We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, under-serviced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Monticello
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    62
    34
    38
See reviews for
66
65
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the closest I could find to 10 Mile river Camping.
15 mins up the road and next to COlliseo resturant. The Hotel really needs to be updated.
Its right out of the late 70' early eighties. I was given a non smoking room with a King SIze bed.
The smell of smoke was present. I didnt bother to change the room because it was late when i got in and iwas to tired the next day. The room its self was large but the decor was so old. Old comforter and bedding. Same deal in the bathroom. It was not worth the 125.00 a night rate. More like 50.00

The front desk personal was polite and curtious.
I wish they would really fix this ! I have to be back in Narrowsburg this summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanymph68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

So this place will never win any awards... Period... However, it was clean and just about comfortable, if a little dated, and as other reviews note, this really is the only game in town... So it's not surprising they can get away with charging more than you would really want to pay!

Finally I must add the staff were excellent, very helpful and attentive.



Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HighWycombeMIch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Gave our room away despite them calling us to confirm the reservation. The rooms have not been updated in a long time. The pullout couch they gave us in lieu of one of the beds we were supposed to have was from circa 1980, with several springs missing. The pullout bed was basically not serviceable. Really not a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monticello hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We paid an exorbitant $180 for a night in what the hotel laughingly bills as a suite. In reality its an oddly shaped second floor room above the lobby that feels like something the contractor couldn't figure out. The cleaning staff must have the same problem because they certainly never used a mop, vacuum or dust rag in that room.
The staff offered (after twice promising and then failing to send someone to clean the room) to alert the owner. I replied to the effect that the owner had to be fully aware of how bad the room was and if he treated his customers with so little consideration he very likely treated the employees as badly. I received a "can't comment" and resigned shrug in response. This is the one star version of Hotel Hell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

when going to the bethel woods museum and/or concert site (woodstock festival site), this is your best option for staying overnight. while i do believe they tweak their rates around the concerts, it does provide a good location, free beakfast (all be it nothing fancy), and you are right up the street from the racino at monticello raceway. there are b & b's nearby, but most are very expensive, and just not worth the price (value thing!)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, its a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have stayed so many times at his hotel, its never a bad experiance. Room is very clean (as always) and free breakfast is excellent. Cannot have more for the price paid.

This is a out of no where area but still to maintain hotel in this area in this economy is impressive.

Front desk is always willing to rearrange the room based on customer preference and request. I have not seen anyone like them before, they are always put customer on #1 priority. Best people and good rooms. I am happy with my stay here...

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
6.4 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
435 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
410 reviews
15.7 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
12.4 mi away
Days Inn Wurtsboro
Days Inn Wurtsboro
#1 of 1 in Wurtsboro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Monticello

Property: Best Western Monticello
Address: 16 Raceway Road, Monticello, NY 12701-1112 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Monticello
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monticello Hotel Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing