We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids Loved The Pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Kids Loved The Pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

When taking the family on vacation there is one thing that is a must, a really nice pool. I researched reasonably priced hotels and came across this one. The pictures of the pool looked good and there were other reviewers saying the rooms were spacious (another bonus for my family of 5). After staying at this hotel, I would have to agree that the room was spacious as well as clean and the pool was pretty nice, the kids really loved it. Good overall experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    12
    9
    27
See reviews for
38
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I needed a place that offered free WiFi as I was headed in for business. A Wave Inn provided that as well as a nice pool and a clean spacious room. As a business traveler I am not too picky but was very happy with my accommodation's. There are also pretty nice restaurants in the area. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was hoping to write a good review, being most of the time spent there was good, until the end, the rooms have space, clean enough, smell from the back side of hotel came in through bathroom, no mirror in bathroom, pool average , could have used more towels ..and finally terrible customer service skills by the manager Sasha Williams ... her employee gave out the wrong information to me and the manager took it out on me, the customer, even after the employee said he told us the wrong information, she then proceeded to tried and charge me more and didn't let down and stated the hotel went out of there way for me already... well that will be the last time i stay there .... thanks for ruining it ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasmith19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Eastchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have been coming to Montauk for 25 years. A Wave Inn was perfect for my family of 5. Clean rooms, excellent service. Room 12 above pool was where we stayed. Queen, full and pull out bed. Full size fridge, microwave and sink. Bathroom was small but served our needs. Walking distance to all. Steps from the beach. Can't beat the prices. If u r looking to stay at the Ritz, this is not it. If all you need is a typical Montauk resort, this is where u want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyAnn401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

we stayed there last weekend the place is clean staff excellent.nice rooms and great location 1 min walk to beach and center of town.definetely enjoyed and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Post with Wifi spot, but it wasn't working. spoke with front desk no solution, no credit back. Montauk cell phone signal is weak, if you need internet, this Inn not a good choice. Bathroom is small & out date, but provide a lot shampoo & conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYYEUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place is pretty rough around the edges in terms of condition. The service, however, was exceptional.

Pros: nice newer kitchenette area in the room. Good sized fridge. Extremely close to beach and town. Excellent customer service and laid back staff. Pretty good A/C unit in the room. Nice little pool area.

Cons: beds and linens are clearly very old--noisy and uncomfortable. Shower pressure and output was absurd. Bathing physically hurt. TV would randomly turn off while watching. Rooms do not block out external sounds at all.

Due to the comparatively low prices, this hotel appears to attract a young crowd, so there is inevitably some rowdiness after the close of the bars in the wee hours of the morning. Accordingly, I wouldn't recommend to light sleepers or families with young kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#30 of 39 in Montauk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#25 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Property: A Wave Inn
Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing