We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Staff attitude is awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Marina & Motel

Snug Harbor Marina & Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Marina & Motel
Save
You added Snug Harbor Marina & Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Queens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff attitude is awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made a reservation for a wedding months in advance, the first girl I spoke to was NOT happy that I only wanted one night, but took the reservation anyway, and definitely made me aware that she was doing me a favor. Then unfortunately I needed to cancel my reservation (providing 2 months notice) and yet again the woman (different woman) was very rude and still charged me a $25 "administration fee". If you're not going to accept reservations/cancellations on line, perhaps you should work on your customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMCQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Despite being a bit put off by the dated 70's architecture, once we settled into our room we were very happy & had no complaints. We stayed for 5 nights and found our (pool-side) efficiency to meet all our needs. Nice and roomy with plenty of room for suitcases, golf clubs and we even stored our bikes in the room and they were not in the way. The room was clean and the grounds were well kept. I was worried that the pool area would be noisy late into the night, but no, the pool is closed up quite early.

This is a family-run establishment that is clean and quiet and very decent. I especially liked the fact that you could borrow beach passes from the front desk rather than buying them.

I would happily return here in the future.

Room Tip: The motel has a handful of second-floor rooms with balconies overlooking the marina & harbor. I...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I chartered a fishing boat and stayed here for 2 nights with some friends. I came back and did the same thing the following year. The staff did what they could to help us out with anything we needed. Not the most luxurious place, but reasonably priced. Very nice price compared to other spots in the area. I'm there to fish, not to watch TV and go to a spa. Highly recommended for fisherman. Not recommended for the tightly wound.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked an apartment for my 2 fishing partners and I for 2 nights, we rented a slip for the boat and had two great fishing days. The staff was very nice.

I was very suprised by the cleanliness of the apartment and the grounds.
I will be making another reservation to go back with the family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I've been coming to Montauk for about 15 years and have stayed at the Snug for the past 10 years. My husband also has stayed with his friends during their fishing trips out of Montauk Yacht Club. The rooms are clean and comfortable and pretty much up-to-date except for not having Microwaves. The grounds are kept clean and the kids love the playground and the decent size pool. It's basically an adult family environment. It's close to Gin Beach which we love. Great for smaller kids. You can sit all day and watch all the fishing boats coming in and out of the Harbor. The Snug is walking distance to the Lakeside Marina, great Sushi and seafood joint. They also serve breakfast. Close to Gosmans. We like this side of Montauk a little more quaint and out of the busy downtown. I would recommend anyone here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisnhmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

If your looking for beemers, Benzs, & bentleys then forget it.. This place is rustic Montauk, been around a long time. The location is perfect, New flat screens & comfortable beds.. Pysch!!!! LOL Low key spot!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shokan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have been going to Montauk for years and, to find a good place to stay is always a challenge. We usually stay on the boat but, as years went on so did the size of the crew/party. We stayed at Snug Harbor this past year and, we are not searching any longer. Staff was great, and the rooms very clean, fairly updated. I think new management is making improvements and most of the dated items are getting modernized. We were a part of a group of 6 and all our rooms had the same quality. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, friendly place on Monatuak Harbor. Also very nice is the ability to leave your boat/trailer there too.

Room Tip: Call ahead and you will be treated well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TIMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#16 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sole East Resort
Sole East Resort
#14 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Daunt's Albatross Motel
#2 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#20 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina & Motel

Property: Snug Harbor Marina & Motel
Address: 3 Star Island Road, Montauk, NY 11954-5126
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Motel
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing