We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Found An Oasis !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Storm King Lodge.It is located within a reasonable walk of Storm King and we easily walked there after our visit to the Sculpture Park.It is set in a charming location with good views of the valley beyond and despite the freeway being reasonably close it was very quiet.Hal could not have been more helpful giving us directions and driving us to Beacon station on the day we left.We would definitely recommend it to others which we did.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room upstairs,the Lavender room, as it was quiet and had good views
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VIRGINIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Storm King Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've spent the night on three seperate occasions while travleing through the area on business and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is beautiful and Hal and Gay are fantatstic hosts. Storm King Lodge is always my favorite stop when traveling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful night at Storm King Lodge. It was incredibly close to the Storm King Arts Center, the rooms were lovely, and the breakfast was delicious. Hal was a great host and gave us good recommendations for a dinner place. I would definetely go back

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 11,372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

April 28, 2013
We will come back to Storm King Lodge whenever we visit this part of New York State again. Period. We will not research. We will not worry. We will simply book our stay. Hal and Gay Janks are so amiable, so full of wise and funny experiences, so welcoming of their guests, that we did not feel, not once, like paying customers.
Hal prepares the breakfasts each morning; they are varied in style (fruit, yogurt, omelets, wonderful sausage and bacon, croissants) and their abundance can keep you satisfied until supper.
Our room and bathroom was fresh, airy, large, quiet and clean. Coffee is available for early risers. In season, the porch is sheltered and sun-filled.
Hal and Gay made our trip. They were the best part.

Mike and Patti Wall

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

To stay in this B & B you really have to understand the concept of this type of establishment - it isn't just about an impressive place to stay or a wonderful breakfast - although Storm King Lodge meets both these criteria. It's really about the warmth of the welcome. Hal, as a host, gives a warm and friendly welcome, entertains with stories of this barn turned into a B & B, treats guests like well known friends and cooks a beautiful satisfying breakfast. He's accommodating - we were very late but were not made to feel tardy. Hal made certain that we had suggestions for restaurants and local attractions. I have stayed in many B & B's and this is one that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Most memorable and lovely inn keepers with a wonderful B&B! It was such a wonderful stay, we were planning how to revisit this loge from the moment we arrived. Hal was also helpful as our onsite Zagat guide with great recommendations for hikes, restaurants, art centers, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which came with a full kitchen, laundry two bedrooms (bathrooms), fireplace...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a very nice one-night stay at Storm King Lodge. Pretty, clean, and comfortable, with a friendly and helpful proprietor--and an excellent breakfast. We were there before peak season started and had the place to ourselves. The reasonable price makes it even better. I recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AW628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
775 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing