We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for birthday celebration for little kids”
Review of Okinawa Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Okinawa Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Westchester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for birthday celebration for little kids”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Okinawa's shtick is the hibachi table, made famous by Benihana. Kids love them. I find the end product to be bland and boring.
However, Okinawa also serves sushi, and has a seating area set apart from the hibachi circus where you can dine without the hustle and bustle.

In a pinch you won't be hurt here, but there is much better sushi nearby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steelydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Kids like it.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My kids really like it here. I think the food is predictable, but the theatre of having it cooked right in front of you is what keeps them coming back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth a visit.....go to Friendly's across the street instead.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

One wall was lined with cartons from empty or full wine bottles. The view was unpleasant and the chef's "show" was poor. They could do a better job.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gem077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food, atmosphere, service could be better”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Honesty, i have no idea why people say this resturante is poor quality. Other than, at times, poor service, the food is good, not bad, prices at the non-habachi tables are nice and its a good chinese food restraunte close to home. I go here often, usually at hibachi for occasions, and it never is bad overall. The hibachi is fantastic, the cooks do a great job entertaining and the hibacji food tastes delicious but you can order from the regular menu either way. If your reading this, and are deciding to go from one place to another, choose this and go for the hibachi. Its a great resteraunte.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bg478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They will treat you like family!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I work close by, they always remember me. They almost always give me complimentary spicy tuna rolls, which are amazing! Sake is also reasonably priced. love there rice & green salad. yum yum yum!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sclark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okinawa Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing