We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will do.”
Review of The Falls Motel

The Falls Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Falls Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed At the Falls for a weekend conference. Not much to review. It is a clean hotel with a roof and beds. Families should be comfortable there as well. The restaurant was closed for renovation so I don't have anything to review. It is convenient to everything in the area. As I said it is a clean room. The staff is extremely friendly and communicates well with the guests. The only problem for the weekend happened to one of our party. After receiving our room assignments, one of our party went to his room only to find a stranger stepping out of the shower and drying off. Obviously the room assignment system leaves much to be desired. They were apologetic and corrected it immediately. My suggestion, if you stay there lock your door when you prefer not to have unexpected visitors. Overall it's a clean, no frills room.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put in the top building. Ask for a room you can back your car up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dano1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were staying at a b&b near the restaurant and they recommended it for some late night food. We were so impressed we went back every night we were in town! The food is absolutely amazing! Everything we ordered was delicious especially the wings! I would go as far as to say these are the best wings I've ever had in my entire life! We went Friday night for the fish fry but showed up a bit too late so get there early it is a great price for a huge meal. The building is beautiful, built right into the wall of the hill it backs up to and the staff is so friendly they make it feel like home. I would go back time and time again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chevaf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a clean motel with nicely appointed rooms. Not a five star but well worth the price. I have stayed there 5-6 times in the last 10 years and it is great. If you want a romantic room get the suite. There's only one and it's $150 per night. Has a fireplace, leather recliners, a mini kitchen and huge jacuzzi tub. The King with Jacuzzi tub rooms are also great. Just went with 11 people and everyone liked their rooms. Also, near beautiful falls. It is located right in town near Watkins Glen so it's easy to hit the wine trail and end up somewhere were you can eat and drink until your hearts content. Want some great food and beer and wine, go to the restaurant right next door which was part of the motel. Beautiful and great food. You can walk there. Finally, we ate breakfast for the past 10 years at Chef's which is about 1/2 mile away. Excellent diner! Enjoy your stay. Call the Falls and ask for Mike. Tell him Fuller sent you. T

Room Tip: Get the suite above the office for a treat or stay in a King room with jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We did not stay at the Falls Motel, however, we did go to the Falls Motel Lounge right next door-which used to have the same owners. We went to the Lounge for my parents' wedding anniversary. I was a bit skeptical from the photos on their website, they didn't do this place any justice! We sat upstairs, had a wonderful view-there's windows all around-this place is built right into the rock-it used to be a carriage house. What a diamond in the ruff! Our waitress, Linda, who is also co-owner of the place, was OUTSTANDING! She made my parents' anniversary dinner one to remember-she even had flowers in a vase on the table w/an anniversary balloon! We ordered chicken wings-and being Buffalonians-we know chicken wings! They were dynamite-we even got to take a bit of the sauce home w/us! My parents ordered scallops-they loved them...I got the Bacon/Turkey melt-pretty good-could have used a bit of mayo or some type of sauce to help it go down-but was delightful. The food is so fantastic-this place is nestled in the heart of Montour Falls, and it's completely worth the trip! Try it out before it changes hands-it's for sale!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We loved it because its near 2 waterfalls which we walked to. the rooms were clean and large. the restaurant next door was beautiful. it had a waterfall inside it. we'd stay here again. We had a great time here. The staff was helpful. The continental breakfast wasn't much but the coffee was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank laurahollenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were traveling to the finger lakes area and did not have reservations for accommodations. Loved that this hotel did not charge higher rates on the weekend. The rooms are quite large and very clean. The continental breakfast was just a roll and coffee, but the value of the room off set the small breakfast. The owners are very nice and helpful. We has dinner at the restaurant next door and it was reasonably priced and quite good. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Larfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

You don't need to venture far for sightseeing, as the hotel's location is near the town's falls and very close to Watkins Glen. While we were there, the fall colors were appearing on trees, which made for a great experience. The rooms were clean but beware that they give only 1 set of towels per person. (So if you have 3 people staying in the room, bring an extra set of towels...) The restaurant is right next to the hotel and can get busy on the weekends. Great that you can walk from your room straight to dinner next door. Hotel offers an unadvertised grab-and-go breakfast in the office area, with packaged pastries, fruit, coffee, tea and juice.

Room Tip: The rooms facing, and on, the office side are bigger than the rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannibal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montour Falls
5.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
4 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Motel

Address: 239 N Genesee St, P.O. Box 631, Montour Falls, NY 14865-9703
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Price Range: $116 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Hotel Montour Falls
Falls Hotel Montour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing