We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star B&B in a quaint town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltic, ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 5-star B&B in a quaint town”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed one night with another couple on our way North along the Hudson River. What a gem of a find! The quaint touches that we found made our stay a unique experience. Bathrobes, chocolate, a complimentary taste of 20 year old port wine, the electric fireplace, and oh, that delicious breakfast! Borland House and it's owners, Carol and Bill truly make your stay very special. We also enjoyed being able to walk to dinner and also explore the town of Montgomery. We will definitely keep this on our list to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montgomery room, which was very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
117
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Borland house while visiting our daughter who is at a school in the area. Carol and Bill are great hosts and made us feel welcome. The Borland house sits right in the middle of historic Montgomery and the house itself is a remnant of that history. It is comfortable and welcoming.
We stayed in the Isabella room which is in the oldest part of the house. It was comfortable and private.
Breakfast was delicious and as we were eating we were treated to the sight of a Hummingbird feeding on the flowers on the porch. It was a nice exclamation point to the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ahhhh! The Borland in Montgomery is a real treat. The village was chartered in 1810, but Borland House is partly older than this and I stayed in the Isabella Room, dating from the late 1700s. Carol and Bill have completely renovated the large historic house and it is superbly well done. The sitting areas are comfortable and there is wifi everywhere. Carol makes biscuits and brownies in the afternoon; there is always tea, coffee and water available. Bill makes incredibly tasty breakfasts (fresh fruit, fresh scones, omelettes, etc.). There are a few things that make this a very special experience, though: firstly, the room I stayed in was beautiful; secondly the house is two minutes walk away from good restaurants and little shops; thirdly, there was a little taste of aged port with handmade chocolates on arrival. I mean! How thoughtful and indulgent. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family and I used to live in the area and we go back once a year for Montgomery Day. We have been lucky enough to stay at the Borland house the last few years. The accomodations are clean, warm, inviting and cozy. Carol and Bill are fantastic hosts! Breakfast there is excellent and there are usually some sort of sweet snacks left for guests for an afternoon pick-me-up. The location is very convenient to shops and restaurants and the front porch gives you a nice view of the town while allowing you to relax with a cup of tea or glass of wine. If you are coming to the Montgomery area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I have five kids, we needed some time alone. The Borland House was just charming, the breakfast was wonderful, and the owners are just lovely...Though not very far from our own home, The Borland house is in a nice little town, you can walk to many fine places to eat. Also there so much to chose from if you chose to get a bit more active, hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to make a quick get-away from NYC for a weekend, to escape the summer heat, explore Dia: Beacon and hike around Lake Minnewaska. I did a bit of research to find gay-friendly B&B with good reviews from previous guests, and the Borland House came up.

In short, we had a truly wonderful time staying at the Borland House and exploring the nearby environs.

- From the moment we arrived, and throughout our stay, proprietors Carol and Bill were welcoming, hospitable, authentic, and helpful
- The house itself was charming, with comfy reading nooks throughout, games, and even a baby grand piano
- The room (Isabel Room) was comfortable and very private
- Breakfasts, which Bill and Carol made themselves in the back kitchen, were a truly gourmet affair. I can't remember having had such scrumptious and satisfying breakfasts as I had here. And because the Borland House is small, Carol and Bill were able to make everyone feel special and catered to.
- The town itself had many restaurants, and attractions were nearby in every direction

We're looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Isabel room - quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I spent several days with the Freemans and greatly enjoyed our whole visit. There is a good reason these folks get so many 5 star ratings--it is a great historical site, the hosts go far out of thier way to ensure a nice experience, the rooms are large and pleasant (at least ours and the one next door) and breakfast is fun and tasty. The "foodie package' is a great deal--the B&B and the Bistro both discount their parts and the restaurant (Back Yard Bistro)is terrific. I`ll review it separately but rank it one of the best dining experiences I`ve had in a long while even though it is very small and a bit noisy. There are other good places to eat within walking distance which is surprising for such a small and quiet village. We hope to go again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montgomery room which was large and attractive. Big private bath just 2 steps from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodles11Rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
596 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borland B&B & Brunch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borland B&B & Brunch House

Property: The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Address: 130 Clinton St, Montgomery, NY 12549
Location: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Borland B&B & Brunch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious 18th Century Greek Revival home with a focus on gourmet food. Our accommodations combine comfort, elegance, warmth and something special for the gourmand. Chef Anna, trained in Southern France, has created a special place with a focus on farm-to-table comfort food even creating a backyard farm and orchard. From just enjoying the full sit down breakfast in the Brunch House Restaurant on the Main Floor of the House, to the options of adding on gourmet 3-5 course dinners or cooking classes, the Borland House has a uniqueness you won't find anywhere else. Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplaces and a sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room or newly renovated Artist Wing Rooms (the only rooms that share a bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Borland B&B & Brunch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing