We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kate's Lazy Meadow Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night as part of a long weekend in the Catskills. We'd read about it on line beforehand and it was everything we expected it to be- and then some!

Our cabin was cosy, kitsch and spacious. Kitchen + Bathroom had everything you could need - great shower.

Bed very very comfy and all the nice unique touches like the fairy lights across the headboard were cute.

The location was stunning and it was magical to open up the patio doors in the morning and sit on our veranda and look out at the lake.

Highly recommended! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    14
    17
    16
See reviews for
20
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Given the price I thought it'd be "nicer". It's kind of like a hipster motel with boutique hotel prices; also, it didn't help that I went in February without snow...a little drab and cold.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cthardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Tremper hotels

new york, new york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My childhood friend and I have a girl's weekend once a year, and this time we tried Kate's Lazy Meadow. To be honest, although it was cute, I was worried it wouldn't be as great as it seems to be. We were happily surprised.

From the time we arrived, Carmen helped set us up in our room, to the time we left, it was tons of fun. We stayed in the first room coming in (the 2 BR that you could bring your pet in, which I didn't) but the room was great, spacious with a full kitchen and TV. To be honest, the room could have been fixed up a bit more (hangers in the closets, packets to take the mothball smell out of the closets and drawers), and the remote was missing from the TV and was never found, even though Carmen and the cleaning girl both tried out various remotes, but all in all, it was so much fun. We got most of what we needed from the awesome farm stand directly across the road, and drove into Phonecia (my favorite town) for shopping and meals. It was the perfect place for us to decompress from out hectic work/home lives.

We look forward to going back again!

Room Tip: Go to the farm stand across the road! It's awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terithecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in an Airstream trailers named Bubbles and Love Shack. We barbequed steaks on the grill by the river. Heat lightening was blasting bright colors from the other side of the mountain and fireflies danced all around us. Does it get any better?

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was really looking forward to staying here and chose Suite #6a from the website. The room was so cozy and comfortable, with great furnishings and an awesome selection of video tapes. We watched "Don't Go Into The Woods" for ironic effect. There had been a flood which had wiped out the airstream trailer area by the river. It was quite sad to see all the hard work having been washed away, and I understand that there has been further damage since from Hurricane Irene. Hopefully the hotel can overcome these natural disasters as it is a wonderful place to stay. Anyway, we had a great stay, we enjoyed our room, compared to other places I have stayed I would say it's a little pricier than what I would expect, but I can put that aside and will be back in the future. The town of Phoenicia just up the road is a delightful place to wander/eat if you are staying here. The river in the backyard was peaceful during our stay and a beautiful place to simply sit and contemplate. We had a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelldashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed in cabin suite #1 and it was just ok - was expecting mid-century modern decor but it only went so far - in that there was some, but not everything and that cheapened the look of what was authentic. At $300 a night we expected a little more- ok, a lot more really. It was a great location with an amazing farm stand across the street and good hiking in the area, but again the price tag was ridiculous.

Room Tip: cabin suite #1 had one bathroom located inside one of the bedrooms and that bathroom door had a cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in one of the suites for three nights at the end of September. Alarm bells started ringing when we arrived just after four in the afternoon to find the place deserted. We tried ringing the numbers on the office door but only got answerphone messages. A short walk around the site quickly revealed the place had been devastated in the hurricane at the end of August. Everything close to the creek had been wrecked in what must have been a biblical flood. There was just one Airstream trailer, which had been utterly trashed. The hot-tub, which we had been looking forward to using was full of mud. I eventually stumbled upon an employee - Zee - who was able to give us access to our suite. It was nice enough, but the fact that no-one from the motel thought to get in touch and tell us what had happened. Or tell us that the nearest big town had also been badly affected by the hurricane, or that the steam railway had been swept away, left us stunned. To make matters worse, we were charged full whack: $810 for three nights. I've just checked the website and still no mention of the damage inflicted by the hurricane.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
48 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
87 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
124 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Graham & Co.
The Graham & Co.
#1 of 2 in Phoenicia
70 reviews
11.1 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's Lazy Meadow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's Lazy Meadow Motel

Property: Kate's Lazy Meadow Motel
Address: 5191 New York 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-century modern in the Catskills. Rustic cabins located on 9 beautiful acres on the Esopus Creek. 12 miles from Woodstock. Vintage airstream trailers, all designed by Kate Pierson of the B52's and her partner Monica Coleman. If you're looking for a funky getaway spot in the woods that's rustic and unique c'mon ya'll if you get us - you'll LOVE us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kate`s Lazy Meadow Hotel Mount Tremper
Kates Lazy Meadow Hotel
Hotel Kates Lazy Meadow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing