We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the Catkills”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with very reasonable rates. Friendly cooperative staff. Restaurant good. Our big thing is they are pet friendly with a large, well maintained dog run on the grounds.
Will probably return in the spring.

Room Tip: Bring you pet. They welcome them and the room does not have the 'hotel pet room smell.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TtravelerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 432 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there with my wife for a relaxing weekend, away from the City.
- rooms are quiet and comfortable: bathrooms are nice and large
- facilities are clean
- SPA is very good: massages are very professional. We enjoyed the sauna, steam room and outside jacuzzi very much
- not too far from ski stations and amazing restaurant (peekamoose)
- easy access from the I-87
- WE SLEPT LIKE BABIES

A minus for the tasty but somehow pricey and limited breakfast. Did not try the dinner since other restaurants were recommended.

Hotel design is also a bit weird: mix of modern, buddhist asian, rustic american...

Friendly staff

Room Tip: We did not try the rooms in the lodge, but it clearly looks like a different hotel. So don't exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at at the Inn, which is adult only. This was just what my wife and I where looking for, we just wanted to get away for the Holiday season. I'm always on the road so this was the perfect way to slow down and unwind. We enjoyed a great meal at the Phoenix, and a fantastic couples massage. The gym was great, it was larger than most gyms I get to go to and the steam room and sauna where awesome ways to end a work out.

The area itself is beautiful and the rooms are just as stunning. We had a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and a nice comfortable bed to sleep in all in our room. It was expensive but well worth it.

I read a review prior to coming that mentioned something about the staff, I couldn't disagree more, the young man Matt took excellent care of us. I don't often write reviews but this place was too breath taking not to.

If you are looking for an amazing get away to relax and unwind while being surrounded by breathtaking views, look no farther!

Room Tip: I stayed at the Inn but from what I saw of the Lodge it looks great for families... And they do wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHRMC_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just finished a stay at the Emerson, in the Lodge. The rooms were VERY large and nice. The entire hotel is dog friendly, and most guests seemed to bring their dogs with them. The cleaning people petted our dog and were very friendly with her. The dog run is great. As we stayed over the holidays, the restaurants were serving dinner buffet style -- it was very good. The property is big and nicely kept. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_gLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is far too expensive to be this unconcerned about customers -- go to one of MANY other resorts, Inns, or B&B's in the area.

I stayed at the hotel in December, one of its least busy times. The space itself is quite upscale, and well designed. We stayed in the lodge which had a nice bed and lots of room with a cozy cabin feel. Yet, the room felt lazily cleaned. A could see a years worth of dust on the wall just behind the bed, and there was hair in the bathtub.

However our Jacuzzi tub ran BROWN water. Despite two communications with the front deck, we were told to run the water until clear. We ran the water for over an hour, how much water must we waste? The spa was very small, as others have suggested. Locker rooms with sauna and steam, gym, and a small hot tub on the porch.

We went to THE PHOENIX for dinner because the host told us there was a selection of local items on the menu. However, the waitress scoffed when asked the same question: nothing on the menu is local or organic. We had pumpkin hummus with raw pepper slices, poorly cooked salmon (with carrots soaked in Worcestershire sauce), and some sub-par calamari. The food was REALLY BAD.

The next morning, I took a complimentary Yoga class (which was great) at 10:15 and asked the front desk for a late check out. They offered 11:45, giving me 15 minutes to pack, dress and leave the EMPTY hotel. Class ended at 11:30. Sure enough, the front desk was on the phone by 11:40 saying "Why aren't you out, we gave you 15 minutes?" What's the rush?

We then tried to see the Kaleidoscope show with our "complimentary" tickets -- that too was broken. We dumped our tickets and keys a the front desk.

When I wrote the managers to complain, I got back an astounding self-excusatory response... She managed to explain away everything with zero responsibility.. I was expecting a partial refund at least. She referred me to the hotels glowing reviews here at TRIP ADVISOR, which I interpreted as "get lost.."

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson07, Public Relations Manager at Emerson Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

We take complaints such as this very seriously and it is troubling when a guest feels compelled to write a poor review, especially when we are not given the opportunity to address concerns during the stay. An hour is a very long time to run water and not have the situation correct itself. Had we been notified that you were still experiencing problems, we would have upgraded you to another room. We are proud to use locally grown foods in our menu items. Your server did not respond to your questions correctly and this issue has been addressed with the entire restaurant staff. Our check-out policy is very clearly documented on our website, confirmation letter and in the welcome folder each guest receives upon arrival. We are a small hotel… it may have appeared to you that we were empty, but there are other factors to consider such as check-ins following your departure. We make every effort to accommodate late check-out requests as best we can but sometimes we simply cannot provide extra time beyond your reservation. Happy and satisfied guests are extremely valued and appreciated as this is what keeps us in business. When a guest is unhappy, it is our job to do everything possible within our means to remedy the situation. A guest’s immediate feedback during the stay helps us to correct the problem as quickly as possible so that they leave knowing they were important to us and the success of our business.
We’re greatly sorry you feel you did not have a good experience with us, and even more sorry we did not have a chance to change your opinion during your stay. Our mountain home is a beautiful location and we hope this does not discourage you from returning to the Catskills in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Emerson is a luxuriously appointed inn with amazing guest rooms. The KIng Suite features a gas fireplace, a private terrace, marbled bathroom with large jetted tub and a separate shower. I requested, and received, a "quiet" room.

The staff are friendly and helpful, though there is an absence of polish that is surprising given the rich furnishings and luxe appointments.

The Spa was very nice. All three of my services were excellent and performed by experienced professionals.

The restaurant was good, not great. The inn does not offer room service, though front desk personnel happily picked up my dinner order from the inn's restaurant and brought it to my room.

There are shops located at one end of the property which can be accessed by inn guests without having to go outside. There's a great antique store with unique items, and a country-style coffee shop, among others.

Overall, this is a great place to go to get away from it all and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The adult-only inn rooms (as opposed to the lodge rooms) are very quiet and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vrybo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband, I and our dog stayed at The Lodge for 2 nights in December. We have stayed at the Lodge once a year for the last 3 years. Every experience has been better than the last one. The Great Room in the hotel portion is the BEST Part of our stay. We all 3 hang out in front of the Huge fireplace and enjoy each others company!! We usually stay during the month of November except for this year. December is a great time to visit since the decorations are beautiful and the great room has a beautifully decorated Christmas tree. We order room service dinner to the Lodge from Catamount restaurant as my husband loves the wings and steak! I have used the spa facilities in the past and hope to many more times. The resort was booked but we felt like it was our own private resort. Lodge is for the rustic types and the hotel for people who want a little more luxury. I can't wait to go in 2013!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ornursee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
17.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
924 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range: $155 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing