We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Weekend At Sole East” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole East Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sole East Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Great Weekend At Sole East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

A few weeks ago, several classmates from High School reunited at Sole East for the second year in a row. We had such a great experience that first time that we decided to make it an annual event.. The management couldnt have treated us any better. Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Fun
If you want to truly relax and kick back , this is the perfect spot. Not fancy but extremely comfortable and laid back. The best part is the intimacy that the resort provides for either large groups or small get-togethers. Everything you could want is right on the grounds, from a roaring fireplace inside the lounge/restaurant to a fabulous firepit right on the grounds. For me, it's the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriREUNION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    76
    37
    38
    59
See reviews for
85
125
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had one of our company meetings for 50 people at Sole, we wanted a location that was private and inspiring and SOLE definitely fit the bill. The grounds are immaculate and the staff was gracious, helpful, efficient, just all out accommodating. We asked and they delivered...there wasn't a need that wasn't met. And the food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I got married at SolE East this past September and it was one of the best decisions we ever made. We had a pre-wedding barbeque, the ceremony, the reception, and a post wedding brunch all on the grounds of the hotel. Of course there were little glitches along the way, and that is to be expected when there are so many variables in play. But part of what made it so special was the service we received from the staff and the owners. Everyone there is very personable and helpful. I made sure to ask all of my guests if they enjoyed their stay and not a single person was disappointed. If you are considering getting married in Montauk, I would highly recommend speaking with Dave and Cindi who run the hotel. You'll see that the prices are reasonable for the level of quality you receive. We had 170 guests, all of whom were blown away by the quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the overall functionality of the hotel. We could not have made a better choice and we were very meticulous in the details, all of which were noted and executed. We cannot wait to go back to try and recapture the amazing memories from our wedding. Do yourself a favor and check it out if you are looking to get married in Montauk, it was everything we could have hoped for and more.

Room Tip: The garden suites are a big upgrade from the standard rooms and they are quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berger_inferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleeast, Owner at Sole East Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
It was our pleasure! Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall experience. We enjoy wedding planning, and take very seriously that couples like you choose to have their special day at our property. Along with our Guest Service Agents, we take pride in providing a memorable experience. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked a room at this hotel out of desperation as we had waited until the last minute and it was the Columbus Day holiday weekend. Their marketing as a "boutique" hotel is simple shorthand for "we took a tired, old, rundown beach hotel, painted everything white, added some kitschy can lights with red bulbs and sisal carpet runners, and now we are one! (a boutique hotel). And then to top off the superficial facade, the plumbing in the bathroom only "kinda sorta" worked not allowing us to safely moderate the shower temperature--it seemed to be entirely hot or entirely cold, no middle temperature. Add to that a room and bathroom that had been only marginally cleaned with squashed mosquitoes on the floor--well, you get the idea.

For nearly $300 after taxes we felt ripped off. There are plenty of other choices in Montauk. One would be well-served to explore them before committing to Sole East.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChasinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleeast, Owner at Sole East Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Every effort was made by Sole East to appease this guest. We were under the impression that we had resolved this issue to the guest's satisfaction. We regret that this is not the case. We appreciate the reviewer bringing the water temperature fluctuation to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

West Islip, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My family and I decided to take a weekend trip to Montauk, and on the advice of friends booked at Sole. Since we were a family of four, they suggested the suite, which had two rooms. One was a sitting area with a sofabed and the other room my husband and I stayed in. It was big enough for all of us, and gave us privacy from the kids. My sons loved the pool, which was heated and still warm enough to swim in, and had fun playing shuffleboard also. My husband and I loved that the property was big enough for them to run around without us feeling like they were far away, which gave us an opportunity to enjoy ourselves too. The front desk was really nice, and helped us with kid friendly local restaurant options. They even called a few to see if they were still open, and had reservations available. There is also a great playground right across the street from the hotel that my kids loved. They let us extend our check-out time sunday too, so we could go out for lunch before heading back up island. We found the whole atmosphere at Sole to be relaxed and enjoyable. Apple picking in Bridgehampton on the way home topped off a fun family weekend.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the two room suite-more space and privacy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Went with my wife for a weekend getaway. Grounds were beautiful, flowers everywhere with lots of spots to lounge and relax. Drinks and food in Restaurant were top notch (and I'm a chef), and staff was really nice and helpful. Rooms are small, but decorated nicely and super clean. I don't get all the negativity others posted. We had a great time and will definately be back. Thanks Sole!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TABERK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed overnight in late September in a room with two double beds. Public areas and hallways have some charm, but the rooms retain their 1920s' characteristics--small (we were practically tripping over the platforms of the two beds) and with a bathroom with its original window painted shut, though the fixtures were kinda chintzy modern. The bar was open late and it was pleasant and quiet at this time of year. Pool was still open but didn't try it out. Front desk was perfectly helpful throughout. I might come back, but wouldn't run back, and definitely not if I had to pay full price (we got a last-minute rate). And definitely not in the summer; even at this time of year drunken thirtysomethings were yelling on the street beneath our window at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#24 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole East Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole East Resort

Property: Sole East Resort
Address: 90 Second House Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole East Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solé East Resort, about a 5-minute walk from Montauk's village and the beach, is pretty darn sweet. It's a hip little place, renovated with our own style and hands, with a ton of great vibes and atmosphere. Expect sprinklings of luxury in the areas that matter: Simmons pillow-top mattresses and 300 thread count Italian linens, flat screen TVs and iPod docks. And be sure to ask the friendly staff anything to make your stay spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sole East Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole East Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing