We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Montauk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Sag Harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Montauk”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Looking for a good place to stay this is it, great surf break, nice pool and close to everything. Very friendly staff with a great atmosphere. I would recommend to anyone looking to get away for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    42
    25
    29
See reviews for
73
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, ct
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for 5 years now and absolutely love it! The location is perfect...the food at the cafe is delish and Colleen and Steve are a riot! The staff is always pleasant. The beach is just beautiful! The only negative is that the bed and pillows aren't the greatest; however, i've learned to just bring my own pillows! STAY AT ATLANTIC TERRACE!! LOVE THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been coming to Atlantic terrace for many years. It has the most beautiful views in the world and I have circled the globe. I offered to take my daughters any were they wanted to go on vacation and they chose Atlantic Terrace. OK, its not the Ritz or the Four Seasons but the people are much nicer.
I don't think that there is anything better that waking up in the morning and getting a cup of coffee and an egg sandwich from the coffee shop in the hotel and looking out over the waves. I am not a morning person but view alway gets me up with a smile.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the dunes are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Montauk. The ONLY hotel with a pool in its sun deck overlooking the beach. Many rooms are updated each year. Staff is extremely courteous and attentive. very conveneint cafe located on the grounds - so you don't have to go any where to get great meals. To be clear, this is not five star accomodations (no room service or leahter apolstered furnitue) - but very little in Montaukl is that. This is a beach side hotel, is clean and comfrotable but not a place to hang out in your room all day. This is a family style place to relax on the beach all day, have a bon fire on beach at night making smores with the kids. As such you should expect it to bustle with activity, especially on the weekends during peak season. Not sure what other reviewers were expecting when they got there, but their dissappointment is dismaying to me as it just doesn't reflect my, multiple, experiences. Over the past 7 years I have stayed here every year in the summer for a week or so, and then again in late September when the Mighty Man Triathlon comes to Montauk. Can't beat it, and the staff is very helpful - I think some folks who wrote reviewes to the contray might by unreasonable themselves...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triathlete402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was a guest at the hotel when the incident below occurred. Not only can I verify that their locks were not working since I tested them myself and helped them the next morning, but I can also assure you that their story was 100 percent true. Yes, they should have called the police, but your so-called security should have known to call the police, as well. This individual, who was NOT a guest of the hotel, continued to roam your property and even came back to sit outside the girls' room. It's utterly disgusting that you would not acknowledge the severity of the situation and brush it off. This person did not just WANDER into the room...this individual got into one of your customer's beds at 4:30am. You're lucky these girls weren't raped or injured.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationer117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Do not expect luxury. BUT it's clean, great location, pool/on beach/close to town. Good price and nice staff. Great for a group of friends, low maintenance couple just wanting a little getaway (surfing), or family. Awesome little cafe too. Went for a girl's weekend and it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseLeeDeNeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was terrible and I wish I could get a refund. Some stranger walked into our room in the middle of the night while we were sleeping because the locks were faulty, and the chain lock did nothing to stop him. The hotel called it our fault, even though they had a locksmith come and change the lock. The customer service was terrible, and the place isn't safe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JLCC818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATMotel, Front Office Manager at Atlantic Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Unfortunately it is unclear whether or not the room was properly locked when this stranger (assumed to be intoxicated and disoriented) mistakenly entered the room. Our security personnel were promptly on hand to handle the situation. Safe and comfortable accommodations are our number one priority. The following morning we spoke to the guests who were understandably upset and questioning whether or not they wanted to stay for the 2nd night of their reservation. They were refunded for the 1st night and given the option to leave with no penalty because they felt unsafe or switch to a different room on the upper level. They decided they wanted to stay in the same room. In reassuring them the property was safe, the locks were changed. Upon check-out the following day the guests said the rest of their stay was fine without any trouble and thanked us for all our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
339 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
529 reviews
5.3 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#9 of 39 in Montauk
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Terrace Motel

Property: Atlantic Terrace Motel
Address: 21 Ocean View Ter, Montauk, NY 11954-5356
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Terrace Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Terrace Motel Montauk
Atlantic Terrace Hotel Montauk
Atlantic Terrace Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing