We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for the happy go lucky DRUNK!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Inn of Montauk

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail Inn of Montauk
Save
You added Sail Inn of Montauk to your Saves list
548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the happy go lucky DRUNK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Roaches crawling on walls in room, reeked of cigarette smoke. Bar is too close to rooms.You can hear the noise all night. Not a place for kids, Good for low life trailer trash.

Room Tip: If you don't care about cleanliness and bar noise this is the place for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
8
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamesport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This past weekend my husband and I stayed at the Sail Inn in Montauk for my birthday weekend.! Great choice. The rooms were fantastic - spacious, clean, great views of the water, parking right by our room, even WiFi! We stayed two nights and ate dinner in their restaurant both nights - wonderful friendly service, delicious food and at a great price you cannot find in a vacation town ! We plan on going back in the fall to enjoy the Montauk daisies and fish one of the party boats again. I highly recommend the Sail Inn to all my friends. JB

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

With plans to go on a whale watching cruise The Sail Inn is the perfect location...... just a very short walk from the dock. The location is also great if you are planning a fishing trip or taking the ferry to Block Island. The room was clean and large. There is also a bar in the main building which was full when we checked in around 5:00p.m. But the best thing I can say about The Sail is their customer service. When making the reservation, via telephone, the staff was very nice and accommodating. Upon check-in, even with a busy bar, I was immediately attended to. After our visit we realized we left something at The Sail and called the office to see if they could locate it......They did and send it back to us at no charge....now that's customer service above and beyond. Looking forward to another visit there soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Back home after our second visit to the Sail Inn where we received a warm "welcome back" from George and Joanne.Again not disappointed, spotlessly clean room with plenty of hot water and fresh towels provided every day.Enjoyed the homely atmosphere during "Happy Hour" meeting up with the regulars and having the odd game of pool.The harbour is just a stones throw away while the local bus stops just outside the door should you feel like venturing into town.

For a relaxed and value for money vacation the Sail Inn cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

If you are looking for a clean room, with a nice quiet place to eat or have few drinks right down stairs, then the Sail Inn is the place your looking for! Everyone was very nice, and welcoming. The location is great too! Located in the harbor area, you can walk to the boats and shops. You won't find more for your money anywhere else, I promise!!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have jacuzzi's!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationguru34225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wonderful place to be ANY time of year. We planned a romantic winter get-a-way & enoyed it immensely. Room is casual but cozy & clean. We selected a non-jacuzzi, standard room.

Friendly bar, nice atmosphere. We truly enjoyed meeting & chatting with all the nice people we met. Owners do special occasion meals & are very friendly & accommodating. We enjoyed scrumptious corned beef & cabbage in the bar on St. Patty's Day weekend. Local folks are awesome...and you can sense the casual local flavor in the off-season. I understand its full of tourists in warmer months, but that's got adavantages, too. We would love to go back...winter or summer.

Many nearby sites to see. Lighthouse, seal watching hikes (seasonal---we saw them..!), beach walks, great food. Came from Alabama to explore & appreciate the true end of the island. Neaby marina's for fishing any time of year. Chartered cod fishing trips were there in early March. Looked like fun, but we had other plans ;) If you want upscale stuff, go somewhere else. If you want to have a good ol'time, I hope you're lucky enough to book the Sail Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy-1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just returned from memorable two week vacation at the Sail Inn. Perfect location right beside docks, ideal if you like to fish. Large room with balcony, two queen sized beds, lots of hot water, shower fresh linen and towels. The bar downstairs has a nice atmosphere, where locals and guests can mingle and chat with friendly bar staff.There is also a pool table. A big thank you to George and Joanne, who made us feel most welcome.Looking forward to a return trip to the Sail Inn next year.- Paddy and Jackie Dublin

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Breakers Motel
The Breakers Motel
#27 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#16 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#20 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#29 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn of Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn of Montauk

Property: Sail Inn of Montauk
Address: 548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sail Inn Of Montauk Hotel Montauk
Sail Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing