We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Very accomodating!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am incredibly appreciative of Hal refunding a night's stay in light of Hurricane Sandy! Our rental car had no gas, local gas stations were dry, the rail was down, and we had no way of traveling to their beautiful lodge.

The lodge was booked for the evening, and he was willing to refund in a scenario where many business owners would not do so.

This is an uncommonly excellent first impression, and we look forward to weather permitting us to see the lodge in person!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    43
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
118
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Peaceful and far from the crowd but an easy drive to first rate dining & shopping, and an easy walk to first rate hiking. The property is gorgeous, the house is home-like, Hal is fun, the breakfasts are terrific. It's all good!
Note: GPS & Google Maps did not recognize "Mountainville". Use Cornwall, NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Storm King for 3 nights in October, 2012. This is a really lovely B&B in the Hudson River Valley area with fantastic access to the Storm King Art Center and West Point that has a great free museum. The property is very well maintained on a peaceful road with very nice surrounding views. Your host, Hal, is extremely accommodating and kind and boy, can he cook! The breakfasts each day were different and equally delicious. Hal cooks with what is in season and comforting and he hits the mark each time. We had travelled from the Midwest and he went out of his way to have our room ready early so we could decompress as soon as possible. My husband is a runner and Hal made him a great map of a route to run and even paced it out for him so my husband would know the exact mileage. What more can you ask for? The rooms are clean and comfortable and in combination with Hal's hospitality and cooking, well, you just found that distant relative you should visit more often. The cost is totally reasonable and likely the best deal in that area. Thank you again, 'Uncle' Hal- your Storm King Lodge was a treasure to find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccctlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent accommodations and a most congenial host. Very close to Storm King Art Center and not far from West Point. Quiet and restful. The breakfasts were delicious. An outstanding stop in all respects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We chose The Storm King Lodge because it is located around the corner from Storm King, one of our favorite places. The lodge and grounds are beautiful, the breakfasts delicious, and Hal a warm host who is a source of good ideas for meals and side trips. He also provides great directions. We hope to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a night at Storm King Lodge during a recent trip to the US. After weeks of anonymous hotels it was a wonderful experience to be greeted by the very friendly and welcoming (but not overwhelming) host.

Hal had swapped our very last-minute booking from the house to the cottage due to potentially noisy works on the house (with no cost to us). The cottage was delightful, we shared with one other couple but had our own lockable very clean and nicely furnished bedroom and bathroom. The cottage is very well equipped and has an inviting looking pool (that we ran out of time to test out).

Had a fantastic night, with a beautifully cooked breakfast in the main house in the morning. Hal had a wonderful spread for us, gently made fun of our Australian idioms, and helped us out with suggestions for the remainder of our trip.

Definitely recommended for anyone who would like to wake up in a beautiful environment to a friendly home-cooked breakfast with a welcoming host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hal is a gracious, friendly host,cares about his guests having a good time, makes suggestions of sites to visit,prepares a delicious breakfast, & clearly loves what he does.The mountain view from the front, watching the sunset, is spectacular. The back outdoor covered porch with its bluestone floor & the indoor common room, a luxurious barn, are lovely.The rooms are comfortable & cozy & the whole place feels like home! In addition, this lodge is around the corner from the storm king art center. We will surely return !

Room Tip: rooms vary in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
964 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Property: The Storm King Lodge
Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing