We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host Hal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our one night stay at Storm King Lodge was delightful. We liked the fluffy white comforter, not too heavy weight. The Yellow Room was bright with large windows and nice view of the autumn leaves. The private bath was very clean and neat. The open "elegant barn style" great room has a lovely equestrian mural and an interesting history of the Irish breeds handwritten at top of the stairs.
Hal is an exceptionally gracious host and entertaining conversationalist, telling us about his 30 years playing bass trombone at the Met Opera and teaching at Juilliard until retirement. Someone at breakfast spied his trombone leaning against the wall near the grand piano and asked if he would play for us: he treated us to a two minute solo while we ate. Such fun!
Signed, a couple from Charlottesville

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Storm King Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

B&B located in great location near Storm King Art Center and nearby hiking/walking options. Hal was very kind and provided a great breakfast, great directions and hospitality. He made nice recommendations to area restaurants and things to do. The area around the B&B was beautiful and visiting in the fall was a very nice time of year. We loved having a fireplace in our room!

Room Tip: Room upstairs did not have a very comfortable bed. Closest to stairwell.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Lodge and found the accommodations as advertised. We stayed in the Lavender room and enjoyed the quiet and light airy room. We appreciated bedside lamps on both sides. Hall is a marvelous cook and host. Our breakfasts were more than ample and devious. And Hal is a great conversation it's,telling many interesting facts and stories about the area. He gave good advice re dinners, visiting the Art Center and good directions. We will recommend this Lodge to friend and will stay again when in the area

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights at Storm King Lodge, which as other reviews have said is perfectly located for the arts center and a few nice walks in the area (recommended by Hal, the genial host). The lodge is a charming, historic building and we were lucky enough to have entire the place to ourselves on the first night. A key factor in making this place unique was Hal, who was warm, friendly and very helpful in providing advice about the area. Breakfast was delicious, with a different meal cooked on each of the two days we were there. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Due to our schedule my travelling buddy and I were able to stay only 1 nite @ Storm King Lodge but wished we could have stayed longer. We poked around and shopped and got lost and arrived much later that nite than we had said we would. Hal waited patiently for us and settled us in and then reappeared next morning to create a terrific breakfast for us and for several couples staying there. He was invaluable in terms of answering all of our questions and making recommendations and acting as a built-in guide to a region we knew little about. Storm King Lodge is the perfect accommodation for those visiting the Storm King Art Center, which is just a stone's throw from there. From my making the initial reservation, to moment of our departure, Hal couldn't have been more helpful. The Lodge was warm and welcoming, like Hal. I would not hesitate to recommend this place or to stay there again next fall !!! (review by Dana)

Room Tip: Choose the room with the peachy walls and twin beds if you are travelling with another person and th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The area surrounding this B&B is absolutely gorgeous. Our stay was delightful, thanks to Hal's delicious breakfast! The mattress was comfy enough, and the room pleasant. It was a bit odd not having a way to lock our door upon leaving. I think Hal should consider adding locks. Other than this detail, we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed few days in Hudson River Valley. Storm King Lodge was a great place to stay -- cozy environment, great host, healthy and tasty breakfasts, very convenient to Storm King Art Center (a must!) and West Point .

Room Tip: We enjoyed Pine Room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N41B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
775 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing