We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self serve and good lobster!”

Duryea's Lobster Deck
Ranked #51 of 105 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Self serve and good lobster!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

For a rustic meal where you serve yourself and sit on the docks and relax with good company, Duryea is THE place for seafood lovers. They have a varied menu of shellfish, clam chowder, and fresh caught fish. Remember to bring your own alcohol!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaucyFoodieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    19
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Rustic Lobster Shack”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

You don't have to visit Maine to experience an old-school Lobster Shack. Duryea's fits that bill to a tee, and if you are a Lobster Lover, you'll be in paradise.

The menu focuses on Lobster and other local seafood, and the outdoor deck features beautiful views of the local bays.
The setting is rustic, and perfect for chilling out, and enjoying your company, and the Lobster.

They also feature a seafood market that is open year round, and in the off-season they spotlight a Lobsters Lover special to go, that is worth the drive to Monatuk.

Ken

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank krapug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Laid-back Montauk at Hampton Prices”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great spot on the water to kick-back and eat good food. A bit pricey, but you can bring your own beer/wine and the food is delicious. Always crowded but always a good meal. The help is summer help from eastern europe/soviet union so there's a bit of "attitude" to the place. Although we got there just before they closed and they all left before we were finished and just asked us to throw our stuff away when we left and make sure the tops are on the garbage cans. Always reminds me of a scene from "The Russians are coming". Ha!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinWPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INSANELY OVERPRICED”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The people who wrote good reviews are clearly on the take--as was the guy at our hotel who recommended this spot. A losbster dinner was approximately $35--three times more than you would pay anywhere else in the area. In addition, the lobster was dry, tasteless and clearly over cooked. The lobster roll--cheaper than a dinner by a very narrow margin--was mostly mayonnaise. Dinner for two adults and a child was almost $100. Way too much money for a place that where you have to serve yourself on paper plates. Don't get taken in by the recommendations like we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“If you love lobster, you'd better come here”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Duryea's Lobster Deck is a must stop for anyone who loves lobster. However, if you're expecting to eat your lobster in a fancy restaurant setting, you're going to be disappointed. At Duryea's, you're going to eat outside with plastic chairs, tables, and utensils. However, whether you go with the whole lobster, the lobster roll, or the lobster soup or clam chowder, your taste buds are going to thank you. I've never had a bad meal in the half dozen times I've been here. I even showed up once as they were closing hoping to make a large order, and they accommodated me. Now that is service! Once thing to take note here....its cash only.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dolphin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duryea's Lobster Deck also viewed

 

Been to Duryea's Lobster Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing