We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013, The fourth time at Chateau Canet!!”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
Lokeren, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July 2013, The fourth time at Chateau Canet!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Why are we going each time to the same place? The answer is very simple…you know what to expect and be 100% sure what is presented on the internet is really what you get:
- A wonderful domain
- Clean and nice gites, from the smallest in front of the pool to the luxury Chardonnay we had this year for a week being there with 6 adults.
- A warm and friendly owner/host
- Lots of special places, small villages to discover in the region especially when you are interested in history and the myths of the Cathars.
We have spent our holidays at Chateau Canet 2004/2005/2007 and this year again 2 weeks during July. Our 2 daughters are now adults. When we were planning this year’s vacation, the decision was quickly taken where we would go to .The girls wanted to show to their boy friend where they had spent the best holidays during their childhood. For us it was also fantastic to be there again, on the domain itself and in a region you get to know better and better but always find new interesting places within a circle of 60 kilometers.
When we left last week we gave Victoria a hug in the knowledge we will get a 5th stay at Chateau Canet within the next years….
Dirk and Ann
Lokeren, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of four--with 2 children ages 9 and 12, had a wonderful week at Chateau Canet. I would absolutely recommend this chateau very highly. Our children loved it, as did my husband and I. We stayed in the Lucques gite, which is on the upper level with a south facing balcony overlooking the estate/pool. The chateau is in a very peaceful location, yet close to little village of Trebes, and also convenient to Carcassone. Owner Victoria, and manager Elise, were so warm, helpful, & personable, whether we were inquiring about local restaurants or directions, or had a question about the chateau. The gite was impeccably clean, with great linens & towels, and most comfortable beds. The kitchen was compact, but highly efficient, and delightful to "work" in....mainly preparing our breakfasts with the baguettes/croissants that they delivered each morning to our door. It had very good quality kitchen items/gadgets--knives, cookware, glasses, utensils, etc., which was unexpected, but most appreciated, from a holiday rental. The little touches were noted--lovely olive oil soap in the bathroom, as well as kitchen soap/dish tabs/etc. The pool & area was lovely and very clean. Lovely tennis court as well. They also had a little laundry room for guests' use--and smartly had a little laundry basket in the gite for us to use. Of course, the beautiful wine was much appreciated during the week, in addition to divine olive oil, olives, etc., all available to purchase in the office/showroom. The estate and gites are very well maintained and cared for, and well run. The chateau is spacious and clean and hospitable. If there weren't "so many places to see, so little time" we would gladly return for another holiday to Chateau Canet. Then again, never say never!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notjoanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great two week holiday at Chateau Canet. We stayed in Grenache which had the benefit of a separate room for our daughters and even though they are only four they were fine in the bunk beds. A trundle bed was kindly provided in case we didn't want one of them on the top. It was there when we arrived as promised.

The apartments are decorated in a very fresh and simple way and there was enough room for a family of four. Although the kitchen is small, we were able to cook family meals every day if we wanted in it and often used the oven in the Reserve room. The terrace was lovely and we enjoyed meals outside every evening once the children had gone to bed. The views are fabulous.

The children wanted to spend every day at the Chateau because of the playroom, playground and pool. The pool isn't heated but that didn't bother our daughters and it was very refreshing on a hot day. The playroom is incredibly well kitted out with books (English and French), board games, play kitchen, dolls, dressing up clothes, football etc.

As all the other reviews suggest, the best thing about Chateau Canet is the family that run it and Victoria in particular. She was incredibly friendly and kind to us. She made day trips very straightforward by suggesting destinations, routes and good places to eat. The restaurant recommendations were particularly good and saved us any hassle.

and the wine is very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Cambridge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Dia duit gach duine
We had a great family stay in the gites. Château Canet is in a tranquil setting perfectly located in the beautiful countryside yet not too far from the local town & the motorway for sightseeing of nearby picture perfect historic towns & villages.
We were greeted & treated throughout our whole stay without fault & would highly recommend Château Canet as an excellent holiday location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a delightful stay at Chateau Canet, in a comfortable cottage/gite and enjoyed the pool and the peaceful rural setting. Victoria and Floris are great hosts and we really like the wine they produce. We bought some local lamb chops at the nearby town (4 km) which paired perfectly with Canet's syrah blend and made a wonderful dinner on the terrace. Ahhhhh, France!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our second visit to Chateau Canet, and, like their wine, it only improves with a second tasting. The accommodation is a series of charming holiday cottages, elegantly presented, well equipped and child friendly, set in the vineyards and olive groves of the chateau. The extensive indoor and outdoor space allowed our children (9 and 5) a great deal of freedom to run around, play on the swings and slide, or play football, tennis, boules, ping pong, babyfoot and dressing up. And to go swimming. We enjoyed walking around the estate, discovering wild orchids and lizards, as well as days out in Carcassonne, to Collioure beach, and on bikes.

The local villages of Badens and Rustiques are charming, and nearby Trebes has a great fishmonger. Self catering is certainly made more attractive by the view from the patio over the olive grove, and the ready availability of Chateau Canet wine.

Victoria and Floris are the perfect hosts; genuinely friendly as well as interested and concerned to make their guests' stay as comfortable as possible, and remaining professional at all times. Victoria's knowledgeable tour of the cave and wine tasting session were a bonus. We look forward to tasting this year's harvest next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The owners tend to keep to themselves.
We had a two bedroom apartment with a wonderful balcony looking out the back of the property. We were right next to the storage tanks so there was a constant mechanical humming sound. However this did not bother us much. The kitchen (like most in France) was tiny but still had everything we needed. We did eat most meals in as we were travelling with two small children. We also made four jars of jam from the most amazing apricots from the orchard out the back. We took this home (along with a case of their best red and a bottle of olive oil).
On two evenings my husband and I went out and left our children with the babysitter. Great service.
There is also a BBQ area which is a great place to cook (and not heat up your apartment) and meet some of the other guests. The pool area is also very nice. One day, one of the staff members brought out ice-cream for everyone. Once a week they offer a tour of the wine making facilities and also wine tasting. That was great.
There is also a small playroom with toys for the kids and a small playground.
Points to note:
No A/C but fans are available for use
No restaurant on site
Car hire mandatory
Go for the wine made from hand-picked grapes (it's $$$ but very good)

My only small negative comment is that I was not offered the tea/coffee package (other guests had) which may have been useful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemoncino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustiques
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
428 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Riverside-Home-Cottage
6.5 mi away
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 59 in Carcassonne
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Borie Neuve
Chateau Borie Neuve
#1 of 1 in Badens
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Property: Chateau Canet
Address: 11800 Rustiques, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing