We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B+B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Storm King Lodge. The owners, Hal and Gay (and their two pups) could not have been sweeter, and it was a great location for our visit to Storm King Art Center and really nice hikes. We loved having breakfast with the owners and the other guests. The property and accommodations were wonderful. We will definitely go back and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,234,567,891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed two nights at Storm King Lodge near summer's end so I could cycle around this part of the lovely Hudson River Valley and visit the nearby Storm King Sculpture Park. SKL host, Hal, was very accommodating of my need to keep adjusting my arrival time the first day as a result of taking a much tougher bike ride than I'd anticipated. He was also a wealth of information about good local restaurants and nearby attractions (and not only the sculpture park.) Breakfasts were ample and very tasty, but I would have preferred it if, instead of a single, everyone come-and-get-it seating at 9:00, there could have been the option of serve-yourself starting earlier, say 7:30 or 8:00.

I spent early mornings sitting on the beautiful, spacious veranda on the back of the building (a renovated old barn) looking out over a pretty back yard, and down across the highway to the Storm King Sculpture Park and lovely hills in the distance.

Room was comfortable with a clean bathroom, and yummy "welcome" treats in a little basket on the bureau.

Would recommend Storm King Lodge--and the sculpture park that shares its name--to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaSparkle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was very disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathroom. They had a previous bad mold problem, which should have resulted in new grouting. The linen was worn and shabby. Was not pleased with the trash never being emptied. I have lived around the world and gone to many bed and breakfasts inns and felt it was very over priced. I was not a fan of the breakfast choices. I would not recommend staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a group. The proprietor, Hal, was very helpful. He was a wealth of information about local attractions. Breakfast was great. Rooms were comfortable. Location was also very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrankierThanThou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

An excellent bed and breakfast with a warm and friendly host. The converted Dutch barn provides a stunning backdrop for a quiet and peaceful stay. Good food, good conversation, excellent service. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hal welcomed us like family. We were supposed to come in June but had to reschedule our stay, and he didn't charge any extra for it, whereas a number of B&Bs would have told us that our stay was not refundable nor cancellable! The place is really nice and quiet... And Hal makes great French toast for breakfast ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very clean and comfortable B&B. Beautiful old Dutch barn conversion, charming covered porch and lush pool area. Hal was warm, friendly, and helpful; and served a delicious breakfast. The nearby Storm King property offers amazing sculpture along with an opportunity to hike or bike. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,022 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing