We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail Inn of Montauk
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
columbia, nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very nice stay. Clean rooms, close to whatever you want to do, very frendly staff. Great bartender.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieColumbia_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
8
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I was expecting a lot less...we booked two nights in August four days in advance on a whim and were happy to find somewhere affordable. We had pretty low expectations, but Sail Inn has its charms (lack of rust isn't one of them). The top floor rooms in the back overlook Long Island Sound and a scruffy patch of land which deer pop up in.
The wifi worked well, the towels were soft, clean and large enough, the bed was comfortable and the decor was quite pleasant, the water pressure got our sand off.
The staff were friendly and accommodating.
Really a very nice surprise.
Loved being in the Montauk harbor area, not the main spot of town but plenty of stuff in walking distance and away from the traffic of the main drag.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyspepsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

When we pulled in I got a rock in my stomach instantly...disgusting first appearance...all dead hanging flower planters all over...like they have tried surviving 6winters...The people at the desk where absolutely gross...very dirty, and unatractive when you walk in...apparently its the sleeze bar of the town as well...They failed to mention that when you make resrvations!
After checking in it just got worse from there...
The rooms were disgusting!
the door was broken, the bathroom door didnt close, the bathroom sink was older then the colonial days, and had mold, and nasty stuff all over it!
I brushed my teeth with bottled water all weekend
there were two very gross beds with stains all over them...the floors had dirt on them, and it smelled!
I actually cried the first hour we arrived...our family saved all oyr money to go on this vacation, and it was such a dissapointment to have to stay there...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation33987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

person on the phone when making reservations had a bad attitude. Room reeked of cigerette smoke. The bed sheets were old and stained alittle. Not for mother and daughter getaway to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady54NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This was the worst motel I have ever stayed in. The man at the front desk was rude, and very unprofessional. Anytime my husband and I asked for directions or if he could recommend any places to eat he would give us short answers while talking on his cell phone. The rooms were unclean, and our nonsmoking room smelled of smoke. Would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof2_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sail Inn last October and we hope to do so again. The owners were wonderful and so accomodating and friendly. When I first called to make the reservation, I had absolutely no problem and they even let me make my reservation without a credit card hold - (that's absolutely unheard of today). The room was clean, (we had one on the first level) and it was in walking distance of Gossmers Pier and the marina. We had a wonderful time, and while it is no frills - we did have a whirlpool tub, and the room was a nice size. Go and enjoy - oh and if you're a fan of the original King Kong movie - ask the owner about his father - he was one of the stunt pilots at the end of the movie.....

  • Liked — I liked that it was peaceful and relaxing, while being near things.
  • Disliked — There was no water view, but I only had to walk around the block to be at the marina!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I would've liked to stay at Sail Inn, but unfortunately the process for making a reservation with this hotel was extremely painful and futile. I called one night to make a reservation and was told to call back the next morning to book a room that was available. I did, and no one picked up. Called back later and was told to call after 3pm for the room that was still available. Called back after 3pm and was told to call back after 5pm. Called back after 5pm and what do you know, the room was no longer available.

I can't imagine service to guests of the hotel is much better...

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CTTraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
528 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakers MTK
Breakers MTK
#24 of 39 in Montauk
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Resort Motel
Harborside Resort Motel
#17 of 39 in Montauk
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#21 of 39 in Montauk
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#25 of 39 in Montauk
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn of Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn of Montauk

Property: Sail Inn of Montauk
Address: 548 W Lake Dr, Montauk, NY 11954-5152
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sail Inn Of Montauk Hotel Montauk
Sail Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing