We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room # 111”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay in room # 111”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have stayed at Wavecrest at least a dozen times and have never had a bad experience until this past time. We paid the same price as everyone else in a room for two people and got a terrible room. When you look at the rooms online, they all look like they have nice efficient kitchens, open, airy and bright. Room 111 is smaller than the rest, has a sink that will only fit a dessert plate, the water just dribbles when you have the faucet turned all the way on, a very small under the counter (what counter?) fridge, very limited kitchen supplies and utensils, clogged bathtub drain, and overall, just dark, dingy and dirty...all for way too much money.

Room Tip: Ask questions about what is important to you. Don't assume all rooms will be the same at the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bfk789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    38
    26
    18
See reviews for
72
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We visited Montauk for the weekend and stayed at Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort. We got what we paid, nothig more, nothing less. Staff is very willing and and helpfull. The place is clean, well located and easy to get to. If you are into biking, this place gives you a very good location to bike to Montauk and East Hamptons.
Bring lots of food and groceries as you still need to get into town for supplies or a nice dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Booked the Beach Dune Studio and it was just perfect! It was right on the beach, with a balcony, small kitchen and comfy bed! The property is a bit dated and could use some love. As to be expected on the ocean the rooms are damp, musty and salty, but you can't complain if you want to be on the ocean! The pool leaves a bit to be desired, but when you have the ocean you don't need a pool! We checked in late late and they had everything ready for us even tho no one was there at check in. The bbq on the beach is great as well as the fact you can have a fire on the beach at night! And if you want to sit on the beach, just call the frontdesk and they will set it up for you chair, towel and umbrella! It would be a great place for families. Only about a 10 min beautiful drive to Montauk. Great place with a great price!

Room Tip: Rent a Beach Dune Studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesstibule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We' ve been vacationing each summer at Wavecrest Resort for the past 17 years. When we started bringing our family there our kids were small..we have many many fond memories. The kids loved it and looked forward to spending the time on the beach each summer, boogie boarding, collecting shells, getting their swimming and diving lessons from "John" the lifeguard, we always look forward to seeing him on our return trips. The days at Wavecrest are filled with surf and fun.. and the nights are glorious, bonfires on the beach, BBq's on the deck, moonlit walks along the shore and the sounds of the ocean waves and cool breeze to lull everyone to sleep! We are returning this year with our first grandson and look forward to many more years making memories of a lifetime and enjoying our favorite getaway resort. This year will be our first year in the "Beach Dune" right on the beach. I am so excited. We've always found the staff personable, and the accommodations very satisfactory. Town is just a hop skip and a jump away. You can Bike.. Walk..or Hike into town. This year we plan on riding our bikes all the way to the "Point". We give Wavecrest our thumbs up.. "It is what it is" The McCrossin Family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richnlori143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazareth p.a.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

highly and only recommend he beach dune they make waters edge sound closer but its not jump off your deck and your on the beach i believe the rooms are privatly owned so be sure to ask what room you will be getting.im nosey i peek in all the rooms 122 by far the nicest ive seen
second time back this year just in time for fresh flounder and before the prime summer prices go up

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montauklover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wavecrest, by far, was the best experience we had, in Montauk(amoung many). We stayed at the Dune Studio, it was fabulous. Spacious room, very clean, and right on the water. The desk staff(thank you Debbie) could not have been more helpful. The cleaning staff(thank you Delmarck) was great. The crew on the beach could not do enough for you! We were there Memorial Day weekend, not a good weather weekend, but it was so relaxing. Water was clear,(but cold). We flew kites on the beach, watched children play, fished, and saw campfires at night. Never noisy, really just great. The outside looks weathered but the insides were fabulous!! I can't wait to go back next year, it really was such a delight!! I would like to thank Wavecrest for a great short vacation. It was the bomb!!

Room Tip: I would choose the Dune studios, so close to the water and upper room!!If you have a larger family g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I are regulars in Montauk NY. Our routine starts with a early morning drive to Montauk, where we join others to start fishing at 7 am on the Lazy Bone. (We get breakfast on the way) After a few hours of fishing we return to the dock and have lunch. We then head to the Wavecrest for check in. The wave crest is not a five star hotel, but if you are looking for a clean hotel with a great view, indoor heated pool, picnic area, that is family friendly. Wavecrest is for you. The "over look" room has a roof top balcony for sunbathing ( my favorite rooms for privacy and view) "panorama" has a great view also overlooking Hither Hills. However all the rooms have a great view and balcony, If you have children you may want to get the "water edge" it is closer to the beach and pool/ picnic area, lounge chairs/ umbrellas are available. The ground floor is not very private, but if you have kids and want to keep an eye on them this may be the spot for you.
There is daily maid service and the prices are cheaper than most of the hotels in the area. (I usually visit off season when the temp, is nice and the prices are a lot cheaper).

I believe all the rooms have a smal kitchen / fridge so you can always bring meals and cook if you are trying to cut cost.

For a Romantic Five Star restaurant with a portion size that your italian grandma would serve go to Goshman's, I believe they have one of the best chefs in Montauk and I can tell you that because I have tried quite a few restaurants over the years. They are also family friendly and will make everyone comfortable. If you want to head out to Goshman's for Lunch they have a great deck upstairs overlooking the water and the prices are cheaper, you can also take a short walk around Goshmans after lunch.

If you have a large family and you are seeking a cheap lunch, head to the deli in town, we sometimes order sandwiches / drinks and head out to Montauk Point we sit on the rocks and enjoy the view. If you are lucky you can see why there are so many people with fishing rods out there. One year we saw what appear to be fifty or more large strip bass close to the rocks. Montauk Point has become more children friendly with the new playground and bathrooms located in the parking lot, from the parking lot you can walk to the lighthouse or to Camp Hero (if you have younger ones you may want a stroller).

For a reasonable priced dinner you can order from Vistia Pizza Village, dining there is cozy but if you are in Montauk I say go back to the hotel with your pizza and enjoy the view. :D

Our daily activity while there include my three hour walk (yes three hours) I usually walk from Wavecrest to the village on the beach and walk back on the main road with the rolling hills back to the hotel, on my way (with my camera ) I stop and enjoy the view, take pictures, talk to visitors pick up shells............ :D While I am on the beach my husband usually rides his bike to the point and back.

Breakfast for us is the cozy place called Bird's on the roof, the prices is reasonabl for Montauk, nothing fancy just a regular breakfast.

Look for my review on Beachcombers and Ocean Beach Resort :D

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kgfishmounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
3.3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.5 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Property: Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Address: 170 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5049
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Oceanfront Hotel Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing