We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and serenity”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mumford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night -- having visited once before around 20 years ago. The B & B has since changed hands, the peace one gets from looking at the mill pond and hearing the fountain are quite unique. Deborah is a great hostess and the breakfast was quite good. There is a large selection of DVD's from which to choose to end your night. We visited in summer so did not have a chance to try out our fireplace. Be sure to visit the Genesee Country Village just down the road -- a unique museum where you can spend the better part of a day, or Letchworth State Park. Caledonia Inn, one mile away, serves wholesome and delicious American style cuisine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the McGinnis which as a sliding door to a patio with a great view of the garden and pon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedBloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the McGinnis Room which was advertised as a room overlooking the fountain and gardens. There was no mention of the construction and parking lot 15 feet from the door and adjacent to what is described as the view. The room was damp and musty. Although it has been rated in Select Registry the Inn leaves so much to be desired. The McGinnis room is in the basement and the public restroom is next door. I went into the restroom to find a broken TV being stored on the floor next to the sink. The hotel seemed unkept and in need of an update. The breakfast was not very good. All in all, for the price, I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YankeeInnkeeper, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

We work very hard to provide the best bed and breakfast experience for our guests. Our bed and breakfast is situated on 8 acres and was built in 1833. In 2007, she went through a restoration that included exterior and interior work. Fifteen trees were removed from the property to open up the land and provide more sun as well as a plethora of interior work, such as new roofs, new carpeting throughout and new top-of-the-line mattresses in all our rooms. Over the last 5 years, we have continued to improve the property for our guests. The construction the guest mentions was not at the Inn but at the house behind the Inn. We provide 10 off street parking spaces. Six near the front of the Inn (approximately 75 feet from the corner of the McGinnis Room's private deck) and four next to the garden (approximately 60 feet from the McGinnis Room's private deck). The Garden Rooms (the Skivington, the Stewart, and the McGinnis Rooms) are on the lower level over or near the race where the water travelled until 1991. (See photo on our website www.geneseecountryinn.com or our Facebook page).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Genesee Country Inn previously, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Rochester area. The Inn is an old mill that has been converted, so it is quite unique.
Deborah is a gracious and charming hostess. She always seems to be baking something, so the Inn is filled with delicious aromas of cookies and warm treats from the oven.
The creek that runs through the property makes for a lovely, serene backdrop to your stay. We were very fortunate to be there on a hot day at the end of May, and we sat outside in the gazebo until quite late, watching the sun go down behind the trees that line the creek. Deborah supplied us with plates and wine glasses so we were able to enjoy a wonderful picnic dinner.
TIP: Request rooms at "water level" as they are newly redecorated and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenlamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 night on our roundtrip from Washington - Niagara - Boston. The hosts are very friendly and you do feel welcome. Beautiful rooms and splendid breakfast. Wireless internet is OK. You can stay here - visit Gemesse Country Village & Museum and then go to Niagara Falls and back in one day and then next morning ready for the further trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I can hardly describe how unique and special this B&B is. Members of my family stayed in 3 different rooms last year and this year I had the pleasure of visiting the inn for 3 nights. I marvel at the extensive detail of the interiors; the incredibly comfortable bed and pillows and the attention of the innkeeper (and her wonderful breakfasts and snacks). Add the beautiful flowing waters and grounds and I now have a wonderful memory. Don't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: The rooms are even prettier than pictured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHarmon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Genesee Country Inn provided the perfect venue for our first wedding anniversary. It is everything we had imagined and more. The atmosphere was serene and peaceful. We really enjoyed relaxing on the deck, drifting off to sleep to the soothing sound of the fountain, and indulging in the delicious oven-baked pancakes for breakfast. The special touches, such as the homemade chocolate chip cookies and the lavender sachets in our room, made for a great experience. It is quite evident that this beautiful old mill is filled with love and lovingly cared for. From our first steps inside, we could sense that every detail - from the hand-stenciled walls to the rhubarb growing in the flower garden - is a testimony of Deborah and Richard’s love and dedication. The sign that greeted us in the foyer, "Enter as strangers and leave as friends", is appropriate. We hope to make a stay at this lovely B&B a traditional event. Maybe we’ll take that fly-fishing lesson next time! We will certainly recommend the Genesee Country Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youshawv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Our visit to the Genesee Country Inn was very nice and the hosts were very friendly. It is located in a small town, probably less than a mile from the Genesee Historic Village, which we visited while in Mumford. The inn was very clean and the food was good. The only disappointment was that the inn is listed as having a television in each room, but there is little or no reception (our room had no reception for the entire time we stayed), and viewing is limited to DVD's. We like to watch the news or the weather forecast, and were unable to during our stay. Other than that, the inn is a very nice choice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 948 George St, PO Box 226, Mumford, Wheatland, NY 14511-9823
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Wheatland > Mumford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mumford
Price Range: $130 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, built in 1833in Mumford near Rochester, New York, is situated on Spring Creek, a trout stream where guests can enjoy private fly fishing or relax by the mill pond. The inn has ten distinctly, comfortably decorated bedrooms, all with private baths, air-conditioning, telephones, hair dryers, and TV/DVD players. The king suite enjoys a beautiful view of the gardens, fountain, and mill pond. The garden rooms have gas fireplaces and a view of the creek. Guests enjoy the comfort of a large parlor, dining room with a gas fireplace, and a beautiful all season sun room with gas stove. During the 1800s, the inn was a plaster mill and later a lumber mill. Around 1917, this lovely old mill with its 2 1/2-foot thick stone walls was converted to a two-family home. It wasn't until 1982 that the Garbutt Mill, which was a private residence, became the Genesee Country Inn. The inn is close to Rochester, Letchworth State Park, Niagara Falls, many museums, art galleries, colleges and universities. Also The Genesee Country Village and Museum, less than a mile from the inn, is the third largest living museum in the country where visitors can experience craftsmen demonstrating the trades of life in the 1800s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mumford
Mumford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing