We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful hosts, not so great room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montour Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed October 13, 2009

'Bout Time is a beautiful home in a lovely location, and I am convinced that had I stayed in one of the other rooms, my experience would have been different.

We traveled with my young daughter and were placed in the inn's smallest room, which is the room to the left at the top of the stairs. Unless you are a tiny person, avoid this room at all costs. The room itself is nice enough, but the bathroom is designed for Lilliputians (tiny people). One can barely turn around in the loo without banging your head, and there is no privacy since the sink is out in the main room. There is also so little water pressure that the shower is barely adequate. There were also no bars of soap supplied to us, so be sure to bring your own.

The walls are also paper thin, so I hope you are quiet as a church mouse, because your neighbor will hear everything that goes on in your room. Someone next door was talking on a cell phone and it sounded like they were sitting in my room.

This room does have a lake view, and other than the decorations, this might be its only redeeming quality. All the other rooms are larger with more amenities. If you decide to stay here, be sure to request the room in the back with the full bathroom, private balcony, and French doors. That is the best room, in my humble opinion, but it was not offered to me (perhaps because it was not available for 3 nights).

As for the hosts, they are great people. I liked them a lot. And the breakfasts are superb, with fresh fruit, and every possible combination of breakfast items you could desire.

So I can recommend this inn, with the caveats listed above.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peregrine_ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2008

We moved from Glen Manor because it was a dump. When we arrived at 'bout time we were taken to a lovely room with a private bath. The room had a spectacular view of the lake and a porch to sit on. There are juices and water available in a fridge out in the hall. The home is very clean and the inn keepers are professional. Our linens were newer and fresh smelling. The bed was extremely comfortable so we slept soundly. We had an early start in the morning so Becky was up at the crack of dawn making the most amazing muffins, fresh fruit salads, breakfast meats, eggs or just about anything you could ask for. She will cook your eggs exactly the way you like them with a smile.

There is a very nice pool behind the house as well as a hot tub.

This quiet retreat is just down the road from the track and they welcome racers.

There is no need to stay anywhere else. This is what I call the best of Watkins Glen.

Bob and Becky start fluffing our pillows for October

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lanasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Beautiful B&B with an amazing view and FABULOUS breakfasts. Convient location right in the heart of the finger lakes. Very friendly and accomodating owners. Town car service and hot tub use are definite perks. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank prin324cess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

This place is a litte hard to find, but well worth it. Becky's breakfasts for just us, were large enough to feed an entire football team. She catered to our request of "vegetarian" and made a wonderful quiche to go along with homemade muffins and pastries and waffles. The room was spotless and beautiful. This is the second time we've stayed here. She remembered us from the previous year. These are good kind people who are friendly, but still give you the privacy that you want. Last year Becky gave us her large, workable kitchen to prepare sushi, and this year, they allowed us to use the BBQ for salmon.
There is a hot tub in the back yard, and a large swimming pool (if you happen to be there in the summer.)

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 6, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Perez57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montour Falls
5.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cook Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Cook Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Montour Falls
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Falls Motel
The Falls Motel
#1 of 2 in Montour Falls
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Bout Time Bed & Breakfast

Address: 277 Steuben St, Montour Falls, NY 14865-9648
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montour Falls
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing