We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek amidst lots of diners trying to "do Greek"”

Yanni's Gyro Express Cafe
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Callicoon, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Greek amidst lots of diners trying to "do Greek"”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

In the process of expansion now-thank god! I had a difficult time parking and getting out the last time as this space used to be the old Frosty Rock creamery. Anyway very, very nice owner, the menu is extensive and although I know Greek food, I was a little overwhelmed at trying to order. I ordered an avgolemeno soup which he said that they have all the time, even in the summer. Soup was good, very light. Personally, I love a lot more lemon, but it was pretty good for general palates. The spinach salad was dynamite!!! Huge salad containing bacon, goat cheese, croutons, and hardboiled egg with 2 dressings. I liked their Ekhmek because it was light and airy and the bottom was not sopping wet. I understand that the owner doesn't put nuts on it because of nut allergies-it was really good....just I kind of missed the pistachios that usually top it! Anyway, really great Greek if you are in Monticello or if you happen to be in Liberty and Yiasou is crowded, hop on over here....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Great Greek cuisine and extremely low prices! While the typical gyro, souvlaki, and falafel are great, the best item on the menu is the Rueben Burger! Even the sides are good, home-cut fries or really flavorful mixed vegetables (my favorite). Many different desserts, all delicious.

Helpful?
3 Thank xXNotAllWhoWanderXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food at the right price!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

There is something for everyone here. Great desserts, choices on menu, and the owner "D" always goes out of his way to make sure the customer is satisfied. Terrific tasting food, reasonably priced and made fresh!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek cuisine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This little gem of a restaurant serves fresh, delicious food. It is small but take-outs consist of a lot of their customers. There is a drive up window too. But we always eat-in. When the weather is nice, you can eat outdoors too. Love the many choices of Greek items on the menu but you can also order non-Greek food. Reasonably priced and friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed the food. Especially the chicken soup, and the Tiramissu. From the outside, the restaurant looked a little small and sad. But they are planning to expand and upgrade their decor, which will be very good for their business!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslanders_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanni's Gyro Express Cafe also viewed

Monticello, Catskill Region
Monticello, Catskill Region
 
Monticello, Catskill Region
Monticello, Catskill Region
 
Monticello, Catskill Region
Monticello, Catskill Region
 

Been to Yanni's Gyro Express Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing