We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back for more to Bill & Carol's home from hime & this time brought the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Bill & Carol for four nights with our three children (22,21&16) and really appreciated their hospitality and they way they looked after our family. This was the second time we have stayed with them in as many months and will definately be back again when visiting the area. We can't recommend them highly enough, it feels as if you are staying at an old friends house, they are the ultimate hosts and highly regarded in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for The Borland B&B & Brunch House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

.. The Borland House is a gem. We stayed here with our 7 month old on our way back from Vermont with the intention of exploring Beacon & the DIA. This was a perfect spot with a village atmosphere & the house is gorgeous and mindfully restored (we had stayed at a similarly advertised 'historical' B&B in New Patlz on the way up to Vermont which was cute but so stuffed with dusty antiques we found it difficult to accommodate ourselves & the baby comfortably in our room!) Everything i had read on here previously was true to form. Carol greeted us warmly, advised us on travelling to DIA, made a dinner reservation at a great family restaurant round the corner (so glad she was able to do that, it was an hour wait when we arrived otherwise).. i could go on. Carol & Bill clearly enjoy people which is what makes a stay with them so wonderful. We are already planning trips in the Fall/Winter around another stay here with family. The Borland House is a breath of fresh air for anyone jaded by poor travel experiences.

Room Tip: We loved the Hanlon Room for its large size & historical restoration. The bathroom was seperate...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayla f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I hadn't been back in roughly 4 years, because in that time she had started up a small business, and getting away was next to impossible.

But we went back up to see Bill & Carol again, because we've developed a friendship with them, and because they're the best bed & breakfast experience I've ever had.

Let me summarize: Still among the nicest people you'll ever meet, still make an amazing gourmet breakfast (maple sausage/mini crispy pancakes with grand mariner whipped cream etc), still have super-comfortable beds (they kept the tags of their bed purchases, because everyone wants to know), and the rooms and house are absolutely immaculate.

If you go back and read my first review about them, you'll read that they actually rescued us when the other b&b in town completely flaked on our reservation (in fact, there wasn't even anyone available to answer the door or phone), and they took us in during high season at the very last second, because that's the kind of people they are: Considerate, caring, and hard-working.

I'd give them 10 stars if I could. I hope that we can come back for another visit much sooner.



We don't know anyone in Montgomery, NY or the area; we only go up there because we like staying with them, and because we've developed a long-distance friendship with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynCellarDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Borland House is a beautiful, solidly built historic home with soaring ceilings, intricate moldings, and faux-finished fireplaces. It is decorated with taste and comfort in mind, full of lovely antique fixtures and furniture but not delicate pieces that make you afraid to sit down. Our family enjoyed the quiet, graceful Montgomery Room--Carol and Bill provided a second bed for our son--for one night on our way to pick up another son at camp in Pennsylvania. As you might deduce from the other reviews, it's hard to decide if the best thing about Borland House is the warm and lively hosts, Carol and Bill, or the delicious and healthy breakfast. I'll go with Carol and Bill :). They are very welcoming and really seem to enjoy each other and their guests. They steered us to the Ward's Bridge Inn around the corner for dinner, which was perfect for a family and had fresh and yummy food.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank LucretiaLacrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a wonderful gem hidden we found at the Borland House! We were greeted by Carol and Bill and they were excellent and took care of us from beginning to end. The breakfast was to die for and it was the perfect stay for us to rest and rejuvenate as we went to a concert at Bethel Woods.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Starting with a warm reception by Bill and Carol, the weekend was off to a great start. The hosts were friendly, very accommodating, and sincerely cared that we had the best weekend possible. Their recommendations were spot on - we had a fantastic dinner at a local restaurant they helped us book.

The town had a lot going on: great places to hike, the food scene, wines. We found plenty of things to keep us occupied.

We loved the house too. The room was spacious, and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, I've never had better at a bed and breakfast.

If you are looking for a city getaway, I highly recommend the Borland House.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the Borland House, it just wasn't quite as polished as many of the other bed and breakfasts that we have found through Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
8.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
625 reviews
8.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borland B&B & Brunch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borland B&B & Brunch House

Address: 130 Clinton St, Montgomery, NY 12549
Location: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: $207 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Borland B&B & Brunch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious 18th Century Greek Revival home with a focus on gourmet food. Our accommodations combine comfort, elegance, warmth and something special for the gourmand. Chef Anna, trained in Southern France, has created a special place with a focus on farm-to-table comfort food even creating a backyard farm and orchard. From just enjoying the full sit down breakfast in the Brunch House Restaurant on the Main Floor of the House, to the options of adding on gourmet 3-5 course dinners or cooking classes, the Borland House has a uniqueness you won't find anywhere else. Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplaces and a sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room or newly renovated Artist Wing Rooms (the only rooms that share a bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Borland B&B & Brunch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing