We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape for city folk”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Emerson is a small complex consisting of a lodge, hotel, spa, shopping and restaurants in a beautiful part of the Catskills. I have stopped by many times to eat or just check it out and it has always been great. After my first stay at the lodge, I'm even more impressed. Extremely comfortable beds, quiet, charming...like luxury camping. Very low key, the Emerson gets it right again and again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with black out drapes if you plan to sleep in late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank interborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 425 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved staying in the Family Suite...My friend and daughter and I had spa treatments, A great dinner at the Cat, and stayed in the Family Suite. We had plenty of space, the sound of the creek running, and a sitting area outside on the deck. It was quiet and comfortable, and the staff was very pleasant. It is a great place to take a family or to go as a couple. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Momfor25years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for a three day mini retreat. The setting is beautiful backing onto the Esopus Creek in the Catskill Mountains. The main building houses a restaurant ; conference Center and day spa. Loved the luxury of the suites with turn down service. The personnel are attentive and the suite was spotless. Our only minor recommendation would be a newer mattress as it was a little soft. The lodge is great for families with kids and has a log cabin feel to it. There are several day trips one can take that would appeal to different interests. The serenity of the surroundings is what made it so special. Looking forward to another trip there in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms share creek views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Emerson Lodge with our extended family and had a great time. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We booked two, 2 bedroom suites and a single room to accomodate our party and the entire process from booking to check-out went smoothly. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, and we felt quite relaxed. It was off-season, so we had plenty of privacy and the guests that we met were friendly and joined us outside for cocktails and snacks. The area is beautiful and we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river flowing behind the Inn. All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend it for familys or couples or large parties like ours.

Room Tip: Book a room in the back, off of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

To celebrate my 40th, I surprised my husband with a 2 night getaway. The Emerson's mid-week rates made it a splurge that didn't break the bank. Our room at the inn, was overly large, spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was as well. We enjoyed both the oversized Swiss shower and the jacuzzi style tub. There was a small balcony with soothing views of the Esopus Creek and the mountains as the backdrop. Since we stayed mid week, it was exceptional quiet and we enjoyed our privacy.

We indulged in a couples massage. The spa was much larger than I had anticipated and it would appear that many of the clients come from the surrounding area to use the spa services. We were happy with the service we received. Overall, the few staff members that we did interact with were all friendly and helpful. When we called down for a few extras bottles of water, they were brought right up to us.

We had dinner the 1st night at the Catamount. It was an average meal in an average place. The 2nd night we ventured 15 minutes north and enjoyed an exceptional meal at the Peekamoose Tap Room & Restaurant. It was easily one of our top 5 dining experiences ever, and it's in Big Indian, NY of all places!

If you were looking for a bit more of a great local adventure, I think The Emerson's location lends itself to a great many seasonal outdoor activities to choose from.

We definitely enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Even next to a busy street, great overall value with great rooms and on-site facilities.

Water supply in suites horrible though. The tap water in room was brown, the hot tub filled up with a brown liquid. Hotel said those are 'minerals', it's normal in the catskills, and it's from their own well.

Hard to believe the hotel uses unfiltered well water for their guests, given that the NYC water supply is from the catskills.

Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank karloy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, dog and I went up for the night this past Saturday. We had a Junior Suite at the Inn and it was perfect. We had a nice upstairs sitting area, equipped with couch, chairs, sitting table, coffee pot and television. The couch was a pull out, although we didn't need it. The king size bed was comfy and nice. The room was clean and the bathroom had both a shower and whirlpool tub. Although the bathroom seemed a bit outdated, it was clean and perfectly suitable for our needs. The decor is perfect for a upstate retreat. When we arrived we were greatly warmly by the staff, especially our dog, who really appreciated all of the positive attention.

Our dog loved the dog park and although the neighboring dog barked incessantly we still had a great stay. We ate at the Catamount restaurant and sat by the fire, while the food wasn't good, the service was and we enjoyed the rest and relaxation by the fireplace. The country store is cute and we bought some local artists work. We drive past this place all the time when we are in the Catskills and I am so glad we decided to spend the night there.
There was some confusion when we were leaving the maid service came at 10:30 thinking we checked out early but we had received a late check out, it wasn't a big deal because we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coluca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
298 reviews
17.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
900 reviews
22.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range: $155 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing