We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for me and my family”
Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were looking for a clean affordable place to stay in Montauk and we wanted to be near the ocean. A Wave Inn was just that. In comparison to our other family vacations, this vacations highlight was the return back from the beach to our cozy room. Thank you to all at A Wave Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulyandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

I am extremely happy I found A Wave Inn of Montauk. The property was really nice, rooms were clean and well kept, large too!

Even though I did not need to go to the beach for my stay, the property was only a block from the beach, as well as being within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and so-on.

The staff was pleasant and went above and beyond to make my stay an "A+" one.

I highly recommend A Wave Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

DO NOT GO HERE!! I reserved this resort only by looking at pictures from their website. The pictures looked nice and the resort was very close to the beach. So we reserved the "2" master room and we found out that there is only 1 room!! The manager there claimed that living room with the kitchen is counted as a room and that is why that place is "called" 2 master room. Maybe we just misunderstood what "room" means but they should have told us when we reserved the room that there is only 1 BEDROOM!

Also, we planned on cooking all the meals throughout the trip. However, so called "full kitchen" room's stove started to not work from the 3rd day of our trip. We complained to the office and they said there is nothing they can do to fix it. We asked if we can use another room's kitchen but he said there is no vacant room. So he did not even say he was sorry that we could not eat, but he just said to us "things happen". So we ended up buying dinner at our own expense. The guy at the office said he will speak to the manager about compensating us for dinner, but the manager never contacted us.

I mean I understand that we misunderstood how many rooms they have and the stove's problem wasn't their fault. However, we were just really upset at how they treated us. Every time we had a problem, they never said they were sorry and they looked like they didn't really care. Their attitudes really made us to feel upset and never wanting to go back there.

So I suggest that you find other resorts because obviously there are lots of resorts around the beach. Do not go here!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wish901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

There were many conflicting reviews here but we were very happy at the Wave Inn, all the hotels in Montauk are priced the same and some quite higher, A Wave Inn's location, one block from the beach and within walking distance to every bar and restaurant in town was perfect, who wants to drink and drive? The room was clean, having a fridge and microwave was great. The staff was quite accomodating and could not be nicer. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Having just returned from our stay at A Wave Inn I thought I'd help out others thinking about staying at this place. If location is important for you as in right across the street from the beach AND/OR being right in the middle of their small town, then this is a wonderful place to stay. If you are needing a very good looking place with clean looking carpets, caulking around the shower, a large bathroon, then this is NOT the place for you. Further, if you are looking at a place with comfortable beds where you can get a good nights sleep, then this hotel is a good bet. The beds were comfortable and the futon was much better then typical cots or pullout couches. The air conditioner worked well, there was a mild mildew smell either from the air conditioner or the carpet that was not in the best shape. It was great to have a frig and microwave in the room. Their "continental breakfast" was pretty lame unless you love sugar and carbs. The soymilk was a surprise and appreciated. The pool was OK and used by the little ones who were vacationing. It was silly for the management to ask for a room key deposit....IN CASH no less to be refunded when the key was returned...not sure this is legal to be honest, this could have been either not asked for OR put on the credit card to be refunded. I hope this is a helpful review. We enjoyed the location immensely, the room was not very special but for us getting a good nights sleep is the most important thing so we were satisfied, we brought our own food so breakfast was on us and we did not use their silly continental-not breakfast... I would recommend if you choose to stay at A Wave Inn, bring your own food and drink and plan on going to the beach and walking around town for a good time. Enjoy wherever you decide to go.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmamikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Wave Inn does NOT have bed bugs as stated in someones earlier review. As stated in the title this hotel was not worth the money. The room was DIRTY and had very little room to move around. You would be better off staying in one of the older more antiquated Montuak motels. The room slept 5, if there were actually 5 people in the room I have know idea how they would navigate around the furniture. The young people that worked there were very nice but there was no one there in authority. If you visit you'll understand what I mean by this comment. The air conditioner in the room is window unit that runs loud all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Had an amazing time at the Wave Inn. The service was great, and the location couldn't be better. The rooms were perfect, the staff was very accommodating, and beach was beautiful. Thank you for an incredible weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasecarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
4.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breakers MTK
Breakers MTK
#22 of 39 in Montauk
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
2.9 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#25 of 39 in Montauk
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $220 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing