We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Usually when you pay $600 a night for a hotel room, you receive impeccable service and beautiful hotel rooms and grounds. The largest problem with this hotel is the rudeness of the staff. When I arrived I stood in the lobby for 5 minutes waiting for some friends. Not one staff member said hello, offered to take my bag, or ask if I need anything. During my stay, I never saw a staff member smile. They acted like it was a chore to do anything. Literally everyone, from the doormen, front desk, and maid staff had an attitude problem.

The second big flaw is the rooms are in need of revamping. We could hear the guests in the room above us, which woke us up at 6 a.m. One of the towel hooks fell off the door. The only mirror is in the bathroom. And the power outlets are in odd spots.

The upside is the grounds are beautiful and the view of the lake is stunning.

The bottom line, however, is that you pay Four Seasons prices for a hotel that's worth $200 a night, tops.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    151
    93
    51
    50
See reviews for
165
200
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a nice time at the MYC. Bottom Line not ultra luxury (like the price would suggest) but you're really paying to be able to go to Montauk for 2 nights on a summer weekend when all other places want 7 night minimum or are fully booked.

Room was very clean and spacious. Bartenders were friendly although food not super impressive and took an hour to be served.

Its bit a way from restaurants so you are either driving, cabbing or eating at resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimOchicago2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I have come here for the past two years and I absolutely love it. The rooms are great. The balcony was great with great views of the water. The rooms are expensive but what isn't in Montauk. But they are a nice size and very clean. Wonderful staff. Will be coming here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedude74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Two days wasn’t long enough to fully enjoy the view, food and amenities (two pools, etc.) at the Montauk Yacht Club. Luckily, I was properly dressed in my Sperry Top-Siders and J-Crew Stanton Shorts to fit in and maximize my brief stay. I was stationed on the property for a corporate retreat but during the two free hours before meetings, I quickly toured the grounds, which are immense and well maintained. I also was able to enjoy some kayaking at the Club’s private beach.

I stayed in an Admiral Class Room with a view of the bar. The room was large and clean but it did have a slight aquatic odor, which was probably due to its proximity to the beach. The bathroom was huge and had loads of closet space. I especially appreciated the small refrigerator to stock with beverages or leftovers. I didn’t order room service but I did have dinner and lunch on the property and was very pleased with the Gulf Coast Kitchen’s offerings. This place is definitely worth the splurge and in a prime location abutting Lake Montauk.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limajt91279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am pretty picky when it comes to hotels. This place was perfect. Very clean; wonderful staff; beautiful location. Left something in the room and housekeeping staff went out of their way to contact me so I could come back for it! We plan on returning in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Montauk every summer for the past 10 years of so. We have stayed at a variety of hotels. The Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina is by far one of the best places to stay in Montauk. It is tucked away on Star Island a little off the beaten path of the resorts that sit on the ocean. It is situated on the harbor which makes for a wonderful views of the various yaghts and boats that dock here. There is a small private beach so if you are looking to stay somewhere with an expansive beach on the ocean, this place is not for you. The hotel went under a major renovation recently so all of the rooms are updated including the hotel premises themselves. The property offers many things. There is a gift shop on site and there are several restaurants/bars on premises including an outside bar which is suitable for drinks and such with the harbor view. It is very beautiful. My husband and I had a spa treatment each. The hotels rooms are very nice. The price of the rooms is a little high in my opinion for what they offer compared to hotels in the same category as this. The space is located at the end of the property in one of the older structures. The treatment was to die for! It is on the pricey side, but well worth it. We have had massages and spa treatments at other hotels in Montauk such as Gurney's, but none have compared to this. The hotel staff were friendly. You must keep in mind that the hotel business in Montauk is seasonal and as such, attracts seasonal help rather than year round help. The Yacht club is not open year round, just in season. The area it is situated has many restaurants and bars and marinas. Many are walking distance. We usually bring our bikes and bike around the area. It is absolutely beautiful! There is a pool on premises too. The property allows bonfires. Overall, the decor is very pretty and nautical. Keep in mind that Montauk is not a fancy place in of itself. Of the motels/hotels in the area, the Yacht Club offers and upscale, peaceful stay in a beautiful, quiet location. Even with its flaws, I would definitely recommend staying here over many other places in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preciousness22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The property is smaller than anticipated, but it had everything we needed. The room was very large, and very quiet even though the resort was booked solid. The layout of the property was nice and the one shop we stopped at had some nice items. I don't know if they have land to expand, but if they did I would recommend expanding the beach and putting in some more outside activity areas.
We were just there overnight so didn't have reason to use internet - some travelers have complained it's virtually non-existent.
I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful; the rooms were clean; the pizza was excellent, the pool was nice, and it was fun to walk through the marina and see the boats. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#4 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Property: Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Address: 32 Star Island Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5271
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history and tradition, The Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, founded in 1929, is situated on 35-acres of scenic waterfront property at the East End of Long Island, New York where it has been the preferred playground for a who’s who of visitors since famed entrepreneur Carl Fisher built the original clubhouse. Today, after a multi-million dollar redesign and renovation, owner Island Global Yachting opens the new Resort & Marina to family holiday makers, wedding parties, corporate meetings and events. Montauk is a seasonal destination and the height of the season is Memorial day to Labor Day. The Montauk Yacht Club is open from March 1st until the Sunday after Thanksgiving. While Montauk is great in the off seasons and there are activities to enjoy, please note that during the winter and early spring some business in Montauk will close. Please speak to a reservation agent at Montauk Yacht Club and we will be happy to assist you with questions regarding the off season. There is still fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montauk Yacht Club Resort And Marina
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina Hotel Montauk
Yacht Club Montauk
Montauk Yacht Hotel And Marina
Montauk Yacht Resort And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing