We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay in the glory of summer”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our second stay at Gite Chardonnay and it was even better than the first one! Summer is a glorious time for Chateau Chanet as the pool is a very pleasant spot and the abricots and figs and ripe and ready to eat! Victoria and Floris had brought some significant improvements to their domain over just a few months. The wine cellar and tasting room had been relocated to a much better building and had been decorated with elegant murals painted by a local artist. Chateau Canet is now more visible from the road with two stone walls with copper letters, reminding of the labels on their bottles. We have recommended Chateau Canet to many friends and all of them had a wonderful time. This summer will not take us to France and we will miss not staying at Chateau Canet. If you are looking for a quality stay in graceful company, then this would be the perfect place to book.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the most amazing place- serene landscapes, olive groves, vineyards, on the outskirts of Carcassonne- it has everything. Victoria and Floris are wonderful hosts, the gite was super comfortable and quiet, the pool just so good after a hot day biking and walking, I would highly recommend this as a terrific holiday destination- so close to nunmerous historical sites and just so wonderful to be in the French countryside and yet so close to everything. Unforgettable- truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you are looking for a place that is great for parents and kids alike make sure to try Chateau Canet. Well maintained with great details, the gites are lovely. The area is beautiful and the hosts make it a perfect experience. As a result it draws the right crowd as the other reviews show. We will go back but booking early might be wise.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franceforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our family and some friends spent a wonderful week at Chateau Canet. The facilities are extremely well appointed with no detail left unattended to. We had a large group and we stayed in the Chardonnay Cottage which had more room than we could use! It was absolutely lovely. The setting is perfect with access to long walks, bike rides and a pool to keep us cool and the kids well entertained! Not to mention the pingpong table and party room! The cellar tour and wine (and olives and olive oil!) tasting were superb and led by our very knowledgeable hostess, Vicky who also kept the kids engaged with fun facts. The location Chateau Canet is wonderful with access to Carcassonne and a quick drive to the coast. We also headed into the Pyranees from there. Chateau Canet is a very welcoming place and easy to just "be" - so relaxing. It's a place i would return to over and over again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

From the Chateau's home page you sure expect som top quality days at this place and for the price they charge.

Unfortunately not so. Already by the e-mail confirming a 2 nights stay there was a price deviation equal to 15% (confirming € 230 while the price at the net was € 200).
Not so good.

Arriving within the timewindow asked for none was present in the reception and the estate owner passing by was unable to find the reservation and which apartement (called cottage) was actual. But after some 20 minutes we was finally guided to our apt.

Later in the afternoon we ordered a baguette for the next morning (as there was no breakfast option from the estate) without specifying for which time. Around 07.30 the next day we was starting to prepare for breakfast in the apt. but no baguette was delivered at the time. asking for it - it was not yet collected at the baker. But within another 30 minutes we could finally have our breakfast.

When later paying for this stay the baguette was charged with € 7,50 an outrageous price considered the price at the baker is app € 0,80. The hostess of the mansion later made an apology for this incident and claimed some misunderstanding from the guy in the reception. She offered a bottle of wine as a "compensation" which we accepted.

The rooms: kitchen/living room, sleeping room and bath was ok organized. It was included to have the rooms cleaned in the price but again we was suprised to see in the e-mail confirming the stay that we should clean the kitchen/living room by ourself...

The exterior environment was stylish with the well maintained main building, pool etc. All perfectly situated in the wine yards.

I am not sure we will return to the place - mabe just an unlucky setting for us - but still, with the price in the upper level for such a place and the promises given at their web site - unfortunately too many details did not work...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jrj-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We had the wonderful pleasure of two weeks at the Chateau Canet in April. We were warmly greeted by Victoria and her family and given a tour and brief orientation of our accommodation. A bottle of chilled rosé waited for us in the fridge as well as an assortment of other wines (great wines!) available from their winery. We were even lucky enough to get a tour of the winery and a tasting of their wine and olive oil. The apartment was spacious, with comfortable furnishings and lovely fresh linens and towels. The kitchen was adequately stocked with cooking utensils and dishes etc. - the only thing I missed was having an oven. The views from our balcony and the rooms were enticing – olive trees, poppies and vineyards as far as the eye could see. At night the stars were plentiful and it was so quiet – until there was a morning of rain and then that night there was a chorus of frogs and crickets. We found the location to be the perfect jumping off spot for many days of exploring the region – visiting Cathar castles, abbeys, markets, Carcassone and simply drives in the countryside. It was also a wonderful place to just stay at home and go for walks through the vineyards. Victoria was a great source of information about everything and steered us to some wonderful places. Most of all she is a gracious hostess – my cousin gave her the very appropriate title “Chatelaine”. I am already dreaming of the next visit – and hope it can be for even longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Chateau Cannet for the second time.
The owners are very warm, helpfull and make you feel at home.
Nature is estonishing, the appartments are wonderfull (private, simple but with every convenience).
Our daughter (8) found a friend and played tennis, petangue, football, pingpong etc.
We barbecued several times, had a winetasting, met a lot of people at the central bbq, but could also be on ourselves.
And what we experience as very nostalgic; every morning at 8 fresh croissants hang at the door of the appartment!
I could advise this location for families, couples and also for groups.

Room Tip: I have seen all appartments and advise them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin36188582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Address: 11800 Rustiques, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range: $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing