We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun and delicious food”
Review of Backyard Bistro - CLOSED

Backyard Bistro
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
pinehurst nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun and delicious food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Directly opposite the RBC center, it's perfectly located for pre concert or pre game eating and drinking! Great atmosphere and service. Their BBQ ribs are crazy good. All their food is wonderful! Went tonight while waiting to get a friend on a flight out of RDU. The best location to wait out a flight as it is only 15 minutes at the most from the airport. I truly can't say enough good things about this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrocklkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SIZE DOESN’T MATTER”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Back Yard Bistro a small restaurant in Montgomery NY owned by two great chiefs,
Basically American cuisine.
They have 8 tables about 18 to 20 guests but the food is to die for. Tables are close together but we like the friendly atmosphere. The menu changes every month and you will not find anything like it in Orange County NY. Everything they use is usually from a local farm very fresh. Great wait staff. Wine list is diversified and reasonable priced.

No point in recommending a dish since it changes every month. Scallops are one of the few things that remain constant. All pasta’s home made. We never had a bad meal.

Make sure you make reservations far in advance. Enjoy…….

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gforce70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food if you want to eat off your neighbor's plate”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have only been here one time. Perhaps if you eat outside it is a different experience, where you are literally in a backyard. The food was fantastic which is why they didn't get a zero. Though the waitress we had was snooty when we asked questions about the menu to gain a better understanding of the dishes and ingredients being served. Very creative and tasty menu. However, you are literally in a converted garage. There was no space between tables and you can hear everything that everyone else is saying. So hope that there are a lot of people there so that background noise absorbs your conversations. If you want to go there, go for the food and ignore the surroundings. And be prepared for the expense. It was pricey when we were there. I have not been back since because I'd rather go spend my money somewhere that I can get great food and not feel like I'm in my own kitchen/backyard/garage.

Helpful?
Thank pmgall239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Sublime”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere is simple. The menu is fresh. The pairings are unique. The result blew us away. Sometimes menus 'try too hard' - this is the real thing. We have been there twice in the last two months - and since they change their menu monthly, will be coming back regularly. Worth the trip and as good - and in many cases better! - than anything I have had recently in NYC. Lunch does not seem to be that busy, so if you are looking for an exquisite tasting experience in a quiet setting with personalized attentive service and maybe a chat with the chef - this is your place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Treat for Your Palate”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are looking for unique pairing of local fare, knowledgeable, professional waitstaff, and an incredible tasting experience, then make a reservation for the Back Yard Bistro. The Bistro only has seven tables so to avoid disappointment, make reservations! The Bistro is participating in Restaurant Week again (through Nov. 18th) and their special 3 course, price fixed menu offers many choices. I enjoyed the "Heirloom Squash Bresaola and Blooming Hill Farm Sunchoke Pureed Pear and Puffed WIld Rice" as a starter while my husband chose the "LaBelle Farm Duck Capaccio, Mustard Greens Hudson Valley Foie Gras Espuma, Parsnip Chips." Both were beautifully plated and very tasty. Their homemade, warm blue cheese bread served with a homemade, lemony hummus was worthy of a course by itself!
For an entree we both chose the "Lamb grilled, Lamb Braised, Lamb Sausage Preserved Lemon, Potato and Edgwick Farm Goat Cheese Feta" (see picture). We requested the lamb medium rare, and it was done perfectly. The unique flavors and tenderness of each lamb sampling was savored with each bite, and the rich gravy and sauce were perfect complements!
We finished our meal with a "Deconstructed white chocolate Pumpkin Pie" and a "Warm Apple Toffee Cake, Banana Creme Faiche Ice Cream Spiced Black Rum Fluid Gel and Almond Crumble." The apple toffee cake was superior and definitely our favorite!
If you plan to dine at the Bistro after Restaurant Week, be aware that the menu changes the first Tuesday of every month, but if you like lamb, you will always find it on the menu in a new preparation. BTW- payment is accepted in cash or American Express only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredandtraveling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing