We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Storm King Lodge for only one night. We went specifically to see Storm King Art Center--which was totally awesome and less than one mile away. We were heading to a wedding and decided we wanted to see the art center, so we added a day to our trip and chose the Storm King Lodge. Had we known how nice it would be I think we would have planned to stay 2-3 days.
Regarding the lodge---the location is lovely--beautiful scenery and surroundings. Our room was clean, comfortable and just right. High speed internet access was very much appreciated. The living/dining area was large, open, comfortable and very appealing. Our host, Hal, was kind, friendly and helpful. We arrived a bit early, but he was happy to stop what he was doing to orient us to the lodge and the surrounding area. We love the outdoors,so Hal directed us to a perfect hike up Storm King Mountain---with a beautiful view of the Hudson River---a nice change of pace after a 10 hour drive. Hal gave us a recommendation for dinner-Cena 2000---which was great. He also made a wonderful breakfast. I would love to return and would certainly recommend Storm King Lodge to friends and family.
I did not have time to go, but other guests mentioned there is a wonderful outlet mall nearby.
I honestly do not understand any of the negative review--some people are just impossible to please, I think.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
116
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have visited the Storm King Lodge three times over the past two years and plan to return soon. As New Yorkers we are always happy to find a place where we can sleep soundly and awake to birdsong and fresh air. The lodge is surrounded by trees and green grass, featuring an outdoor pool for summertime swims and a well-tuned grand piano in the common room. We also love visiting in the winter when snow blankets the fields.

The Storm King Art Center is located just minutes away, and Dia:Beacon is also conveniently close. There's nothing better than a day spent walking among breath-taking artworks followed by a cozy evening in front of the fire with a good book.

The rooms at Storm King Lodge are spacious, clean, and homey. Each one has a slightly different feel. Our favorite is the Pine Room with its wood-covered floors, walls, and ceilings - like a private log cabin, but more comfortable. Hal and Gay Janks are kind and discreet hosts, providing a delicious home-cooked breakfast buffet and interesting conversation without being too intrusive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn_Artist40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Our stay at Storm King was a wonderful experience. Hal & Gay were lovely hosts who took time to listen to your experiences each day and provide suggestions, as well as accepting menu suggestions. They have paid attention to extra details necessary for a comfortable stay. There demeanor created an open atmosphere for guests to interact. We stayed in the Pine room which was very cozy, rustic and more charming than the pictures depict.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilts1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed at the Stormking Lodge last weekend with my girlfriend. Upon arrival at this charming renovated barn, Hal, the owner, greeted us with a glass of wine to go with his cheesy orientation. Just kidding. It was a great orientation, because he help us pick out which restaurants (out of his spot on recommendations) we wanted to eat at during our stay, and then he provided us with copies of detailed directions, which was a nice touch. We chose to eat at the River Bank on Friday night, which was wonderful, and only five minutes away. Great food, great drinks, and great service. Came back to the lodge that night and cozied up to a romantic fire in our bedroom (the Pine Room). The next day we woke to hot coffee and a wonderful breakfast; fruit, granola, gourmet French toast, and apple chicken sausage. We went to the Stormking Art Center to see the Alexander Caulders in the morning, and then stopped at the Brotherhood Winery in the early evening. Unfortunately, we chose not to eat dinner at Hal's recommendation of Cena 2000 that night, but chose to eat at Torches in Newburg. Torches was okay at best. We'll definitely try Cena 2000 the next time. Back to the lodge for another romantic fire in the bedroom, and another wonderful breakfast the next day; fruit, granola, frittatas and bacon. Yummm. On our way home , we stopped at Harriman State Park for a great day hike to see the fall colors. It turned out to be a very special weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weencycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at Storm King Lodge as part of a 3 day motorcycle tour. We wanted to visit Storm King Art Center. The location of the lodge is very convenient to the Art Center.

Hal really cares about his guests. He made us feel at home right away, giving us a tour of the property and discussing the history of the place.

The guest room we stayed in was in the upper level of a converted barn. The common area for guests is on the lower level. Plenty of room to spread out if you're there with a larger group. There is a large covered porch facing east which is a nice place to spend time.

For dinner, there are many options within a short drive in Cornwall-on-Hudson and across the river in Beacon.

Hal offers a full breakfast that was quite good. We had a frittata with asparagus on the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedalmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

We rented the entire property for our daughter's wedding at West Point in September 2008. Hal and Gay Janks, the owners, are incredible! I shipped tons of big boxes up ahead, we hung tiny white lights around the veranda (which by the way, has a breathtaking view), had dinner and music by candlelight the first night and enjoyed our coffee sitting out in the cool morning breezes before a delicious breakfast served by the innkeepers. The bride and bridesmaids stayed in the cottage which sports a full kitchen and pool. You will not be disappointed in any way!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Found this B&B at the last minute and have nothing bad to say. Owners are friendly and helpful to make the most of your visit to the Hudson Valley. Breakfast both mornings was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyhaltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
7.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Property: The Storm King Lodge
Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing