We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, on the water”
Review of Fishbar - CLOSED

Fishbar
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, on the water”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We ate at the bar rather than wait for a table, which turned out to be delightful. The food was fresh and flavorful. The place was packed and lively. We will go back next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindaofny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal as always!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A few friends decided to stop here for dinner and we are glad we did. Thai muscles, clams and monk fish they were all great! My friends loved their meals too.

The servers were good (They seemed a bit young and didn't know what to do but they were responsive and made the effort.)

A definite place to go when you are in Montauk!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYHavingFunNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We decided to try to get into Fishbar on our recent visit to Montauk. This is a small restaurant but with wonderful views and recently got mentioned as one of the ten best seafood restaurants on LI. Although they had no tables, they were very nice and set a picnic table on their deck for us. The food was original and well prepared, the seafood very fresh. It was pricey. I should have asked about kids menu options as they did not offer it but overheard another table doing so. Overall, an excellent meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have never before given negative reviews, thinking that if a place is not worth recommending its not worth the effort. My families experience at the Fishbar was so bad, I hope this review can serve as a warning to anyone considering this place.
Since they take no reservations, we went expecting a long wait. We were told 1 hour, so we walked around the marina, took in the sunset and relaxed before dinner. After over 90 minutes, we discovered that the manager was waiting for once specific table. We were a party of 5 so all that needed to be done was to rearrange some tables, but the manager was not able to think out of the box and took in newly arrived parties of 4 and parties of 2 and we waited. Once my wife discovered what they were doing, she gave him some simple ideas as to how he could accommodate us, Wait time 1 hour 45 minutes (of assurance our table was almost ready). Once we were seated, we put aside our frustration and got ready to enjoy our meal That was not to be. We ordered quickly, and then waited another 45 for our food to be served. I came out cold, tough, poorly prepared and, just to add to our dismay, one of the orders was completely wrong. The waitress avoided eye contact as she ran about the place so it took us a while to get the order corrected, which took another painful 20 minutes. It was crowded, but its a small place and hardly explains our poor service. We heard other patrons complaining about the service and a few complained to the manager directly . His response was to laugh along with our waitress behind a patrons back as they left the place.
The manager never came over to offer any explaination or apology. He appeared to think this was all a big joke.
We had many enjoyable dinners during out stay at Montauk, so we tried to put this experience in perspective. We paid the bill, which was so inflated for the quality of the food, nevermind the horrible service, but for the first time ever, (EVER!),we left no tip. The image of the staff and manager laughing while they ruined a precious vacation evening for so many people could not allow me to leave a tip, and I informed the waitress as to our reasons for not doing so. Her obvious anger as we left was just slightly satisfying, I have to admit. I an thankful that we had reservations the next night at Navy Beach. That dinner was joy ( and more reasonably priced.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Downhillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons. NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We headed for lunch in Montauk with no particular place in view. We wanted water views and simplicity. Some five miles east of the bustling main street, we hung a left down East Lake drive. At the very end...goal! This was Fish Bar, very quiet - it was mid week - and very unpretentious. A serene Slavic beauty on an exchange program seemed to be doing everything except the cooking. With unnecessary apologies for the whirling service she brought us a couple of glasses of Kendall Jackson sauvignon blanc. We were soon doing the business on sensational scallops with grilled veggies and wheatberry salad. My partner made short work of some cod-based tacos. Zuzzana then presented us with a complimentary brace of sauvignon blancs. I was happy to settle the $80 check with a C note and thanks for such a surprising excellent experience. GO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makoHamptons.NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing