We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you have no other choice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Monticello
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay here if you have no other choice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Location. The town of monticello is the slums of upstate new York.
Service. The people at the front desk are hard to get a hold of u can just ring the bell knowbody is going to come to the counter. I did request a refrigerator and they brought me on.
Rooms The beds were lumpy and seam like they have a slope to them. The pillows were thin. Rooms were stinky. At least they didn't have bugs. If I had to stays in monticello I would stay there again, but if I can avoid this town I would

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshalllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    4
    49
See reviews for
11
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Please do not waste your time here. Stayed here for a few days and needed to go to the hospital. I had bed bug bites. This was the only hotel I had been at. When I told them where I was staying, they told me that there are also bed bugs there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlforzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monticello hotels

Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The worst place ever! First room we entered, battery in fire/smoke detector beeping; had to move to other room. Rooms were dirty and smelly. One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Do not book a room. I agree that the place should be condemned. If it hadn't been so late when we checked in, we would have found another place. I can't even give this a one "Dot" rating.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

By time I got around to reading the other reviews it was too late to cancel my reservation, so I went bravely on my trip and well prepared for what I was going to encounter, no one could have prepared me for what I saw in this hotel it was the worst place I've ever laid my head. This hotel should be condem by the Health Department, the towels were dirty and dingy, bathroom was clogged you could'nt take a shower and the water was cold, the room was so cold I had to put a towel under the door to keep the room warm, the bed looked like it was'nt change in weeks I could'nt wait to get out. Do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Read reviews before you book there are helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousey-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

DO not go to the Monticello Econo lodge under an circumstances. Period.
Overpriced, bad area, crumbling and dirty, and noisy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Ok ive camped out, slept in tents, and lean-tos. This hotel was by far the worst accomodations i have ever experienced. Ill start off by saying the smell of the room was horrible and the bed did not have clean sheets on it. The TV is from 1989 and came in fuzzy every channel. Remote for tv was broken. Wi-fi did not work. It rained and we woke up to the ceiling leakkng and ruining a dress and a pair of shorts with its rotten old wood smell and stains. The room doesnt have an alarm clock or a coffee pot. Waited for 10 minutes for someone to check us in and we rang the bell several times for assistace. The place needs to be painted at a minimum and they need a health and buildig inspection asap. Totally dissatisfied. Pool not open in july Would not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The hotel is located just a few minutes from monticello raceway and only a short drive to Bethel woods center for the arts music venue. The staff was great, and there is food and a bar right across the street! Great place to stay !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
14.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Liberty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
9.2 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
11.3 mi away
Days Inn Wurtsboro
Days Inn Wurtsboro
#1 of 1 in Wurtsboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Property: Inn at Monticello
Address: 392 Broadway, Monticello, NY 12701-1157 (Formerly Econo Lodge Monticello)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Monticello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Monticello Hotel Monticello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing