we just stayed in the room. The last time I stayed at a Candlewood was over 3 years ago. The Candlewood has always been a good value low end long term stay hotel. This trip I noticed the rooms have been upgraded with nicer kitchen counters and bathroom fixtures and overall furniture then I remember, which is great!

The honor pantry and free laundry is still a great deal. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Overall with the rate I got was a great value compared to other hotels in Rockland County. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subwaymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Subwaymark,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review.

We do apologize for the confusion regarding your room type, but are glad to hear that you still enjoyed your room.

We recently had renovations done to all of our rooms, thank you for noticing!

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Dave M
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As others have said, this hotel is aimed at long stay but any length would be good. The room is so spacious, so many amenities, as others have mentioned. I was especially impressed with free washers and dryers. There is a nice pantry with an honor system - detergent, snacks, drinks, even some micro wave meals very reasonably priced for our convenience. What a nice amenity!
I can make a bed, no problem and all you have to do is go to the desk and you can get fresh linens at any time. Most imp to me is the fact they are pet friendly- not only are they permitted but there is a huge beautiful grassy area along with bags to clean up after your pet. Still floors me that some don't pick up, but most of us did. In addition there is a huge gazebo with tables and grills for your use. Just a wonderful place which I felt was better than higher priced hotels close by. The only reason I did not give this perfect /excellent scores, was the bed. They say queen- feels smaller and not comfortable to me. The room has plenty of room for a king . Dont hesitate to try this hotel/suites. PS I did not see any continental breakfast

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for a room close to the end of the hall on the gazebo side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Nanuet, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Rrbh,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Feedback from our guests is invaluable to the hotel .

We are happy to hear that you found the size of your room and the amendities included comfortable and useful. We take pride in having the Candlewood Cupboard available to our guests and to hear that were able to enjoy it means the world to us.

We are always happy to see our friendly pet guests andour goal is to proide them with the same comfort as their companions.

Thank you again for your review and your recommendation.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your pet in the future!

Dave M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuet
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Nanuet Spring Valley
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Nanuet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Nanuet

Property: Candlewood Suites - Nanuet
Address: 20 Overlook Blvd, Nanuet, NY 10954-5290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Nanuet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nanuet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Nanuet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Nanuet is the only all-suite extended stay hotel in Rockland County. In the heart of the Historic Hudson Valley only 20 miles from New York City, Nanuet is conveniently located off the NY State Thruway with easy access to both Palisades Interstate Parkway and Garden State Parkway. We are minutes from Dominican College, Palisades Mall, Woodbury Common Outlets, Rockland Community College and West Point Military Academy We are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment and relocation housing. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Earn Priority Club Points for each qualifying stay. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player or VCR and movies from our complimentary lending library at the front desk. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and beverage items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Nanuet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Nanuet Hotel Nanuet
Candlewood Nanuet
Nanuet Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing