We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the graet place with amazing sound of the ocean....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Montauk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the graet place with amazing sound of the ocean....”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Luckily we had spent a night in the room with a magnificent view right over the ocean, not to mention fireplace in the room. Tank you Jim for a creating very romantic atmosphere. We will miss your cozy cottage house with a breathtaking view of the sunrise. This place is worth all the money!! Wish you great season of 2013
M&M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soccer_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
99
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This guesthouse was everything we wanted and more. Jim was so helpful and welcoming and we felt immediately at home. We had booked a small double but he upgraded us complimentary to the upstairs suite with a fabulous view right over the ocean. It was an incredible way to wake up, hearing the waves roll. The breakfast was good too, with a wide selection of hot drinks, fresh fruit, cereals, bread and juices. I could not fault this for anything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELK1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Across the street from the ocean, this neat little guest house offers a cozy place to get away!
Clean and homey this little gem offers a quiet and restful retreat without all the fanfare! If you are looking to get away this place offers an incredible view .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 70Derek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I spent a much to short weekend here. Jim was fabulous to us making great restaurant suggestions. The rooms are nicely appointed. We had the upstairs suite which had a wonderful view of the sunrise over the Atlantic. We stayed at plenty of places in Montauk and this was by far our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are looking to stay in Montauk over the weekend this would be the place. It has a amazing view of the ocean and you can get to the beach by just crossing the street. It is also just about a mile away from the town center. As for the value you get for your money it exceeds expectations. The room was really clean and well maintained, the breakfast was just what we needed and the entire place had a certain calm soothing home like feeling to it. Add to all these the owner and his wife are really nice and friendly people who know exactly how to run a place like this. I would definitely recommend this to any one who is visiting Montauk and will definitely stay here again if I visit Montauk again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sunrise guest house is very small as B&Bs go, with only 4 rooms. We selected the small room for $125 and were very pleased. It was clean and neat. The breakfast is sparse compared to other B&Bs, but suited us just fine with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, and hard boiled eggs. The B&B is directly across from an entrance to the nice beach and less than 1/2 mile to town for restaurants and shopping. We brought bicycles and easily rode to the lighthouse and harbor area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herpman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in August to finish off our American adventure. We found our stay very relaxing and a perfect end to a busy holiday. The guest house is in a lovely place with great views of the sea.
When we arrived there was no one at home to greet us but the blackboard idea works very well and the owners can't always be at home for arrivals. The only suggestion I would have to compliment the blackboard is a folder in each room giving a little information about the house, for eg the guest kitchen can be used at anytime to make a drink. This would have been helpful when we arrived during the evening and would have welcomed the opportunity to get a drink.
Personally, we liked the room not being cleaned every day as it afforded us the opportunity to relax and not rush to vacate the room every morning. However, there needs to be some better attention to detail with general maintenance, a lick of paint needed around the shower head and better housekeeping in the hallway. Way too much chlorine in the hot tub!
That said, we enjoyed our stay and Jim was always on hand around breakfast time if you needed anything.
The location is great, right opposite the lovely beach. We liked the walk into town in the evening, along the beach and back along the road.

Room Tip: Rooms 2or 3 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
487 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Guest House

Property: Sunrise Guest House
Address: 681 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique & unpretentious getaway,just steps to miles of beautiful beaches & a great ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Sunrise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Guest House Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing