We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise..”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for self-catering peace and quiet in a beautiful, historic, fascinating and abundant region, with warm and welcoming proprietors, in clean and comfortable cottage apartments, with ALL the facilities you could possibly require - then Canet is for you! We had a fabulous time and its all thanks to Vicky & Floris and their team who really care about their clients.. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - but speak to the team to make sure you choose the correct one that suits you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatest A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed stayed in the big house, Chardonnay, with my husband and 3 young children. We also had another family come to stay and the accommodation worked perfectly for 2 families. The house is private, beautifully equipped - it felt more like a friends house than paid accommodation. My older kids, 4 and 6, quickly found the playroom and reappeared in the house dressed as knights from the dress up box. They remained as knights for the week - unless they were in the pool. Location was perfect - a quick run into local village for fresh bread and local food stuffs, or to have a wine beside the canal du midi while the kids fed the ducks, 10 minutes further and we were at Carcassone - a real castle, perfect for my knights! But best of all were our hosts. Victoria and her staff, including her incredibly charming children. They were the perfect hosts, incredibly warm; even acting as babysitters for 5 little ones so we could enjoy a fascinating tour of the winery in peace. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, Chardonnay is your best bet as its the most private (ie completely so) but has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatMum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We(2 adults and kids 4 and 5) stayed there and we loved every minute of it... The house was excellent, and we got a warm welcome, a little info about the region and an invite to a wine tasting to meet the other guests. Our kids loved the playroom which had pretty much everything: play kitchen, little table and chairs, play lothes, books, games: they loved it! Although it was very simple, the playground was clean and new and the kids enjoyed it a lot. The region is a lot of fun, and there's a lot to do. Taking the boat on canal du midi or visite the caves and I think we went to Carcassonne three times and still our kids weren't bored by it...
Big plusses for Chateau Canet: lots of towels, nice cottages, clean pool, very very good advice on where to eat, a "reserve"-room which had picknickbackpacks, freezer, beachstuff and last but not least: the warm and friendly people running the place... Very good hotel, great holidayspot for young families!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert_en_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Chateau Canet for a week in the beginning of May and it was absolutely wonderfull.
We stayed in one of the lovely gites with a family of five. The gite was extremely well equipped, they even provided us with coffee, tea, suger, soap, wine etc, which we have never experienced before. Everything for the baby was there, they would even lend out a baby carrier, babymoniter etc. All free of charge.
The gite was clean, very nicely decorated and the beds are so comfortable.
We where suprised to see how detailled their service was, what a warm welcome and what a wonderfull stay.
Victoria was always willing to advise us on day trips (we went to Carcassonne, to the coast and even to Spain which was only 1,5 hour drive) and Floris showed us around in the wine cave.
The kids loved running around on the premises, playing tennis and playing the the playrooms. None of us wanted to go home after a week!
We would highly recommend Chateau Canet to anyone, do not hestitate and book today.
We will certainely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdeR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I'm just sitting enjoying a glass of Minervois I brought back from Chateau Canet and am reminded of what a wonderful experience we had there. My husband, sister and brother-in-law went to Chateau Canet last fall and we couldn't have been happier. The area is tranquille , gorgeous and full of history. It is ideal for long drives, scenic hikes, wine tasting and enjoying fresh local cuisine from the restaurants in the numerous small towns. The Chateau is beautiful and is ideally located close to many regional attractions including Carcassonne and the hilltop castles of the Cathars. Our hosts Floris and Victoria were so helpful and generous with their time. They provided us with valuable information about the area, helped plan day excursions and gave us a wonderful tour of their vineyard and winery...which was the highlight of our trip! The cottage that we had was just lovely...it was clean, comfortable and cosy and had every ammentity we could possibly need. Needless to say, I would highly recommend Chateau Canet...you won't be disappointed! And when you go make sure to get some wine to bring home so you can sit back and reminisce over the great time you had!
Oh yes and I do have to say...try their olive oil...hands down the best I've ever had!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Our family stayed here in October during UK half-term. The setting of the Chateau is really beautiful and just outside a village (with easy access to supermarket for the self-catering apartments). We did a lot of touring around the countryside. I think to get the most out of a holiday here you would want a car. Very easy access to/from Carcasonne airport.

Our top tips would be...
- guided tour around old city of Carcassone (the kids loved the stories)
- hiking up windy hills to Cathar Castles
- day trip to Cave of Niaux (absolute must do to see the cave drawings - and the tour guide was excellent for both adults and kids! - English language tour once a day so check what time before you go - the Owners helped us with bookings etc..)

My personal top tip would be going for an early morning jog around the country lanes & through small villages - with the sun coming up over the hills and fog in the valleys.

The Chateau was great for kids as they could roam free - plus there is a games room. There is also a pool but we didn't go in as the October mornings were a bit chilly. There are several rooms of varying sizes - our friends were in one of the larger apartments which also had a pizza oven (which made for a very funny night of competitive pizza-making) - plus being a winery you can get good bottles of wine without driving into town.

We would definitely stay again - especially if we were doing some sort of family re-union or hoilday with friends.

Room Tip: The apartment with the pizza oven is great - huge kitchen and great for communal cooking and eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtGravattBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We are a mature couple who stayed at Chateau Canet for a week in October. We rented a gite for two and were extremely happy. The owners seem to have thought of everything one could possibly require to have a comfortable stay. The gite was very well-equipped and we loved our private patio on which to sit and read or enjoy a glass (or two!) of wine. The only thing about our unit (Merlot) we would caution for older guests is that the toilet is downstairs while bedroom and bathroom are upstairs. However this was not an issue for us. At night, we revelled in the utter silence as the estate is far from the road. Being that it was October, we did not use the pool but it looked very inviting with its bright yellow lounge chairs (and the most we we have ever seen around one pool).
The location is excellent as a hub from which to explore the surrounding area on day trips. Victoria was incredibly helpful in planning those excursions and her background in travel and hospitality industry was very evident.The area has a rich history and we couldn't find time to do all we would have wished. The sheer abundance of vineyards throughout this area of France was overwhelming and the sight of the vines turned red and gold in the October sun was glorious. We would suggest that October is a perfect time of the year to visit.
The owners made us feel like part of the family with all the little kindnesses which were shown to us. We have been highly recommending Chateau Canet to all our friends back in Canada and we would love to return ourselves one day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Address: 11800 Rustiques, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range: $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing