We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang For Your Buck”
Review of The Falls Motel

The Falls Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Falls Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We are Race Tack fans/participants.
We have been staying at The Falls Motel for more than a dozen years.
The owner and staff take great pride in providing you with clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly environment.
There is a restaurant/lounge on the site and you can just have a nice meal with good company and friendly service for a resonable price.
We have stayed at other venues in the area when we called too late to get a reservation here (it fills up very quickly) and couldn't favorably compare any of our stays to The Falls Motel. Any special needs are graciously taken care of if possible.
The motel is close to the town of Watkins Glen, Watkins Glen Race Track, Watkins Glen State Park and the area wineries and restaurants making it an ideal location for your stay in this area

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BigBdMaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

For a track junkie, this is a real find: starting at $80/room, 4 miles (less than 10 minutes) from the track, this is an unusually beautiful, comfortable motel. The owners (who live on the premises) maintain it so immaculately you would swear it is brand new (it is not at all). The owners are also very accommodating. When I showed up once with a fellow driver (whose camp-at-the-track arrangement had not worked out) they upgraded me from a single to a double room without extra charge. Continental breakfast is included. On the eve of Porsche track days, the parking lot is packed with Porsche's: what better recommendation does one need?

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrewsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Falls Motel during the Finger Lakes Wine Festival and were extremely satisfied with our stay. The owners greeted us with a friendly welcome and the motel room was immaculate and comfortable. Not only were the accommodations wonderful, but the Lounge next door was fantastic as well. The waitresses were friendly and accommodating, the bartender, Jim, was a pleasure to speak with, and the chef, Rob, made delicious entrees. Everyone made us feel very welcome and we look forward to our return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PennsylvaniaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Falls Motel is one of those rare finds in small motels, it is updated and very clean while it is complemented with a nice place to eat next door....I will not hesitate to recommed to anyone staying in the finger lake regions.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HuskerFan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Spent the weekend at this motel during a wine club trip in October. They accomodated about 24 of us. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful - we needed bandaids on several occassions and they were happy to provide. Continental breakfast is basic - coffee, OJ, prepackaged muffins/danishes. But its included so who can complain! As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are SPOTLESS. So much so that one couple was even comfortable taking a bath in this motel.
The staff allowed us to set up a club gathering in their parking lot one evening so we could all hang out together - they provided some folding tables and there are already plastic chairs sitting outside the rooms.
Rooms are roomy and as pictured on the website. Walls are a little thin, but if you use white noise to sleep, the heating/cooling system provided sufficient interference.
The onsight restaurant is quaint but service there could be improved. Their Friday Night fishfry is highly rated - and for $9.95 we could see why. The fish was huge and came with 2 sides. My husband and I split one. Dinner the next night was with our entire group and we encountered some issues with cold food, overcooked meat, and other service issues. Seems they aren't used to serving a large group at once.
You could walk to the falls about 1.5 blocks away.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for any person staying in the Finger Lakes vicinity. Restaurant is hit or miss, but we would try it again without a large group.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Cinda-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I just spent a weekend in the Finger Lakes area of New York and booked 2 nights at The Falls Motel in Montour Falls, NY. What a pleasant surprise! It was probably the cleanest motel room I've ever stayed in, as in nearly spotless! The owner Phil, was very helpful to us as well. We rode up on our motorcycle and he was really accommodating and had good suggestions when we needed to rent a car due to rain. All in all, it was a great experience. I'm so fussy when it comes to motel rooms and this motel did not disappoint. Don't hesitate to stay at The Falls Motel. It's a short (5-10) minute drive into Watkins Glen from the motel. The lounge right next door is beautiful, the bartender is a friendly guy, and they have good food too. Nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank billiejinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here several times since they've redone everything. We love everything about it, except for the loud heater (VERY loud), and uncomfortable bed and pillows. We stayed in the King bedroom suite with the whirlpool tub, and the bed seemed fine, but the "lesser" rooms were fairly uncomfortable. Having said that, since everything's newly built, it's spotless, very roomy, and the folks there are super friendly. It's fairly pricey. There are several cheaper motels in Montour Falls, and you get very basic rooms, but they're fine also if you're looking for basic accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank monkeypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montour Falls
5.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Motel

Address: 239 N Genesee St, P.O. Box 631, Montour Falls, NY 14865-9703
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Price Range: $118 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Hotel Montour Falls
Falls Hotel Montour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing