We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Suite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerson Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Incredible Suite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights, August 19-21 to celebrate our anniversary. Our room was spectacular! We stayed in the Royal Suite at the Inn. Vaulted ceilings, beautiful Morrocan decor, large sitting area with fireplace and a small porch. The bathroom was spectacular with jacuzzi tub, separate shower, private toilet room, white marble, etc. Total luxury. Staff was superb! Anytime we needed something...extra towels, a corkscrew, it was brought up within 5 minutes. At the spa, I had facial and back massage and hubby had manicure/pedicure. All were perfect. We were given great discount cards upon arrival. 20% off spa services, restaurant, and a free bottle of Emerson Chardonnay (surprisingly good!). We only ate at Catamount which had great service, excellent Martini's (if you are fussy about your drinks). We got a free dessert there as well as an anniversary gift. It was wing night and the garlic parmesan wings were great. The steak entree was excellent and the pasta/shrimp dish average but fresh. Overall we really enjoyed the meal.

Room Tip: Take a suite at the inn. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColorqueenNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    120
    41
    18
    22
See reviews for
80
209
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

On 6 September my wife and I enjoyed our room at the Emerson very much; however, the poor quality of the food at the Phoenix gives the Emerson the below average rating. I ordered a pork chop and my wife had the salmon. The pork chop came with a pineapple sauce that was very sweet.... which the chef decided to also put the sauce on the salmon. When we asked the waitress why the same sauce was on the salmon when the salmon was not suppose to come with it - the reply was "sometimes the cook like to try things". I would suggest a new cook is in order but also if they want to try some things, try them with staff and not guests.

Also just one note about our room. It could use a curtain since the light right outside the side door was shining into the room even with the decorative covering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark1957716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrktingDirctr, General Manager at Emerson Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your honesty. We have made a necessary change and brought a new Executive Chef on-board at The Phoenix. We are confident his skill and leadership will produce the type of dining experience you desire, and we want you to have, here at the Emerson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, NJ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here two nights & I was very impressed...from the friendly & quick check in - to the amazing decor (think Buddha zen meets rustic charm).

Fireplace, beautiful soaking tub and comfy sheets...I was already psyched - then you look out the back window & there is a gorgeous stream & mountains...

I didn't use the spa - but it looked very nice & professional. Breakfast was yummy & wing night dinner at Cats was 'just ok' - (hey, it was 50 cent wing night...so I can't complain). The bartender was very nice & attentive. Seemed like a mix of guests & locals - so that was cool.

I was here on business...but will hopefully come back with the family. Thanks Emerson - Thumbs WAY up.

Room Tip: Inn rooms are much different that lodge rooms....in decor, size & ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelDudeAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

chef Robert Nelson dosent deserve a front staff he is working with food exilent very cold felt depressed even being there waited at the door and it was like it was a incoveince to be there.I recomend the salmon and crab cake was right on the money

Room Tip: rooms very nice any were in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrktingDirctr, Director of Sales at Emerson Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I am sorry to read you had a less than wonderful experience at our Phoenix Restaurant. We have made some staffing changes and continue to improve. Please try us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in the Junior Suite "The Lodge" for 3 nights. I read great reviews about the Spa and decided that it would be a great place to go and unwind from the bustle of NYC. Plus I was able to get the midweek rate so it seemed like a no brainer! The room was very cute! It was 2 floors with a rustic decor. The bathroom was spacious and there was an amazing whirlpool tub that I couldn't wait to try....that is until I turned on the taps and brown water filled the tub...I was crushed. The room was generally clean, the pillow cases were a little dingy, but nothing too scary...

The grounds are nice and well kept. Even though it is located right on Rt 28 I did not hear any noise from cars on the road. It was all around very quiet. The gym was nice & well equipped (treadmills, elliptical, weights, etc). The spa was GREAT! Just walking through the set of doors immediately put me a relaxed state. The lockers were clean and the staff was very pleasant. They provide a robe, slippers, and even toiletries! In the waiting area there is hot tea, water, and fruit to munch on. I enjoyed the Little R&R package and the aromatherapy massage. All of the ladies that worked on me were excellent, friendly, and professional!

My experience at the Catskill & Phoenix was terrible! I read reviews before booking and was slightly concerned about the food, but I dismissed it as maybe people are being too picky. I was wrong. On my first night I went to the Catskill and ordered a steak sandwich with fries. Easy enough right?? WRONG! When I picked up the sandwich for a bite the bottom of it was drenched in grease. The steak was also not well done and not seasoned. Needless to say I didn't finish my dinner that night. As a side note there selection was very poor. There weren't any healthy options. The following night I went to the Phoenix hoping for a better experience. Again the selection was very poor and the prices were insane. However, I ordered the crab cake appetizer ($12 for 1 crab cake) and the spinach/shrimp salad ($10). I thought to myself if I can make this dish at home I'm sure a restaurant with a professional chef can. 45 minutes later my meal was ready and I was starving. The crab cake was nothing special...for $12 it could've been delicious and I would've been happy. The salad was soaked in oil. The spinach as a result wilted. The shrimp were overdone. I could've lived with over done shrimp, but the spinach was terrible just oil pooling at the bottom of the container. I really hate paying for bad food...there's no reason for it.

So overall it was a nice getaway and thanks to the spa I am happy I went. I don't know if I'd go back to Emerson for a stay...maybe I'll stay somewhere nearby and just drive to Emerson for some treatments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTorres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrktingDirctr, General Manager at Emerson Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to post your review. Mistakes happen, even on championship teams. Had you had mentioned something to our restaurant manager at the time, I am confident we could have corrected any errors and created a positive dining experience for you. As to the brown water, like many parts of America, our area has had limited rainfall. One unfortunate consequence is that on the particular day you stayed with us, our wells were a bit too low and some harmless dirt got sucked into the pipe giving the water a less than desirable tinge. I sincerely apologize. Well water is one of the costs (and one of the benefits) of our doing business in this part of the Catskills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stay in the Lodge. Open your room window, take in the coolness of the night, and be lulled to sleep by the whisper of moving water over the rocks in the nearby river. Attend a wedding under a large permanent tent surrounded by stone walls, gardens, the forest, and the Esopus River as a backdrop, and then watch the chairs magically disappear, being replaced by tables and a dancefloor.
The newer building has a nice ambiance with interesting shops. Visit the "World's Largest Kaleidoscope" when few are around, lay on the floor, and take it in. It's a treat!
This is a great place!

Room Tip: Head for the Lodge, river side. Nice porches or decks, quaint. But conserve the hot water. During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergyCounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

All of the staff was extremely helpful, expecially the Bartender Mike who went the extra mile Sunday night of Labor Day weekend to accomodate our family of 6 (incluing my mother-in-law) for dinner at the Catamount Restaurant.

Room Tip: The Lodge is wonderful. Rooms with windows to the North and East face the stream, which you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
9.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
17.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
10.2 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Property: Emerson Resort & Spa
Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing