We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“we had a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Inn of Montauk

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail Inn of Montauk
Save
You added Sail Inn of Montauk to your Saves list
548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“we had a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

just got back from a 3 night stay at the Sail Inn with my boyfriend -- and we had a lovely stay! the owner and staff were very nice and welcoming. :) if you're looking for a nice stay in Montauk without breaking the bank - this is a great choice! it's in a convenient, beautiful area and the room was very spacious. the jacuzzi tub worked wonders on my boyfriend's back that was killing him after a 9 hour drive. so maybe it's not the Ritz Carlton, but if you're not picky, you really can't beat the price. we will definitely be staying here again in the future! :) and don't forget to take them a shotglass from your hometown -- they just might hook you up with a free drink in the bar!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsaymarieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
8
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The owner/manager of this motel is downright nasty! He needs to be on medication. After calling for availability, I decided that I wouldn't stay here if he paid me. Just call - and you'll see what I mean.

Room Tip: Rude and nasty owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

DISUSTING, I just signed up for trip advisor and decided to look up the reviews of the Sail Inn because I stayed there 2 years ago. It was the worst place I could have ever imagined, hence why I’m taking the energy to write this even though it was a few years ago. The first sign of trouble was when I had to check into the hotel at the bar with the DRUNK bartender WTF!! Next I walked into the room and found nothing pleasant. I could go on into details but just look at the picutres of one of the last reviews. How is this place still in business and how would anyone give it a good review . Read the review from spag73 they are 100% accurate. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tore1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

with great hot showers! We have been staying at the Sail Inn for the last three years. The rooms are kept very clean and the building is well maintained. The staff is friendly, and is always willing to accommodate their guests in any way they can (all you need to do is ask). The bar/restaurant downstairs has nightly dinner specials and a happy hour (which is great after a full day of fishing or sunning); and Amy, the bartender, always makes you feel welcomed. Let's face it, Montauk is expensive to visit, and your gonna pay no matter where you go. But at the Sail Inn you get good clean, spacious rooms---at reasonable nightly rates-----plus-----friendly service. The motel is within walking distance to Gosmans and the party/charter boats. I recommend the Sail Inn for family/friends/couples/solo. P.S. the rooms have cable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mother- d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My friends and I really enjoy this place. It's close to the fishing boats and restaurants. Rooms are big and clean and George and staff are more than accommodating. It's very affordable and very comfortable. Amy did a great job tending bar the nite we were there. I would highly recommend staying at the Sail Inn!!!!!!! P.S. I won the pool on one of the half day fluke boats!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Sail Inn is a small motel near the charter boats in Montauk. It has a bar down stairs,with a friendly local crowd and staff. They also serve food in the evening with a different special each night. Rooms are large and clean. I look to stay here whenever I am in Montauk.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank donald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Sail Inn for a wedding. It was in a good location to the train station, harbor and not too far from the beach. but we stayed here mainly because it was the only b&b around there that would accept less than a three-night minimum stay. Now I know why. The second we set foot into the place, we couldn't wait for our two nights to be over. A few highlights (most also shown in my pictures):

- You check in at the bar. (That could be comical and rustic, but it was just a sign of bad things to come.)
- The furniture in our room was old, sticky and filthy. The tables hadn't been wiped and had mystery stains all over them, as did the chair, bedding, couch and bathtub. I couldn't stand to be in the room longer than 15 minutes at a time during the day because I didn't feel comfortable to sit on any of the surfaces. Luckily, at night we had enough wine in us from the wedding to suppress the thoughts of what was living inside our pillows and comforter.
- The lamps were either not plugged in or didn't even have bulbs in them. The phone had wires sticking out of it.
- Of course, the place didn't supply toiletries beyond some soap, and the fresh towels were already dirty.
- But the crowning moment was when the owner, upon our checking out, couldn't resist to yell, "Don't forget to leave a couple bucks for the maid." We have stayed in a hotel before, thanks, and know the proper etiquette, although this was the first place where I ever contemplated not leaving a tip. But then again, it's not the housekeeper's fault that the owners of the Sail Inn would rather spend their money elsewhere than heir own property.

All in all, this is the worst place I have stayed since a hotel in East Germany right after the wall came down. At $165/night, it was a huge disappointment. I have a hard time believing any of the glowing reviews on here, especially after seeing some of the other hotels and b&b's in Montauk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank spag73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Breakers Motel
The Breakers Motel
#29 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#16 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#21 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#28 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn of Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn of Montauk

Property: Sail Inn of Montauk
Address: 548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sail Inn Of Montauk Hotel Montauk
Sail Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing