We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Monticello
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel was clean; provided microwave and fridge. Met my needs.Internet worked fine, coffe maker a little shabby but not a big deal. Breakfast buffet was fine. Nothing fancy but did the trick. Perfect for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank audroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Monticello
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 302 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in winter. Room acceptable, Italian restaurant next door very good. Recommended by clerk as popular. Pool highly chlorinated. Kids enjoyed. Breakfast adequate but get to it early before it is all gone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Middlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were okay but the bathroom needs help. They were extremely small and the tub was pretty old. The breakfast was not too impressive. The food was all no name brand items. The breads seemed stale and a little hard. There was no decaf coffee or regular milk. The Days Inn was much nicer with better food and options..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 854donnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We needed a place to stay for work, this hotel was in our hotel plan. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was very friendly. I decided to take a client out to eat and the hotel clerk sent us to a delicious steak house. There didn't seem to be much in the area to choose from. The steak house was a great choice. From what I could see, the hotel was very clean and I would stay there again. They need a little work on the continental breakfast. I hope they took my suggestions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Clean and no hassles. Very quiet the night we stayed there. Room was clean, comfortable and we had a jet tub - which we didn't use. AM breakfast was fine. Check in and out went quick and was efficient. Worth staying at if in the area, versus going to the hotels downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shrnmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First things first, there are very few options around so you're likely going to wind up at the Best Western if you happen to be traveling to the area. And that's not all that terrible. The beds are horizontal, the showers have hot water, the folks at the front desk were very kind.

They have a breakfast, pretty basic. Cereal, waffle maker, bitter coffee. Still, edible and free.

Just think the whole place could use a little TLC. Granted, a full renovation would be ideal but in the meantime, someone could go through each room and just neaten things up. Like a wall plate. Really easy thing to do and all it takes is about $0.29 and a screwdriver. In the case of my room, one didn't even need a new wall plate, it was actually there just about halfway along the power chord as it was not screwed in. Speaking of screwing things in, the shower head probably shouldn't be so mobile. Tightening that down will help prevent issues in the long run.

Oh, careful with the switches in the bathroom area. The one that seems quite obviously the light switch is actually for the jets in the tub. Yes, this place has tubs with jets. Something I would consider leaving out should a renovation ever start. Anyway, you will know you've hit the wrong switch when a) the light does not come on and/or b) the loud, awful, grinding noise of dry jets erupts from the bathroom.

Walls were thin. I spent 2 nights listening to what I thought was my neighbors TV. When I called about it on the 3rd night, I found out no one was staying in any room near me. So the noise of the TV was traveling a good distance, thru walls. The eventually found the culprit so see, the folks who work here are really nice.

It far from the worst place I've ever stayed and I was grateful for a comfortable bed and hot shower. I added a picture of the room which I took only because I found the room unusually large. When the girl at the front desk was helping track down the TV offender, she mentioned that I had the best room in the hotel. So there you go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a problem with rooms at our original destination and found Best Western in the area. I called the 1 800 number and was helped to find a room quickly for a better price than was stated on the web site. She also set me up to receive points for my Best Western Stays. The hotel was very clean had a pool and a very equipped exercise room. the continental breakfast had a variety of food including hot waffles. Great place to stay. Al staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
6.4 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
464 reviews
15.7 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
12.4 mi away
Days Inn Wurtsboro
Days Inn Wurtsboro
#1 of 1 in Wurtsboro
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Monticello

Address: 16 Raceway Road, Monticello, NY 12701-1112 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Monticello
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: $114 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monticello Hotel Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing