We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montour Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This B&B is a wonderful place to rest your head. Becky is charming, sweet, friendly and most accommodating. You will not find a person running a B&B that will try to please you more than Becky will. The rooms are clean and very comfortable which is all anyone can ask. If you are looking for opulance or regal accommodations then you might try somewhere else. If you want good clean accommodations with a woman that will dazzle you with her cooking then 'Bout Time B&B is the place for you. It may not be the fanciest B&B in the world but it is a great place to stay with an outstanding hostess!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ToledoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

This B&B is very well situated in picturesque Montour Falls/Watkin's Glen but compared to other B&Bs is expensive for the price. Though the hostess Becky is charming, the room/s deserve a good cleaning. There is dirty pink carpet which should be replaced throughout the entire house. Our room was large, looking out the back into trees but the carpet did not appear to be clean, the room smelled musty, there were stray cobwebs on the ceiling, dust on the venetians. The bathroom was separate and clean but the same dirty pink carpet was in the bathroom-small wonder it smelled musty. On the positive side, it's a large house and the hosts allow guests to use the very large sitting room and porch. There is an in ground pool. The view from the front is of Lake Seneca and beautiful. Though the breakfast was plentiful it didn't meet the gourmet experience we've had with other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

A wonderful situation for this B&B overlooking Seneca Lake and just far enough out of Watkins Glen (5 mins drive) to be very peaceful. Ever-changing views of the lake.
Note that on the few NASCAR weekends it will be gridlock everywhere, and fully booked for miles around. Outside these times, Finger Lakes is a wonderful area with fewer tourists than it deserves, and many interesting historic areas.
There are four rooms: the front ones have wonderful views of the lake, although the left one (when inside) has a very small shower/toilet (OK for a one-night stay); thanks to Becky swapping our room, we had the back right room, which is the largest, has a large en-suite, microwave and refrigerator, and a small balcony which overlooks the back, and the clean swimming pool and spa. Free wifi if you need it.
Breakfasts are wonderful - different every day. Becky made us very much at home and we thought it a great location as we didn’t want to be in the fairly busy town of Watkins Glen.
Becky has two dogs (they are shut away if you can’t get on with them) – we did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

went for our 31st anniversary - we just weren't sure where to book by seneca lakes, so many places to choose from in all price brackets - we just went with this one by accident. we were pleasantly surprised. bob and becky were warm and friendly, room was cozy and comfy bed - breakfast was delicious - you definitely need to experience it -

they have thought of every tiny detail to make your stay pleasant. hot tub was great - fireplace was definitely a plus. it was like staying in a nice relatives cozy home, with a gourmet breakfast

rated 4 for location - a little off the beaten path - not RIGHT on the wine trail. but we considered that part of the charm....a definite thumbs up......

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catladyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

'Bout Time is a beautiful home in a lovely location, and I am convinced that had I stayed in one of the other rooms, my experience would have been different.

We traveled with my young daughter and were placed in the inn's smallest room, which is the room to the left at the top of the stairs. Unless you are a tiny person, avoid this room at all costs. The room itself is nice enough, but the bathroom is designed for Lilliputians (tiny people). One can barely turn around in the loo without banging your head, and there is no privacy since the sink is out in the main room. There is also so little water pressure that the shower is barely adequate. There were also no bars of soap supplied to us, so be sure to bring your own.

The walls are also paper thin, so I hope you are quiet as a church mouse, because your neighbor will hear everything that goes on in your room. Someone next door was talking on a cell phone and it sounded like they were sitting in my room.

This room does have a lake view, and other than the decorations, this might be its only redeeming quality. All the other rooms are larger with more amenities. If you decide to stay here, be sure to request the room in the back with the full bathroom, private balcony, and French doors. That is the best room, in my humble opinion, but it was not offered to me (perhaps because it was not available for 3 nights).

As for the hosts, they are great people. I liked them a lot. And the breakfasts are superb, with fresh fruit, and every possible combination of breakfast items you could desire.

So I can recommend this inn, with the caveats listed above.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peregrine_ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We moved from Glen Manor because it was a dump. When we arrived at 'bout time we were taken to a lovely room with a private bath. The room had a spectacular view of the lake and a porch to sit on. There are juices and water available in a fridge out in the hall. The home is very clean and the inn keepers are professional. Our linens were newer and fresh smelling. The bed was extremely comfortable so we slept soundly. We had an early start in the morning so Becky was up at the crack of dawn making the most amazing muffins, fresh fruit salads, breakfast meats, eggs or just about anything you could ask for. She will cook your eggs exactly the way you like them with a smile.

There is a very nice pool behind the house as well as a hot tub.

This quiet retreat is just down the road from the track and they welcome racers.

There is no need to stay anywhere else. This is what I call the best of Watkins Glen.

Bob and Becky start fluffing our pillows for October

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lanasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Beautiful B&B with an amazing view and FABULOUS breakfasts. Convient location right in the heart of the finger lakes. Very friendly and accomodating owners. Town car service and hot tub use are definite perks. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank prin324cess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montour Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Cook Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Cook Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Montour Falls
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosemary's Legacy
Rosemary's Legacy
#2 of 2 in Montour Falls
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Falls Motel
The Falls Motel
#1 of 2 in Montour Falls
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast

Address: 277 Steuben St, Montour Falls, NY 14865-9648
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montour Falls
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing